We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to visit Cliffs of Moher”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nellie Dees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nellie Dees
Ranked #20 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location to visit Cliffs of Moher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had called to let Jimmy know that we would be late (after 6PM). Arrived after a beautiful yet long coastal drive through the Burren. Our room was small and clean. The bathroom was very small, but we made it work...
The next morning, Jimmy greeted us with his Irish humor and the porridge (oatmeal) was the best of the trip. Breakfast both mornings was very excellent. The family is nice and helpful. Very good location and there is a view of the cliffs from the breakfast room. We enjoyed staying here !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    43
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
141
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I had e-mail correspondence with the owners before staying there and they were helpful with advice and things to do in the area (and it was April so they told us not to worry about dinner or boat reservations... things like that). And when we arrived they continued to be friendly and helpful. Just a nice family renting a few rooms - real people, i guess you'd say. We found the accommodations to be comfortable and clean, and enjoyed our visit to Doolin. Not sure how long I would want to stay in that area, but a couple days of the small town charm was quite nice. We also heard the matchmaker festival in the fall is quite fun, though haven't been.

Anyway, nice people (who make a darn good breakfast too). Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

After driving all day from Kenmare and stopping through Dingle, my husband and I were pleased to arrive at our resting place for the night near the Cliffs of Moher. We attempted to see them on our way but it was cold and after 8PM. Our arrangements were made through Exploring Ireland and the directions were accurate as we passed by a couple of pubs and restaurants, we were glad they were down the street as we imagined that some would be walking back to their places after a long night of merriment. Peter welcomed us when we walked inside and immediately showed us the common area, he also provided us with the choices that needed to be made for breakfast and the preferred time between 8-9:30AM. He then showed us our room number 1 and provided us with instructions for the internet while inviting us to ring him anytime if we needed assistance. Our room was small but inviting with a double bed and a twin that we used for storage. The bathroom was tiny but we were able to make do with the space and the towels were adequate. There was also a couple of hair and body shampoos that smelled nicely. We immediately walked to find a place to eat although Peter did not make any definite recommendations so we found a nice bistro. Our walk back was hampered by wind and the cold but we were happy to take warm showers and settle into the comfortable bed. The 4 guest rooms are located downstairs and it was fairly quiet throughout the night. The next morning, Jimmy once again greeted us with a bit of the Irish humor and our porridge which was delicious (I didn’t realize that it was oatmeal). We both chose menu #3 and were served a substantial amount of smoked salmon, the coffee was strong but necessary given that we had to get on the road. The place was clean, welcoming and well situated for sightseeing. There was also an option close by to take the ferry to the Aran Islands but the weather was too windy, rainy and cold.

Room Tip: It seems that the front facing rooms #1 and 2 are better as they face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrieseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Owners were very pleasant and accommodating. Very comfortable beds. Short walk to pubs and very convenient drive to ferry and Cliffs of Moher walk. Thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts prepared by Mr. Spencer. Thanks!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nellie Dees was a real nice B+B in Doolin that isn't far from the Cliffs of Moher.The rooms are spotless and the breakfast was very good.Host Jimmy was extremely nice and helpful with directions to some places we were interested in visiting.You only have a short walk down to a couple pubs,McDermott's was phenomenal,the food,traditional music and staff were great and the local folk were world class.Best of all,my daughter loved Nellie Dees and gave it an A+ rating!We'll recommend Nellie Dees to friends and family!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great,both of ours were nearly identical in size+very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokergeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Nellie Dees in Doolin. Very pleased with the Wifi connection as compared to others we had been too. Breakfast was made to order, nice quiet area & in walking distance to several Pubs & a Bistro. After spending the day at the Cliffs of Moher - Nellie Dees was a really great place to relax & time for a meal in Doolin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivrose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was concerned about staying here after reading so many comments regarding the small bedrooms. When we walked into the room we were pleasantly surprise. Sure, they're not massive bedrooms like you'd expect in a 5 star hotel but by no means would I call them small. We had one of the front rooms so if that makes a difference I don't know. However it was spotless and the ensuite was bigger than alot of other B & B's we stayed at. Great location - short walk to pubs and bistros - and the hosts Jimmy & Lorraine were great! Breakfast was also a treat. No complaints here.

Room Tip: We had the first room on the right in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CQSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.5 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dale View
Dale View
#23 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#15 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#13 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nellie Dees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nellie Dees

Property: Nellie Dees
Address: Killilagh, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nellie Dees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing