We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent from start to finish”
other travellers have booked this property
The beautiful Cliffs of Moher Just a few minutes away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful Cliffs of Moher Just a few minutes away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
The beautiful Cliffs of Moher Just a few minutes away
Great Irish Traditional Music in the Bars every night
The World Famous 10 mile cliff walk
Cycling is fantastic in the area with great route locally
Lots of water-sports to enjoy in the area
The beautiful Aran Islands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rschindle...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The location was right by the Cliffs of Moher. Its a nice little town.

This was a bait a switch. The property pictures I was shown online did not align with the property we were given. The host offered to change it but there were 6 of us and we stayed 2 nights. The offer to move was the following morning and we were already gone for the day and didn't return until 6pm that evening. They also said that they have multiple properties and that the images were only representative of a single property. The pictures were of a much nicer property than where we stayed. I was told by Shannon that the pictures that we saw were of a property that was 2 km away which as far as I can tell would have put us outside walking distance around the town of Doolin. We were not given what we paid for as far as I'm concerned. The wifi was awful - slow and very difficult to connect to even though there were multiple spots you could apparently connect to. There was no coffee maker. Well, there was a single cup french press and instant coffee. Not what our group of 6 expected. There was a washer but no dryer, which would be okay but there was no place outside to hang the clothes to dry. The kitchen floor was dirty. My wife commented on how black her feet got from standing on it. Overall, not a good value for the money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californi...
Auburn, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too Far from Town”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family of twelve so required two of the lodges. One was located within walking distance of town and the other approximately 2 miles away. We booked through Exploring Vacations who assured me the close to each other and in walking distance of town. The 'Lodges' were very nice, comfortable and clean. They are really more like condominiums with full kitchen, etc. We did have a problem with the keys in the doors of both places--they got stuck in the lock. I would recommend that one makes sure where the place is located before booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaxDublin...
Dublin Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location of our holiday home was ideal. It was just a minute from Hotel Doolin and various other pubs and restaurants, very handy when you have small kids like us. It is the perfect location for travelling around Clare, everything was only a short drive away.

As others have said there is no shop in Doolin as such so make sure to get provisions beforehand if you need more than just the basic bread and milk.
Lisdoonvarna is very close and has a decent Spar but if you need a larger shop then Ennistymon has a big Supervalu.

The house itself was in great condition and spotless when we arrived. This should be expected but isnt always my experience, so I was pleasantly surprised. It is a fairly large 3 bedroom house so perfect for our family of 4 and loads of storage space.

The house had everything we needed but I do agree with some other reviewers that there should be more crockery and cutlery. We only had breakfast in our lodge so we had everything we needed but there was certainly a shortage of certain items. Our toaster didnt work but I know if we had asked to get it replaced it would have been done immediately.

We dealt with Celine for the duration of our stay and I have to say she delivered a 5 star service. She texted before we even got there and remained in contact with us for the 5 days we were staying. I forgot my own hairdryer (the house didnt have one) but she dropped one down herself the next day. I also asked for more towels and they were dropped in within minutes. Anytime I texted with a query Celine responded immediately, even when she was on holidays herself. She was polite, friendly and very efficient. She recommended local places to eat and drink and always gave her opinion on which places we should try.

We dont usually holiday in Ireland but I have to say we had the best holiday in Clare. It made a welcome change from our usual trips abroad to Spain and Portugal. We introduced our kids to some wonderful sites such as The Burren, The Cliffs of Moher, Lahinch, Ailwee Caves - the list goes on. We did a boat trip from Doolin pier to see the cliffs and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. It was a wonderful way to see the Cliffs and our kids loved it. The water was a little choppy but they didnt seem to mind.

We also went to the Burren Perfumery which is well worth a visit, even if you dont buy anything. The Rock shop in Liscannor is also a lovely place to visit where my daughter bought bags and bags of little gems.

We ate out every night but the best meal we had was at the Stonecutters lodge which is a just a short drive from Doolin. The food and service is very rustic, certainly not fine dining but delicious and perfect for kids. It was quite reasonably priced also which is not something I can say about many places in Ireland.

There was music in all of the pubs at night and a great atmosphere. Kids are welcome even later at night. They can get crowded though and can be hard to get a seat.

I would most certainly recommend Doolin and Doolin Village Lodges to anyone travelling in that part of the country.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielOff...
Offaly
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights with a teenager a young child and a pet dog. The house was very central and within walking distance of all the pubs and restaurants. It was comfortable clean and very spacious. It's an ideal base for touring the Burren and surrounding areas. Our host was welcoming and very helpful. We hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinbK9...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great size and in the centre of doolin”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

great location for doolin and the atlantic coast generally
rooms are nice and large, kitchen especially
Gerry is very helpful, outside areas clean and places for children to play
Only downside is that the external doors at the rear are getting a tad worn and battered

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santy_Ly
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not excited. ”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

First of all we didn't get a house what I booked. We got different house. Which was fine. House was dusty,dusts was everywhere. Curtain pole in kitchen is broken. Need change kettle!!!! Shower was dirty and missing shelf where to put toothbrush, toothpaste or make up.. Little bits and pieces what you need keep eye on. But otherwise was good. Good quality beds and compfortable house. Suggestion: would be nice if in the house would be highchair for kids. Just in case if in your house staying family with small kids. And one hair dryer!! Thank you for having us! If you can change these things then we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triciac89...
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Basic rental properties”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The properties have the basics for a self-catered stay but they are a little tired. A small investment in refurbishment would make them more attractive and comfortable.eg: provision of bedside lamps in all rooms, both sides of the double bed,
provide enough cutlery/china for at least 2 meals and drinks (we did not have enough of each item for 6 people and nothing matched), more serving/cooking dishes needed, discard old, well-used items e.g. tablemats. Repair missing/broken drawer handles, replace worn furniture - our sofa was badly worn and torn, include instructions for TV in the information file, provide basic hairdryer (we did get one on request - thank you), tidy front gardens.
The potential to be so much better is there but not realised.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Hi Tricia,
We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations while you stayed with us and thank you for your recommendations, we are currently under going a full refurb programme for all the houses to help us realize our potential and make use of our excellent location in the heart of Doolin.
Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you all again soon
Kind Regards
Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing