We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore the negative reviews written by village oiks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Littlebury B&B and Inns
Cullompton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative reviews written by village oiks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

It is such a shame that an Inn/B&B may suffer as a result of poor reviews written maliciously by a few oiks who have been barred from the pub. This is a little gem, run by 2 lovely people. Full of character and spotlessly clean, the accommodation was just what I needed for an overnight stay following a local funeral. The menu has excellent range and variety, and dinner was delicious! I have never met Paul or Lara previously, but I left this morning having made good friends following great hospitality and bar-side conversations the previous evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Old-Bakery-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensheadinnGreeneK, Brewery at Queens Head Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
This business is now under offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    33
    10
    10
    17
See reviews for
29
39
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Ockendon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We visited the Queen's Head for a one night stay as the inlaws took care of the boys for a night.

I can't imagine that the bad reviews are accurate because we found the service to be outstanding. We had a warm welcome on our arrival and were shown to our room. We then went down to the bar and sat by the roaring open fire. The beer was good! Dinner arrived and was excellent - quickly served and very well presented.

After dinner, we sat long into the night chatting with the owners, Paul and Lana who made us feel extremely welcome in their home. The rooms were decorated to a very good standard and with taste - it felt like a home, not a hotel, which made it all the better.

Hats of to them - they offer great service within a stunning pub in a wonderful location. We will be back and wish them all the best! Thanks for having us!

Neil and Angela

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinpoint77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We had recently moved into the village and thaught we would give it a go but the bad language from behind the bar was poor.

We ordered food and it took over 40 minutes to be cooked and was not very nice and the veg was cold.

Plesae feel free to make your own opinion but the pub always looks empty which is never a good sign.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Could not fault the service and quality of this inn. Very friendly people and food to die for. Fantastic atmosphere in the bar and a roaring log fire. Wonderfully refurbished rooms. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cityboy2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen's Head L, Owner at Queens Head Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found your stay to your satisfaction. We continue to work hard at achieving customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Having found most of the nearby hotel's full booked. The Queens Head at Littlebury was brought to my attention. The owners Paul and Lana, have done a superb job refurbishing and rebranding the rooms, restaurant, menu and Inn. For to-days traveller's: There is a variety of starters, mains and sweets on the menu with a vegetarian option. Meats, fish and vegetables are locally sourced were possible. The bedrooms have been thoroughly refurbished to a high standard throughout as have the on-suites (with excellent showers). Clean, fresh & comfortable. After de-stressing, you can relax and enjoy the restaurant, bar, or garden. Both Paul and Lana's excellent service and attention to detail would put many hotels and Inn's to shame. A Superb find. Would readily recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndydBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen's Head L, Owner at Queens Head Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Many thanks for your very positive comments. It was a pleasure to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We arrived in a thunderstorm & Paul the landlord came out with umbrellas for us all that was typical of the service level he gave throughout our stay. The rooms were clean & comfortable & good value for money & the food was very good. We will definitely stay again when next on the area

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claret125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen's Head L, Owner at Queens Head Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
We are grateful for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I were looking to stay in an Inn with character for a couple of days, whilst we visited the nearby Audley End House, Saffron Walden and Duxford Airfield and Museum.
The Queens Head was overflowing with character. The owners could not do enough to make sure our stay was a good one. The food was excellent and every dish cooked fresh. The bar and lounge area with its huge open fire and comfy settles was excellent. The rooms clean and fresh with excellent showers, and super comfy beds. Our stay and overall experience at The Queens Head was very very good.
I do not recognise a previous review as being about this pub, the writer either visited another pub or is a very difficult person to please, and I do not think hearsay evidence has any place in a review. We will certainly be visiting the Queens Head at Littlebury again, and would readily recommend this establishment to friends.

Room Tip: Ideal for families, the Pub has a large walled safe children friendly garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vostro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen's Head L, Owner at Queens Head Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your comments. We note you have booked again for late October with some friends and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littlebury
2.2 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Hinxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Inn

Property: Queens Head Inn
Address: High Street, Littlebury CB11 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Littlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Littlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Queens Head Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management from Dec 12. A 14th-century coaching inn in the lovely village of Littlebury in Saffron Walden. 1 mile from Audley End House and Gardens and 2 miles from Saffron Walden and 12 miles from Cambridge. Six en-suite letting rooms with breakfast included. Traditional Pub food with twist and good selection of real ales. The pub and the inn are both child and dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Inn Littlebury Hotel Littlebury
Queens Head Inn Littlebury, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing