We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world!!!”
Review of Stapleford Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stapleford Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stapleford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2007

Where to start..

What a beautiful, refreshingly unique hotel. Having stayed in many 5* hotels around the world its wonderful to go to one where you really do feel welcomed and valued. The setting was stunning and we enjoyed many of the facilities such as falconry and clay pigeon shooting. Chip the dog also had a great time being welcomed to our room with his own bed, bowl and biscuits and being generally fussed over by the curteous and warm reception staff, while we our dinner in the beautiful Grinling Gibbons restaurant.

Just about to re-book my next stay highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EagleEyeCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

995 - 1,001 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2007

The first thing you notice about Stapleford (when you get there!) is how relaxed it all feels. Unlike some previous reviewers we were met at our car by a friendly receptionist and porter who helped us in with our bags.

We were quickly whipped up to our room (one of the smaller ones but then we had booked their last minute rate). And it was in the room that the check in took place.

The benefit of our room was that it was just along the corridor from the pool which is cleverly hidden in the back terrace. Complete with Sauna and steam room it was a great place to chill out and catch up on the Sunday suppliments.

Meals were good with the golf club house providing one of the best club sandwiches I can remember, however, my wifes chicken was not quite so good, nothing wrong, just not the smae stellar standard as the sandwich.

The restaurant was excellent from the canapes before the meal to the petits four after. Only complaint was that there was not more English cheeses on the cheese board - a suprise for an English country house hotel.

One thing a previous reviewer got spot on is Peter the hotels falconer, with an amazing knowledge and passion for birds of the feathered variety. Bernard, the eagle owl will always be a highlght of my travel experiences.

This enthusiasm appered to permeat all the staff t the hotel, none of whom could have done any more to make our stay more enjoyable. Occaisionally a bit too familiar maybe, but always very good at their jobs. The hotel has 'hosts', who are all local ladies, instead of concierge I guess ,and they always had an anecdote though occaisionally were a bit school marmish.

We have stayed at Lucknam Park in the past as well as the Grove and Four Seasons Hampshire and I must say that we prefer the moe traditional approach of Lucknam and Stapleford to these modern country house hotels. A bit more quirky but all the more fun because of it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank IrishJockBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

This hotel should have a skull and crossbones against it all hotel guides. It is the gold standard in appalling accomodation and my partner and I always use it as a handy reference point for any below-standard hotels.
Although first impressions were favourable, these were swiftly dispelled on leaving our car. No-one helped us with our bags and the staff seemed indifferent to us waiting in reception to check-in for a good 20 minutes. What followed was a comedy of errors.
From a barman who jealously guarded his supply of japanese crackers (only available to accompany your drinks in the evening, we were told, and more than his job's worth to depart from this cardinal rule) to the world's rudest and most indifferent waiting staff (one reacting to a request for salt and pepper as if we had asked for a flamethrower), the service was atrocious.
The room, at over £500 a night, was shabby, with dirty sheets, and dispiriting.
The food was overpriced and appalling. I had not previously thought it possible to produce inedible lamb, but the grey herb crusted offering delivered to our table was just that, and remeined largely uneaten.
Breakfast was a pleasant surprise as it was merely mediocre. Cooked breakfast accompanied by the sound of fellow guests complaining about the scaffolding being dismantled at 4 in the morning and the overall service.
Departure was a debacle of similar style to arrival.
The upside was that we were actually laughing at how comically bad everything was by the end of the stay. Unless you have £1,000 to waste, I would however recommend you buy the DVD box set of Fawlty Towers instead.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank LondonStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPL8888, Owner at Stapleford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

I find it very strange that you can write a review in September 2007 for a stay in May 2006 when you feel so strongly about it. You have only ever written one review since you wrote this and it is very likely that you never stayed at the hotel. Please use this forum for constructive criticism if we didnt perform or don't write at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

This hotel is in a magnigicent setting with immaculate grounds. The public rooms are first class, as was our bedroom. Having said that, I recommend that you study the room rates because at the rates charged everything should be first class.

The greeting from the staff was fine with a very helpful and attentive hall porter. All went well till we sat on the terrace and thought a drink might be appropriate, as it was South facing and around 27 degrees centigrade we also asked for a parasol. The service was abysmal. It took 40 minutes and 2 further requests to obtain a parasol and 30 minutes to produce a small jug of very weak Pimm's for which we were chraged £36. Our request for a menu as we fancied lunch on the terrace was met with a document that offered nothing more than sanwiches or salads. We were told if we wanted something more substantial then we would have to go to the health club which we were advised was a ten minute walk. We ordered sandwiches, if you are planning to stay at Stapleford Park my advice is that if you think you may fancy a sandwich then take them with you. Ours were small, with little filling and hopelessly overpriced. Pre dinner drinks again proved to be challanging to obtain and pricy on arrival. One member of staff who stood for fully 5 minutes seemingly gazing at the setting sun was asked if he could take a drinks order, he declined and walked off. Dinner at £49.50 for table d'hote, was at best average but in truth did little other than feed us. It certainly wasn't memorable other than for it's pricy banality, and my own experience tells me that for around the same price in several top London hotels both the food and the ambiance can be memorable for all the "right reasons". Breakfast, which we both found to be good was again spoiled by very poor service.

In summary, Stapleford Park looks the part for a first class country house hotel. Both the buildings and the grounds are very well kept and in keeping with tarrif. The food is very average and vastly overpriced for what is delivered, as are the drinks. Service from the bar and in the dining room is poor and not at all in keeping with the image the hotel portrays or it's charges. It should also be noted that during our stay the hotel was very quiet and hardly appeared to be more than a third occupied . So, no excuses about overworked staff !

If you are planning to stay, one activity that is to be recommended is a hour or so with the hotel's resident falconer Pete. Now there is a man who understands how to delight guests, he is first class. Perhaps, they should put him in charge of the dining and bar staff?

Lovely buildings, supurb gardens but some of the most indifferent and sloppy service that we have ever experienced in a hotel at this level anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A-Warwickshire-Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

What a horrible nightmare. Stained bedsheets ,appauling food, rude service, no english speaking staff, dirty crockery.... For a place that charges over £500 a night the standards were worse than a 3 star hotel in Staines. Managment has changed since I last visited 6 years ago and does it show!!! I would avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank GardenGuruBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

My husband and I spent 4 glorious days at Stapleford Park. To tell you the truth, until coming to Stapleford Park, I never thought of England as my vacation destination. But this place proved me wrong.

Highs:
- Beautiful country house and well-tended gorgeous garden.
- Many country sporting activities are available on site.
- Affable, charming and interesting owner, Mr. Hussain. You feel welcomed.

Lows:
- Location – a little over 2-hour drive from major nearby international airports.
- Behavior of some of the guests (see comment below).
- Price (for US travelers) - As the US$ is substantially weaker against GBP, vacationing in the UK, such as at place like this, becomes expensive - this is obviously not Stapleford Park’s fault at all, but is a harsh reality for US based travelers.

Room:
Our room, Lady Gretton, was simply gorgeous. The room was decorated with elaborate moldings and exquisite fabrics. The ceiling was close to 15 feet. We enjoyed a picturesque pastoral view from our window. I also enjoyed the deep tub and peaceful view from the bathroom.

Activities:
Stapleford Park offers great country sports. We had so much fun shooting clay pigeons with Malcolm and learning falconry from Pete. Spending time with European eagle owl, Bernard, and Chip the falcon was the highlight of our stay. There is also a golf course and some lawn sports too. But, you don’t have to play sports to enjoy yourself. One of our favorite memories was reading books under the huge oak tree, and enjoying the never-ending pastoral view.

Food:
We had breakfast and dinner every day at Stapleford. The restaurant provides solid food quality and enough variety to keep one enjoying the meals day after day. The foie gras terrine was excellent, and an interesting selection of cheese was offered. The wine list indicated their careful selections. Afternoon tea, on the other hand, was adequate and rather uninspiring.

Service:
The staff was relatively young and we got the impression that some of them may still be in training. Unlike other reviewers, we were a little taken back by the casualness of the staff; e.g. our requests were met with enthusiastic “NO PROBLEM!!!” But the positive side of their attitude was that they contribute to the unpretentious and relaxed atmosphere you get at this place. One should note that the staff performs multiple tasks; a valet may be also serving as a waiter, etc., which could be confusing at times to us guests.

Location:
We flew into Manchester and drove 2+ hours to Stapleford Park. I understand that it is about 2 hours from London as well. Stapleford gives clear and easy to follow directions on their website. The nearby town, Melton Mowbray, is known for the famous Stilton Cheese. The town has a very active market on Tuesdays; sheep, feathers, green market, etc. Very interesting.

Guests:
A mix of English and foreign guests, about 70/30. It was rather unfortunate that some of the English guests were relaxed to the point that they were walking around wearing bathrobes and slippers in the lobby and hallway on their way to the pool/spa. These relaxed types also came to the restaurants wearing bath slippers or no shoes at all (at breakfast – thank God); their attitude was as if they were thinking “we-are-paying-a-lot-so-we’ll-do-whatever-we-are-pleased-to-do”. (I thought that kind of attitude was monopolized by Americans…..).

Why 4-Points?
Stapleford Park possesses a strong potential to become a premier “destination” place. Its strength in offering a taste of English country living, through sporting activities, its beautiful garden, etc., is truly wonderful and can be especially appreciated by non-English guests. Instead of a perfect 5 points I give 4 points as a country house of this caliber could set even higher standards.

Acid Test:
Would we come back? Absolutely Yes!
I just wish US$ will gain some strength against GBP so we can plan our return trip to Stapleford Park.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mochi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2007

If you are looking for a bit of luxury and escape from everyday life then Stapleford Park will offer you that. It's such an impressive building and the grounds are stunning that it would be hard not to be wowed. Although there are some formalities, such as bags being collected from your car and the hostess showing you to your room, the staff we met were all very friendly yet highly professional so we didn't feel out of place.

The food is fab... although I thought slightly overpriced compared to some of the places I've eaten in previously ... but still worth dinner in the Grinling Gibbons as an excuse to dress up! And the canapes and taster from the chef were nice touches.

We did clay pigeon shooting on the Sunday morning and it finished off our stay nicely - though made us want to stay longer!

Only regret was not having the time to use the pool and spa which looked very appealing!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burntwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stapleford
8.6 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
615 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sysonby Knoll Hotel (Best Western)
7.8 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 6 in Melton Mowbray
872 reviews
9 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,431 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stapleford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stapleford Park

Address: | Near Melton Mowbray, Stapleford LE14 2EF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Stapleford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stapleford
Price Range: £155 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stapleford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 500 acres, Stapleford Park offers a wide variety of country pursuits and leisure activities including shooting, riding and falconry. And after a day in the fresh country air, our house guests and members always look forward to a delicious, freshly prepared evening meal in one of our dining rooms and a night cap in the library. Our luxurious bedrooms, all individually designed, guarantee a good night’s sleep in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stapleford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stapleford Park Hotel Stapleford
Stapleford Park Melton Mowbray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing