We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stapleford Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stapleford Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stapleford
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My husband booked us into Max for a weekend stay in July, and the experience was perfect from start to finish. On arrival we checked in with reception who were lovely, in such a beautiful reception 'lounge',and hen went straight to the spa for our treatments. The area is wonderful as a converted stable block courtyard, and the therapists were great. Unfortunately we arrived too late for the classes but the gym& studios look lovely. We then had a picnic in the grounds which was lovely in the sun, then played boules and croquet- such a quintessential English hotel!
The evening food was just outstanding, with amazing cocktails in the bar before and afterwards.
Breakfast was lovely, and whilst I agree with previous reviews a buffet is not completely in line with all other fantastic service, there is an omelette chef and the staff in the waitress will take orders from the menu if desired, therefore no complaints.
Overall such a special weekend which we would fully recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    231
    130
    67
    38
See reviews for
179
391
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were given a "DiscoverMelton Mowbray "package as a wedding gift !
Which entitled us to a two days at Stapleford Park Hotel ,we arrived two days after our wedding ,so this was our mimi honeymoon ! The hotel was informed of this prior to our arrival on the 5th June 2014
It was arranged for us to arrive before 2pm ( we arrived 1-30 pm ) to enjoy a cream tea in the restaurant prepaid !
After checking in and being shown to our room which was beautifully furnished we went down for tea !
Then things went wrong we gave our order to the abrupt waitress ! Who then returned after a minute loudly demanding our Free cream tea voucher ! Of which we knew nothing about ! She walked off then another waitress came up and also asked for the said Free Cream Tea Voucher !
Again we said we didn't have a voucher and this had all been pre arranged ! People in the restaurant were looking at us quite bemused ! This continued until to be honest we felt so embarrassed we didn't want the said Free Cream Tea ! The cream tea arrived which involved One tiny scone each on a piece of slate with a small amount of jam and butter! ( whilst the rest of the tables around us were partaking of a 3 tier sandwich,cake and scone feast !
After quickly leaving we went reception to complain about the way we were spoken to and treated in the restaurant ! The restaurant manager came into reception ,did not apologise to us but said well come back I give you free drink ! Which we refused!
We then left to walk the grounds which are stunning !
Retuning to our room we ask for coffee which we were told tea / coffee making facilities were not put in the rooms but we could phone down for some to be sent up ! Okay !
We phoned down for coffee 45 mins later ,we phoned again and then finally a knock at the door 50 mins wait and were handed a kettle ,with cups / saucers and the usual sachets ! !
We had assumed they meant fresh coffee would be sent up !
The evening meal was ok nothing special no one was in the bar afterwards ! The barman was ok so we had an early night
Breakfast the next day was not easy to find ! We walked into reception to ask ! No one there so back again down the corridor to see a young concierge who we asked where do we go for breakfast ,he just pointed and said Down there ! We found a room with continental breakfast things around but no waiters tables or chairs just sofas so we started to help ourselves to orange juice and then finally the head waiter arrived and then showed us to a table in the side room !
The staff in the hotel were all foreign workers with no manners apart from the receptionist ,head waiter and the housekeeper !
We were also kept waiting for our other vouchers for 2 hrs so we could leave the hotel to go and experience cheese and brewery tour !
What a let down we had expected so much from this luxury hotel ! The setting is absolutely stunning ,the interior exceptional but the staff treatment of us was appalling ! We have stayed in many hotels allover the world and to be honest this one rates at the bottom !
There are photographs of so many celebrates who have stayed there I sincerely hope they were treated better !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JulieMaria333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently stayed at Stapleford for the weekend of a family wedding, along with the other wedding guests. It was amazing. The venue is beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant - we felt they all went the extra mile and seemed excited to be part of the wedding. It became our home for the weekend. Shanine was a wonderful wedding coordinator and Pam (one of the managers) so lovely to us all that several guests thought she was family. Guests loved the individual characterful rooms, and the cottages were ideal for groups of friends to stay in. The beds were unbelievably comfortable!
Everyone enjoyed meals in the restaurants and bars on the Friday evening (the wedding party had a family meal in a private stunning room and the food was delicious). Breakfast on the Saturday morning was very good. We enjoyed delicious and well presented canapés in the orangery and on the lawn after we had arrival back from the wedding service at the beautiful Whissendine Church in the afternoon. Staff were so attentive and welcoming. The wedding breakfast which followed was superb - full of favour and perfectly cooked. Once again the staff were wonderful with the wedding coordinators and managers quietly and efficiently ensuring all flowed along seamlessly.
We had the wedding breakfast in the Grand Hall where there are fabulous chandeliers and the addition of beautiful draping of the room by an external event company and amazing flower displays transformed the room to simply stunning. Dancing in the main house allowed the beautiful lounge to still be used as such with other rooms used for bars and relaxation. The extensive outdoor patio area also provided a welcome relaxing area to meet and chat during the evening. The beautiful grounds provided the perfect backdrop for evening fireworks.
Then of course there was the relaxing spa, along with the gym, tennis and golf facilities, all of which were well used by the guests, as were the lovely swimming pool and outdoor garden games. There was something for everyone.
We had brunch before leaving on the Sunday and after such a full weekend there were many wedding related items to be managed and sorted and again staff were incredibly helpful.
We cannot praise the hotel enough for helping to make the wedding simply wonderful and leaving us with the happiest of memories. Our expectations were truly exceeded - thank you Stapleford for making us so welcome. We just wish we could do it all again in slow motion! Thank you so much.

Room Tip: The Sanderson Suite is a perfect room for the bride and bridesmaids to prepare for the wedding in wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I visited Stapleford Park with a friend for afternoon tea as part of a girls weekend in Melton Mowbray. It really is abeautiful place and looked fabulous upon arrival staff were very friendly and professional, but no record of our booking could be found. Staff were very apologetic and bent over backwards to fit us in. Turns out this had been my error as on the online bookung I had managed to select the wrong day. However, staff still managed to slot us in and treated us very well. We weren't rushed at all, even though we knew they needed the table for 1600 (we arrived at 1430) we were still offered sandwhich refills, more tea, cake etc. It was a lovely visit. Only downsides - the tea lounge room was very very warm so wasn't particularly comfortable and we did have to wander around looking lost trying to find out where to pay. 10% service charge had bee added automatically, but I was happy to pay that as they had been so lovely and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sporklet1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a night on a touring holiday. It was a beautiful venue especially for a wedding and there happened to be one there when we stayed. However, if you are disabled or have mobility issues this is not a good venue to stay. There is no allocated disabled parking, a token ramp into the building and steps up and down various corridors on every floor. The restaurant is a nightmare to navigate as it is very cramped, even the waiting staff have trouble and breakfast is self service. The rooms are beautifully furnished and so are the bedrooms but our bathroom had a shower over the bath which was not very practical as it was very high sided. We did have a complimentary mini decanter with sloe gin in which I have to say was superb. The food however is very good but the wine at dinner was very disappointing. Paying £40 for a screw-capped bottle of wine that looked like it came from Tesco's especially as it was nothing special was a joke and we expected a lot better. The breakfast was disappointing too as we had to hang around on and off for various things to be replenished such as glasses, bowls, juice, most hot food items and bread/pastries, a bit of a shambles. The indoor swimming pool was lovely but again not disabled friendly as access from the changing room was down some stairs. Overall very lovely but avoid busy times at breakfast and the wine but recommend the local sloe gin.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ensure you make them known at the time of booking as the hotel overall i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We went for a spa day. I was a little disappointed that the swimming pool was separate from the spa /gym/tennis courts. No walking about in a robe like other spas! Although we still had a lovely day. The swimming pool/steam/sauna was compact but clean. Could have done with flatbeds and outdoor beds. The spa area was relaxing, the therapists excellent. We had lunch in the pavilion restaurant, good food, excellent service. I would go again as the price for the day for 3 treatments, lunch and all facilities was very good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kw00_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I, together with our Son and his partner, stayed here for 2 nights in 2 manor rooms from the 15th July.

We found the hotel communal areas to be very interesting and of a good standard and the staff were friendly and generally efficient. We would have liked a little more input regarding meal timings and location of facilities upon arrival and we feel a little more attention could be given to guests seated on the rear terrace; we had to walk inside and order from the bar every time we wanted drinks as there was a lack of anyone servicing outside to take orders.

The breakfast offering was of a good quality but it was surprising to see additional charges for simple items such as kippers or eggs benedict at a hotel of this quality. Some of the staff at breakfast were very slow at removing cleared crockery from the table and appeared a little lethargic in general. Dinner was somewhat a different affair starting well with aperitifs and canapés in the bar. Service was very good and the food was well presented and of excellent quality, well done.

The rooms were spacious with most amenities except perhaps a kettle and simple drinks. It really is painful as a guest to have to order a single cup of coffee for delivery to the room which usually arrives when the moment has passed, which is why we didn't order any.

Some of the blinds in our room were damaged by water, presumably condensation, and looked rather unsightly, some paint was pealing from the window frames and the bed headboard was soiled from previous guests heads! I think some attention needs to be given to these type of issues which should not be present in a hotel of this type and quality.

The grounds are very nicely presented and the walk around the golf course is very picturesque and is a great way to spend a couple of hours burning off a hearty breakfast or lunch.

The golf course itself is very well designed and maintained and it was a pleasure to play on a course without being rushed or held up, we will definitely play again at some point.

Our stay overall was very enjoyable and we will definitely stay again at some point, however I feel the issues I have raised in this review should not be present in a hotel of this standard and price point.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualitySeekers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stapleford
22.0 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
5.2 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
730 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
823 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
387 reviews
18.5 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stapleford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stapleford Park

Property: Stapleford Park
Address: | Near Melton Mowbray, Stapleford LE14 2EF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Stapleford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stapleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stapleford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 500 acres, Stapleford Park offers a wide variety of country pursuits and leisure activities including shooting, riding and falconry. And after a day in the fresh country air, our house guests and members always look forward to a delicious, freshly prepared evening meal in one of our dining rooms and a night cap in the library. Our luxurious bedrooms, all individually designed, guarantee a good night’s sleep in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stapleford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stapleford Park Hotel Stapleford
Stapleford Park Melton Mowbray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing