We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Hell” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stapleford Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stapleford Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stapleford
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pure Hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

What a horrible nightmare. Stained bedsheets ,appauling food, rude service, no english speaking staff, dirty crockery.... For a place that charges over £500 a night the standards were worse than a 3 star hotel in Staines. Managment has changed since I last visited 6 years ago and does it show!!! I would avoid this place at all costs.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GardenGuruBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    228
    129
    66
    38
See reviews for
174
385
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

My husband and I spent 4 glorious days at Stapleford Park. To tell you the truth, until coming to Stapleford Park, I never thought of England as my vacation destination. But this place proved me wrong.

Highs:
- Beautiful country house and well-tended gorgeous garden.
- Many country sporting activities are available on site.
- Affable, charming and interesting owner, Mr. Hussain. You feel welcomed.

Lows:
- Location – a little over 2-hour drive from major nearby international airports.
- Behavior of some of the guests (see comment below).
- Price (for US travelers) - As the US$ is substantially weaker against GBP, vacationing in the UK, such as at place like this, becomes expensive - this is obviously not Stapleford Park’s fault at all, but is a harsh reality for US based travelers.

Room:
Our room, Lady Gretton, was simply gorgeous. The room was decorated with elaborate moldings and exquisite fabrics. The ceiling was close to 15 feet. We enjoyed a picturesque pastoral view from our window. I also enjoyed the deep tub and peaceful view from the bathroom.

Activities:
Stapleford Park offers great country sports. We had so much fun shooting clay pigeons with Malcolm and learning falconry from Pete. Spending time with European eagle owl, Bernard, and Chip the falcon was the highlight of our stay. There is also a golf course and some lawn sports too. But, you don’t have to play sports to enjoy yourself. One of our favorite memories was reading books under the huge oak tree, and enjoying the never-ending pastoral view.

Food:
We had breakfast and dinner every day at Stapleford. The restaurant provides solid food quality and enough variety to keep one enjoying the meals day after day. The foie gras terrine was excellent, and an interesting selection of cheese was offered. The wine list indicated their careful selections. Afternoon tea, on the other hand, was adequate and rather uninspiring.

Service:
The staff was relatively young and we got the impression that some of them may still be in training. Unlike other reviewers, we were a little taken back by the casualness of the staff; e.g. our requests were met with enthusiastic “NO PROBLEM!!!” But the positive side of their attitude was that they contribute to the unpretentious and relaxed atmosphere you get at this place. One should note that the staff performs multiple tasks; a valet may be also serving as a waiter, etc., which could be confusing at times to us guests.

Location:
We flew into Manchester and drove 2+ hours to Stapleford Park. I understand that it is about 2 hours from London as well. Stapleford gives clear and easy to follow directions on their website. The nearby town, Melton Mowbray, is known for the famous Stilton Cheese. The town has a very active market on Tuesdays; sheep, feathers, green market, etc. Very interesting.

Guests:
A mix of English and foreign guests, about 70/30. It was rather unfortunate that some of the English guests were relaxed to the point that they were walking around wearing bathrobes and slippers in the lobby and hallway on their way to the pool/spa. These relaxed types also came to the restaurants wearing bath slippers or no shoes at all (at breakfast – thank God); their attitude was as if they were thinking “we-are-paying-a-lot-so-we’ll-do-whatever-we-are-pleased-to-do”. (I thought that kind of attitude was monopolized by Americans…..).

Why 4-Points?
Stapleford Park possesses a strong potential to become a premier “destination” place. Its strength in offering a taste of English country living, through sporting activities, its beautiful garden, etc., is truly wonderful and can be especially appreciated by non-English guests. Instead of a perfect 5 points I give 4 points as a country house of this caliber could set even higher standards.

Acid Test:
Would we come back? Absolutely Yes!
I just wish US$ will gain some strength against GBP so we can plan our return trip to Stapleford Park.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mochi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2007

If you are looking for a bit of luxury and escape from everyday life then Stapleford Park will offer you that. It's such an impressive building and the grounds are stunning that it would be hard not to be wowed. Although there are some formalities, such as bags being collected from your car and the hostess showing you to your room, the staff we met were all very friendly yet highly professional so we didn't feel out of place.

The food is fab... although I thought slightly overpriced compared to some of the places I've eaten in previously ... but still worth dinner in the Grinling Gibbons as an excuse to dress up! And the canapes and taster from the chef were nice touches.

We did clay pigeon shooting on the Sunday morning and it finished off our stay nicely - though made us want to stay longer!

Only regret was not having the time to use the pool and spa which looked very appealing!

  • Liked — Overall posh experience!
  • Disliked — Room slightly small.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burntwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2006

I stayed at this hotel very recently, and I have to say that I would not return again.

During our stay there were 2 corporate christmas parties - one for a bank, and the other for a car dealership. Checking in did not go particularly well - there is no in house computer for guests to collect their emails - the buffet breakfast table is not kept up to scratch, and the staff had to be told by me - the paying guest - to keep the platters refreshed and looking acceptable.
One morning we were told there was no more fresh cut fruit available as they had run out. This was a full 30 minutes prior to the end of breakfast - 5* this is not.

Food mediocre.

I think we paid 300 UK pounds per night, and frankly you can do better elsewhere.

In my personal opinion I think that some of the people on reception suffer from an attitude problem and could well benefit from a course in human relations and people skills.

  • Liked — Not a lot
  • Disliked — 3rd floor accommodation without easy access to a lift
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are a car dealer or come from Essex it is perfect for you.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albans, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2006

There are some things wrong with this Hotel. Sometimes the gravel gets inside your sandals, The woman whose job it is to fluff up the cushions can be a little enthusiastic, the doorman wouldnt let me carry one of my bags and the music in the spa was too soothing and I fell asleep during the massage.

Oh, and its unbelievably expensive, almost to the point of obsenity. But it was worth it. Try ringing at the last moment and you can usually get a major upgrade. But its still unbelievably expensive.

  • Liked — The service is sublime.
  • Disliked — The bill
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for Diane if you use the spa. She was the perfect hostess and a credit to this Hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2006

We had a wonderful stay at Stapleford! It is a wonderful, elegant country estate on 500 acres. It is a very grand and elegant place, but the very kind and friendly staff made it feel very warm and unpretentious. My two boys and husband also loved it, and we all had a wonderful time practicing archery, shooting, and falconry with Brian, Malcolm, and Pete. The grounds are simply beautiful to walk around or to play a game of croquet. We were there for a wedding and enjoyed the use of many of the public rooms for activities throughout the weekend as well. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CalPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2006

I have just returned from a weekend with my partner at Stapleford Park and we could not fault it. The buildings and gardens are spectacular - simply stunning.

Other than concurring on the beauty of the house and the grounds, I could not disagree with the previous reviewer more. This is a simply luxurious hotel with no pretensions. Yes, a butler did greet us on arrival, but there was no pretence here - just great service. Unlike the previous reviewer, the only time we were approached was when we first arrived at the hotel.

Our room itself was simply beautiful. The room was large (we were in a 'deluxe' room), as was the bathroom and both were spotless. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very well equipped, with a chilled bottle of champagne, plenty of bottles of water, fresh fruit, a decanter of sloe gin, etc. All the rooms are individually designed and there is an album at reception showing all the rooms in more detail to whet your appetite for your next stay.

We ate at the dinner on both evenings (we were on a DBB rate) and the food was exceptional, as was the service. We tried the tasting menu one evening which was a fantastic dining experience.

There are so many sporting activities to tempt you away from the main house - there must surely be something for everyone - golf, shooting, tennis, spa, very well equipped gym (a short walk from the main building), a fishing lake, great walks in beautiful grounds, the list goes on.

The whole experience was fantastic. We wanted a weekend away to chill out from our very hectic lives and our stay at Stapleford Park did just that. Was it cheap? No. Did it offer value for money? Absolutely!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stapleford
22.0 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
5.2 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
15.5 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stapleford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stapleford Park

Property: Stapleford Park
Address: | Near Melton Mowbray, Stapleford LE14 2EF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Stapleford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stapleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stapleford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 500 acres, Stapleford Park offers a wide variety of country pursuits and leisure activities including shooting, riding and falconry. And after a day in the fresh country air, our house guests and members always look forward to a delicious, freshly prepared evening meal in one of our dining rooms and a night cap in the library. Our luxurious bedrooms, all individually designed, guarantee a good night’s sleep in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Stapleford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stapleford Park Hotel Stapleford
Stapleford Park Melton Mowbray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing