We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very, very special place”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking west from The Stables holiday cottage over the stream and paddocks.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking west from The Stables holiday cottage over the stream and paddocks.
Open plan living, perfect for the whole family to spend time together! Fully equipped kitchen with iroko work surfaces, a freestanding island unit and plenty of space!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Looking west from The Stables holiday cottage over the stream and paddocks.
Open plan living, perfect for the whole family to spend time together!
Fully equipped kitchen with iroko work surfaces, a freestanding island unit and plenty of space!
The view from the dining area leads down to the rose beds, stream and paddocks.
Moroccan tiles complement the new kitchen, and can you spot the Jamie Oliver cook book?!
The welsh dresser holds all the crockery you need, and the island unit is great for food preparation
A super comfy leather sofa for those lazy evenings in front of a good movie!
Laura Ashley sofa, vintage sunflower print, and a Smart TV and Blu-ray player tucked away!
The en-suite blue room has a super comfy king size bed and views over the rose garden and stream.
The single room is my favourite, tastefully decorated with views down to the rose garden and stream.
The en-suite first floor bedroom overlooks the gardens and has a shower room with a power shower.
The blue room's bathroom is a good size, with plenty of hot water and a top quality towel collection
A really handy ground floor en-suite bedroom for the grandparents, with a super comfy king size bed.
If you stay with us in spring you may find our home grown lily of the valley by your bedside!
The Georgian stables have been sympathetically renovated and refurbished to the highest standard.
Late afternoon sun in the early spring looking east towards the Old Stables.
The stream edge has an array of plants and flowers that come to life during the summer months.
Looking north towards the walled garden.
Looking west on a crystal clear summer's days, over the stream down towards the paddocks.
A true sun trap late in the afternoon, with the protection of the garden wall.
The flower beds of the walled garden come into their own during the summer months.
The flower beds of the walled garden come into their own during the summer months.
The flower beds of the walled garden come into their own during the summer months.
Our favourite spot. A wild rambling rose hides a small gate which leads to one of the streams.
The flower beds of the walled garden come into their own during the summer months.
Stunning views from the Stables over the rose garden and stream and down towards the paddocks.
The flower beds of the walled garden come into their own during the summer months.
Walk west over the road and you will find miles and miles of public footpaths. Breathtaking views.
Sun setting at harvest time.
West Bay is a great place to visit for fish and chips and views of the harbour. 25 minutes away.
Durdle Door is one of the Jurassic Coast’s most iconic landscapes and only 30 minutes away!
The picturesque and ancient village of Corton Denham is well worth a visit. Great pub there too!
Lulworth Cove is worth a visit. We often swim in the crystal clear waters, perfect for young kids.
The busy coastal town of Weymouth is great fun and only 30 minutes away.
Sherborne is one of the most picturesque towns in England – the Abbey especially is worth a visit.
Poundbury is a new town just outside Dorchester, built on land owned by the Prince of Wales.
Burton Bradstock is our favourite beach. Seas can be rough, remember to visit the Hive Beach cafe!
Thomas Hardy's statue sits in the market town of Dorchester, only a 10 minute drive away.
Lyme Regis is about 45 minutes away but well worth a trip. Great small beach and restaurants.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Piddlehinton, Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HappyBCTr...
Ladner British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very, very special place”
Reviewed 24 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My family spent 2 nights at Whites Dairy House in July - we wished we could have stayed longer. The house is amazing...spacious and clean (the ensuite bathrooms are huge!) - with a well equipped kitchen, good parking, and a great nearby pub (in walking distance). The hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable (thank you Katie). We are really looking forward to another (longer) stay in 2019. This is a great place to stay if you are in the Dorchester area (visiting the Swannery, Botanical Gardens, etc.). Very highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2018
Hi Lynne,

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We really enjoyed welcoming you to the cottage and it was lovely to meet you all. I'm glad that tracing your ancestry and family tree led you to come to Piddlehinton!

Please do come and stay again - for longer next time, if you can!

Lots of love,
Katie x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C
1 review
“Fabulous cottage and grounds.”
Reviewed 25 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a fantastic weekend at this cottage which was perfect for my wife's birthday and family get away.

The accommodation was really well presented and my grandson had a great time in the garden looking at the stream, the chickens and a not to forget a few bounces on the trampoline. Great location next to the Thimble Inn who do lovely food.

Katie and Tom were really great hosts and we cannot thank them enough for a very memorable holiday.

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Hi Mike,

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Stables. We loved having you here. It was so great to see you all enjoying the garden (and the trampoline!!) and just having fun together. We're so pleased that you chose The Stables to celebrate your wife's birthday. Do come back anytime. We'd love to see you again. Thank you for leaving the cottage so beautifully - much appreciated.

Love,
Katie x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balvine
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just perfect for our adult family”
Reviewed 14 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a great time during our long weekend stay at The Stables. The accomodation is newly and tastefully decorated, the kitchen is well equpped, the bedrooms a good size and all ensuite. One of the bedrooms is downstairs which was perfect for my nonogernarian Mum. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Katie and her family know the area well and were full of suggestions for where to eat and visit. Piddlehinton is set in beautiful countyside, we visited some glorious local gardens and the coast is only half an hour away. Would go back in a heart beat. Highly recommended

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2018
Hi Jane,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. All is well here. The sun continues to shine and the chickens are still laying well! Tom has succumbed to our puppy pleas and Lottie (a mini Double Doodle!) is coming home on the 20th August. We can’t wait!

Love to all and thank you so much again.

Best wishes
Katie x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0sie_Ros...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been more perfect!”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our friends were getting married in Wimborne so we wanted somewhere nearby to stay; this place couldn't have been more perfect! When we arrived we were given a warm and friendly greeting by Katie and Tom; they made us feel so welcome showing us around the cottage and offering us full use of the garden and surrounding area. Katie had even made us a cake and some hot cross buns which was a lovely surprise!
The cottage was very well equipped which everything we needed - it was lovely to find some fresh milk in the fridge and there were even some books and DVDs should we need entertainment! The beds were comfortable and the rooms beautifully decorated, the whole place had a lovely homely feel to it so we were very comfortable for our weekend away. The cottage is also surrounded by beautiful countryside with plenty of routes to explore.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and will certainly be returning in the future!

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Hi Kayley,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We loved having you to stay and you are more than welcome to return any time! I'm glad you liked the cottage and the gardens - you certainly had good weather while you were here. We try to make the cottage a 'home from home' and I'm glad that you found it relaxing and comfortable.

It's so much fun having guests to stay at the cottage - we get to meet some lovely people and everyone is happy as they're on holiday! Thank you for making the epic journey down here for your friend's wedding and I hope that we'll see you again one day.

Love and best wishes,
Katie, Tom, Charlie and Daisy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julianpay...
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation for that relaxing holdiay”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Katie and Tom are fantastic hosts. Their attention to detail during our holiday has to be applauded. The house is excellent, with everything you could ask for. It has been completed very tastefully and to a very high standard. Everything we needed was there or quickly sorted by Katie. Even though the weather was rather wet during our stay, it did not spoil the beautiful surroundings and lovely location. Indeed we appreciated the excellent local pubs even more so. This is a superb destination and we cannot rate it highly enough. You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2018
Hi Julian,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. An extra special thank you for leaving our cottage so beautifully - we hardly knew that you had stayed! We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and your family and hope that you'll return soon. Katie x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilH605
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family run accommodation”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Amazing accommodation, fabulous hosts, outstanding hospitality, wonderful family and beautiful location. Exceeded all of our expectations.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We absolutely loved meeting you all and you are most welcome to stay any time. We've been busy with renovations since you left and The Stables are looking great! You were fantastic guests and a pleasure to host. With love from the Hensman Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing