We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch”
Review of Bronie Brasserie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bronie Brasserie
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Pitmedden
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Asian, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There is a bar which is casual, and a restaurant which is relaxed but smart.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
156 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Went here for lunch with our friends. What a wee gem of a place. Wonderful staff food superb. Great choice on lunch menu. No complaints at all. No hesitation in recommending the Bronie Brasserie within the Linsmhor hotel. 10 out of 10.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanded55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Had a lovely meal at the brasserie, quality was excellent, great choice. Deserts are to die for, try the trio of deserts..mmmm fantastic selection of whisky. Staff were very friendly and most helpful. Decor nothing special but very homely and comfortable. It's well worth a visit..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank startertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly management”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Booked a table for lunch after being recommended by several people locally. Didn't disappoint. Menu is varied,but not too extensive; you'd need to be really fussy not to find something to eat. We are not big eaters, but still managed to eat 3 courses without feeling full. My husband had the Ham Hock tureen, Chicken Saltimbocca & trip of desserts, I ordered the Melon starter, (small) Haddock & Key Lime Pie. Food is sourced locally & has plenty of flavour, portion size is just right too. It was a quiet lunch, but even so we weren't rushed, service was excellent & friendly. Have already re-booked, this time for an evening, hope we get the same level of service. Would definitely recommend, well worth the drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank spgnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not bad, but struggling to shake off pub surroundings”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Approaching the hotel /restaurant you are met by a horribly dated entrance with decades old fire doors and cheap metal hand rail. The entrance porch was not much more encouraging. The very good Tripadvisor reviews persuaded us to keep going. Inside it improved. They have obviously been gradually improving it and trying to turn it from pub to restaurant and have in part succeeded. Decor wasn't bad. But you do feel like you are eating in a in a hotel bar restaurant (which you are) rather than a modern bistro-style restaurant, which their website leads you to believe.

A visit to the toilets leaves a lot to be desired. They are clearly low down on the list of improvement expenditure projects, still sporting 'public loo' ambiance, but clean. Their only saving grace is a pair of modern circular sinks, presumably bought to try to update the room, but without updating the rest of the room, just seems a waste of money.

The 'specials' menu is a lovely modern leather bound addition. This was spoilt by the 'regular' menu which is typical pub style with several plastic folder pages, with lots of crumbs between the pages. Another example of making good effort in places and forgetting the rest.

Onto the food. It's fine. Not bad. I can't particularly recommend it but quite enjoyed it and I'm pretty fussy. I had the bruschetta to start, which was very thick and soggy, but tasty. I had the lamb for main course which was very tender and well seasoned, but very fatty. This sat on a very tasty risotto. I had ice cream for dessert. My husband had black pudding for starter which he enjoyed and chicken for main which he said was pretty good. The veg were very undercooked (and I don't mind al dente) and the chips were battered.

We noticed a couple of very nice modern oak pieces of furniture in the porch on the way out, so they are obviously moving in the right direction, perhaps bit by bit (sinks, specials menu...) when cash flow allows? If it were me, I would save up for the big ticket items like the entrance, as that makes such a big impression on a guest, and currently not a good one. I think that I will try Eat on the Green next time for the modest amount extra it would cost. This one might get there in the end - right now I'd say its 'work in progress'.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nutwood_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good find in this area”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was our second visit to Bronte Brasserie and was a very nice visit. Service is good, food is good and setting is also very nice.

Only minor grip is make your portions smaller. It puts you off a bit a large plate of food arriving, my mum now has 2 starters for her meal rather than a main course. Also gets very hot when the sun is shining straight in.

Well worth a visit however, I know I'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemima499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bronie Brasserie also viewed

Ellon, Aberdeenshire
 
Ellon, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Bronie Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing