We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy average standard room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed for four nights. A good car park and a warm welcome from the receptionist was a good start. We felt she really meant it, so top marks to her.
Our room, number 43, at the rear of the hotel on the first floor was the same as any other Premier Inn room. We paid £240 for room only. There were no £29 a night deals available so it was not a cheap option when you add the cost of two breakfasts each day.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable but the bathroom was a bit tired. The sink and bath cabinets were crumbling away at the edges. The cistern lid hinge was distorted leaving a large gap to collect dirt and debris.

The TV has a very small screen and this does distort the picture for the transmissions received. It squashes the picture and makes people look like stick insects. There seemed to be no way of changing the display. I think this is something that needs to be addressed across the whole Premier Inn group.

The window had a safety cable to prevent it from opening too far. Unfortunately there was no way of keeping the window open. The stays which were probably there once, had long gone. In fact the woodwork on the frame where they would have been fixed, was broken and splintered. We used a handy bedside book to keep the window open! The room would probably be unbearably hot in the summer as it faces due south and is on the top floor. There is no air conditioning (Americans note) although a fan is provided.

The biggest problem with the room was the noise. You would think it rather unlikely considering the room was at the back of the hotel facing open fields. However there is a long fast road that runs up to Bracebridge Heath and the vehicle and road noise was dreadful. It ceased in the early hours but don't expect a lie in if your window is open as it starts again early in the morning. I think that this road has become a rat run for vehicles going south. Request a room on the ground floor.

The 'Table Table' restaurant that we used for breakfast and dinner was fine. Although I must say that I don't like having to jump up and down for coffee, toast, cereals etc at breakfast - it gets a bit tedious. At £7.75 for the full breakfast it was average value.

So all in all the whole experience could only be described as average. The hotel needs some investment to bring the room, bathroom and indeed the outside paintwork around the rear of the building up to a reasonable standard and lets hope they sort out the TV.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it really matters to us that you enjoy your stay that is why we guarantee everything you need for a good night. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations, your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our Lincoln hotel. Your feedback is so important to us as we are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed in Canwick hill whilst attending a christening for 3 nights. The staff were incredibly friendly & helpful especially the night porter who put up with my night time insomniac wanderings with good cheer, friendly conversation & helpful directions etc. The 'pub' next door is the usual Travel Inn type establishment. Confusing layout initially & slow service but again very friendly helpful staff & the food is of a acceptable quality for this type of place & price range. My children enjoyed being able to run safely in the pub garden with the permission of the staff as it seems a predominately family pub (no groups of rowdy beer swilling idiots that we have had to endure in the past). The rooms were in the early stages of being upgraded & I hope they pay particular attention to the bathroom which was a little bit tired.

All in all a very handy place to stay being close to the R.A.F base & to Lincoln town & would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darkcompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the second time on Saturday 17 April. We had a double room which was clean and the bed was so comfortable! Our room faced onto fields and we had a perfect night's sleep. We also had a meal in the adjacent Mill Lodge Restaurant which was delicious. Very reasonably priced. We had an all you can eat breakfast of full english plus the odd slice of toast or three which was also delicious. Basically, this Premier Inn is great and as we have friends in Lincoln, we'll keep going back again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineHMorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2010

We delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. It is great that you enjoyed our Premier Breakfast it really it really is good value and gets you started for the day. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to delivery the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The staff here were all very helpful and friendly whenever we had to speak with them, which wasn't often as there was nothing we needed,
We were researching ancestry so needed to be close to village of Branston and city of Lincoln, this place was perfect.
My only complaint was that we had booked a twinbedded room, but it had a double bed and a sofabed made up. Both were comfortable, but we had no table and chairs in the room, although there was ample space. Needing somewhere to have a drink and nibbles, without one of us having to sit on a bed was impossible. The receptionist offered us the coffee table and chairs from reception. I took one of the chairs, but still seemed like something was missing from our room. We were there for three nights, so it would have been nice to have the 'proper' furniture, but as I said overall it was excellent value and staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountrytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2010

We are delighted that your visit to our hotel was a good one, and that our location, comfortable rooms met your expectations . We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We are regular users of Premier Inns and this one was up to the usual standard that we expect.The hotel and restaurant were very busy and we had to wait 45 minutes to be seated,not something we have experienced before.The meal was good and the staff very attentive.Breakfast was ample with lots of chioce and my husband was more than satisfied with his cooked breakfast. The University had an Open Day and there were reunion parties staying at the hotel which I think made it busy ,but this did not detract from the standard of service.My only gripe was with the propping open of fire doors.I can understand that cleaners may do it in the morning but not at IO or 11 at night.If the culprits are guests then I think that reception staff should do a"round" and check that they are closed. I did go around closing them but they were soon open again I suppose I should have raised this with the staff at the time but they were very busy, I have unfortunately seen the results of fires and fire doors do help.In spite of this the stay was good

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chambermadeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

As regular users of Premier Inns, we have mixed feelings about this one south of Lincoln.

The staff were very friendly and efficient, but it seems the hotel is in need of a bit of an upgrade. Our double room was comfortable, but didn't have any form of double glazing and as such we did get a bit of traffic noise from the road it backed on to (B1131) and also condensation was a problem in the morning, this being a particularly cold night.
Although reasonably clean and comfortable, the room wasn't actually very well valeted - hairs in the bath and a coin on the floor - which suggests it was only lightly cleaned, but ok otherwise.
The slight mould around the bottom of the shower curtain and the yellow stain that was evident under the toilet seat when lifted suggests that the room hasn't had much in the way of a refurbishment recently.

The associated bar was quiet by the time we visited (New Years Day). Most (local) people seemingly having departed after the "2 meals for £10" offer which ended at 18:30.
Selection of drinks were good and the staff were friendly and efficient.
We ordered food but were disappointed to find that both meals were somewhat overcooked on the outside, but only just about cooked on the inside.

Breakfast the following morning was of a different standard, however.
A nice quiet restaurant meant we were served straight away and the full English breakfast was superb.

In summary, the staff here are all very friendly and courteous, but perhaps a bit of money needs to be spent on the hotel, which is in quite a good position.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2010

Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that the service received during your stay met your expectations, our team members will be pleased to receive your comments regarding the service they provided. Please be assured your feedback regarding our hotel has been noted and will be duly followed up by the Management Team at our hotel. Once again thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Every member of staff we came in contact with were extraordinary. Rarely do you meet hotel staff that are so pleasant, from the young man that checked us in to the breakfast staff I really cannot fault any of them. Outstanding

Our only problem was with the damp and musty smell of our room (21) The double glazed window was pouring condensation and when I moved the sofa bed the cushions against the wall were soaking wet, glad I didn't have children staying with us or I would have had to have been moved. My asthma suffered dreadfully, the damp smell kept me awake all night. Tip - insist on a first floor room. We were ground floor and the very end room against a north facing wall.

I still feel cross when hotels charge for wifi - we all know it costs absolutely nothing. When we visit cities in Europe it is free in every restaurant, hotel, cafe you visit. About time UK caught up. Some cities and hotel chains are better than others. Raddisson are an extremely good example.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2009

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that the service received by our team members met you expectations. At Premier Inn we are committed to giving our guests the best level of customer care. We are very sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your room, please be assured your comments regarding this and the Wifi have been noted and will be duly followed up at both Head Office and by the Management Team at our hotel. Once again thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canwick
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
3.9 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
782 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
913 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill
Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe On The Hill
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel

Address: Canwick Road | Canwick Hill, Canwick LN4 2RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Canwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canwick
Price Range: £51 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't be fooled by the rural setting - we're just minutes from Lincoln Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lincoln Hotel Canwick
Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel Lincolnshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing