We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The place to go !”

Review of The Hermitage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Cottage
Sun Deck
Office
Kitchen
Muskoka Room
Boathouse Interior
Boathouse Lower Level
Sunset on the Lake from the Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Muskoka Lakes, Muskoka District, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John C
Toronto
2 reviews
“The place to go !”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

5 star plus, our family had a fantastic time ! The look and feel and views were everything you could hope for. A must go when looking for a cottage up north . Book early there is a reason this one books up fast .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gartner20...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Exceeded our high expectations”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I rented The Hermitage for a week, for a family reunion (10 adults). The photos and owner's description lead us to expect a beautiful house and setting; however, the cottage, boathouse, property, and views exceeded our expectations. Even though it rained everyday (and sometimes all day) but one while we were there, we LOVED our stay. The main cottage is both spacious and warmly welcoming, and the boathouse is charming. Despite the rain, we kayaked and swam a bit, hiked, and watched thunderstorms and sunrises over the lake (the latter encouraged by the huge windows in the bedrooms). I can't imagine anyone would be disappointed with any aspect of their stay. And the owners were a pleasure to deal with. 5 stars are not enough for this gem.

Reviewer location
Toronto
Date of arrival
June 24, 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie H
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious Canadian cottage”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

WOW, what an amazing place we holidayed in on Skeleton Lake, in the Muskoka region north of Toronto. It has a magnificent three storey lake house amidst the silent forest and a beautiful boathouse on the shoreline.
The main house is built with exotic hardwoods and blessed with astounding natural views of the lake and forested islands. The siting allows one to think you are alone by this lake, as no other dwellings are visible from the main house. It has all the luxuries for relaxation, entertaining and recreation.
We really enjoyed dining al fresco on the large deck with barbecue. The cottage is spacious with splendid furnishings and a whole level devoted to games. In the huge lounge room there is an impressive stone fireplace next to a two storey feature-window. This view overlooks the lake, taking in the adjacent fir and pine trees, and the distant forested shorelines, disturbed only by squirrels and small birds. There is also a piano should a song come to mind. Upstairs there are four large bedrooms, a spa and a relaxing infra-red sauna.
The waterfront property includes a magnificent boathouse which is accessed by a wooden stairway to the shoreline. This substantial, and beautiful boathouse can comfortably sleep four, has a lounge area, small kitchen and an extensive deck where one can dream away the stresses of city life relaxing in one of the many Muskoka chairs. There are kayaks for paddling and the swimming is refreshing in the clean, pure lake. We enjoyed the silence and solitude of this place enormously, particularly listening to the mournful yodel of the Loons and watching for other wildlife in the woods.
The owners were very friendly, helpful and informative.
Wherever you are in this fabulous cottage you are aware of the expansive views of the great Canadian wilderness. To experience such tranquility in such comfort is a rare treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury and solitude
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotlouis...
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“A relaxing and wonderful stay. Beautiful house.”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It's was hard to do anything but relax, unwind, and have fun with friends at this little piece of heaven. The Hermitage was exactly what we were looking for to 'get away from it all' and to catch up with our Canadian friends as we visited from Scotland. It was the perfect place to holiday and experience a side of Canada we find so unique and rustic. Not only is the scenery stunning, tranquil and welcoming. The Hermitage offered us it's comfort and luxury with welcoming arms. We were all in awe of the grandeur yet homely atmosphere the owners have created. It was home from home but on a more spacious and relaxing scale. We particularly loved cooking and conversing in the kitchen. We made many a feast!
The boat house was a lovely edition. We had a lot of fun on the lake and felt with nature here. After swimming we sat at the boathouse overlooking the water as the sun set on our little piece of paradise. It was very peaceful, a moment to remember.
It has to be said we didn't want to leave. The owners did a fantastic job at making us feel welcome and accommodated our needs perfectly. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon W
1 review
“Amazing Experience in the Heart of Muskoka!”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I was initially a little bit unsure about going to a cottage in the Fall, thinking it might not be as fun as the Summer but I was completely wrong! This cottage is fully loaded with tons of fun stuff to do inside and out at any time of the year. It's right in the heart of the forest and on a beautiful secluded lake that barely has any other cottages in view. It was so peaceful on the water, you really feel like you are the only person for miles. After exploring the nature trails around the cottage during the day, we spent a few hours in the games room playing all my childhood favourites (Foosball, billiards, air hockey etc.) and if we ever got cold from sitting around the fire at night we would just pop into the sauna and warm up in seconds! I had a truly incredible experience and will most definitely be back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, and very comfortable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vanBowley
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect and relaxing escape from the city!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Our stay at Le Hermitage Review,

We recently returned from an incredibly relaxing long weekend at Le Hermitage. Located just north of Toronto it was nestled away in a beautiful area in Muskoka, it provided all the warmth and necessities of home, perfectly isolated on the shores of Skeleton Lake. Arriving after dark we awoke the following morning to amazing views of the lake. A frozen waterfall was only a short drive away!

The home is very spacious but maintains a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. 9 of us fit comfortably in the main house. A games room with pool table, shuffleboard and foosball table provided a great spot for evening entertaining while the living room on the ground floor was perfect for relaxing afternoons around the fireplace. The boys were happy with the satellite HDTV for Hockey Night in Canada in the large den. The kitchen is well equipped with a dishwasher, microwave and oven and has an open concept making it an excellent spot to be while preparing meals for the day.

It is an amazing location and if you are looking for a modern cottage away from the crowds, Le Hermitage is perfect! We are already looking forward to our next stay there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quiet and on its own piece of land. It didn't feel like other homes were right beside you,
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing