We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Diving Resort”
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My 2nd visit to this wonderful resort after 2 yrs. The room is still as clean and nice. Very well maintained. Love the room, very big and comfortable.

Food is good and the bbq dinner was just wonderful. Service are excellent. The service staff really make the effort to fulfill each and every of our request.

The diving is great, plenty of micros to see. Dive crews are wonderful. We were served hot teas and coffee after every dive. And fresh fruits were served too.
This is a place I will come back again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulips02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for coming to visit us again after a two year break. As you have seen our service is still to the same high standard as your last visit, apart from the diving which has gotten even better as we have discovered some new dive spots with lots of macros quite close to the resort. So, no need to spend hours on a dive boat just getting to the dive areas.
Please don’t wait so long to visit us again as we are always glad to see return guests. All of the resort and dive staff and myself send their regards, thank you for the review and your comments they were much appreciated. Kind Regards. Martinus,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Cocotinos Manado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

The staffs really took care of you since fetch you up from the airport. They just need your presence and everything will be done for you by them.

Room really great and comfortable, villa style so the rooms are quite big.

Diving great with expert dive master to bring you to the best dive sites and will search for you some interesting macro organisms!!! :)))

Overall really great and I will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangejr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

2) Review “ Paradise on Earth “ by “orangejri” on 13th October 2012 Stayed October.
Dear reviewer. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The resort rooms were designed for maximum comfort and to give a laidback and relaxing atmosphere, enabling our guests to totally relax and enjoy their holiday. Our dive masters and guides send their regards and hope that we will come to dive with us again soon. The diving is pretty much all the year round here, so you can come back anytime. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, it was very much appreciated by all of us here at Cocotinos. Kindest Regards. Martinus...,,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The resort is nice with excellent service staff. Rooms are comfortable and clean with all the necessary amenities. Has a small lap pool next to the dining area which serves buffet meals other than lunch. There's a choice of bbq dinner buffet on request at about $25USD. Happy hour (only Bintang beer avail when we were there) is from 5-7pm daily.
The resort is located inside a village and you can take a walk around the village where there are small shops selling drinks and snacks. There is also the famed village 'disco' where we had the opportunity to experience (belongs to one of the boat crew we dived with).
Whatever you want, let the service staff know and you can be assured they will try their best to fulfil your wants.
The resort is pricey than the other dive resorts but if you like a nice resort with good dive guides and most of all, excellent service staff, you wont be disappointed paying the difference.

Room Tip: You might get free wifi (from the dining area) for rooms closer enough. Wifi is avail in the rooms b...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyrrhous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Review “ 9D8N Diving Vacation” by “ Pyrrhous” Singapore on 4th October 2012 stayed August
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. My staff and i always try to make our guests feel very much at home during their stay. As you remarked in your review, we may not be the cheapest resort around, but as you experienced, our level of service more than makes up for any difference in price. Again thank you for taking the time to write a review on Cocotinos and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards. Martinus....,,,,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Comfortable, clean, very attractively presented rooms. Air conditioning works very well, and there are ceiling fans as well.
Very nice swimming pool, the bar and restaurant area has a very nice, relaxed, friendly ambiance. Some days we were offered a buffet meal option, this depends on the occupancy for that day. I did prefer the a la carte menu option, however.
Afternoon tea is provided complimentary, with some sweet pastries, which is a very nice touch.
Diving is the main attraction at this resort, but even if you are not a diver you can try snorkelling, or take a boat across to Bunaken Island.
We were very lucky in that the hotel had their 4th anniversary while we were there, and they put on a party for the staff at the restaurant, and the guests were also invited to attend. This was a really lovely touch, and it was so good to see the hotel staff mingling with the guests, singing and dancing together. It is this sort of hotel, informal and friendly. You are made to feel like one of the family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our resort. As you experienced during your stay with us, we are a “user friendly” resort. We like to think that our guests can feel at home when staying with us and things like inviting you to join the staff for Cocotinos’ 5th anniversary party, providing a complimentary afternoon tea or addressing you by name, is just part of what we like to do to make our guests feel at home. And of course, the natural friendliness of our staff helps a lot. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us soon and please bring a few friends

Kindest Regards from all of us here at Cocotinos ........

Martinus Wawanda,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

As a person who works in service industry, service standard I expect is usually quite high.
The experience both my bf and I had during our stay was wonderful. In fact, one of the best.

Warm, friendly, thoughtful and professional staff.. strive to be provide personalised service whenever possible. They remember and address you by name.. not Sir or Mdm!
The romantic owner of Cocotinos even sang a couple of songs for us while playing his guitar during 1 of the evening~!

Mosquito~ there are none! Cleanliness of all facilities here are kept in tip top condition.

F&B~ although we always hope for more varieties..but we must say the taste of the food are mostly great!
with the menu (Lunch /Tea snacks /Dinner) changed everyday.. we enjoyed our meals everyday. Especially the Fried fish with sweet chilli on our departure day (Special thanks to Martinus, GM of Cocotinos, for arranging us Lunch due to the unforseen flight delay out of Manado- a thoughtful gesture unexpected)

Dive center~ We were spoilt by all the staff of Oddyseas Dive center..all we had to do is gear up n dive n snap pixs!! Everything else were taken care of (rinsed and dried). After each day's dive trip, you'll be welcomed with wet towels ( Hot / Cold ~ ur choice! )

Overall, a very relaxing place to forget all about work.. we enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to next trip there!

Raymond & Angeline
(Malaysia/Singapore)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Raymond and Angeline,
Thank you for your review of our resort. It was all the more appreciated as you said in your review that you were also in the service industry. Having met our owner Mr Wong, you can see where the basis for our staff friendliness came from. In designing Cocotinos, he had in mind a resort where the staff had a genuine friendliness towards our guests and not the usual wooden/plastic smile that you get in some places. This is not a problem as the local Manado people are like this without any training. The same extends to our dive centre and the dive staff, who are probably some of the best in Manado, if not in Asia. And doing the small things like providing you with a meal when your flight is delayed is just what we do. Please come back and visit us soon and bring some friends. And, the owner who sang to you wishes both of you a very romantic future.

Regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We spent very nice holidays in this hotel. Everything is great. The hotel is located in very peaceful and heavenly place, smiling and attentive staff, excellent quality of food in the restaurant, clean and spacious rooms. A lot of people come here for diving as the hotel is located in front of Bunaken island. There is very competent diving staff. We also appreciated a crab’s catching activity, as we could discover the countryside and local life of Indonesian people. We advise this hotel with pleasure et will be back again. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of our Cocotinos Resort. We are glad that you found the resort to your liking and the staff so friendly. We always try to make our guests feel that they are staying at someone's home rather than at a hotel, and The natural friendliness of our staff makes that very easy. We hope that you will come back to stay with us again and look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A small size hotel that faces the ocean with extreme attentive staffs. We were given cold towels, fruit punches upon our arrivals... some much needed stuffs to cool us off in a hot day while travelling with children aged 3 and 5. Rooms are huge and superbly equipped with ALL basic neccessities; what captured my heart is the huge bucket of drinking water inside the room (that saved us lots of problem for the kids).

Food is greatly westernized but boy! the chef is good! U will not go wrong for any western dish...loved the seafood kebab.... The complementary breakfast sets are served in big portion and nicely decorated.

Pool is rather small but never bothered us as this is afterall a dive resort.... we had great fun there!

Can't stress enough the friendly and helpful service staffs of this hotel....and best of all, they threw me a surprise birthday party on the day we left.....

In summary, great vacation place to stay for a quiet, peaceful holiday, even if you don't go there for diving.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tuck c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is especially appreciated since you and your family were non-diving guests and yet you chose to stay with us, a boutique dive resort. Our rooms are designed to be roomy and comfortable and the veranda allows you to sit in the shade and enjoy the ocean view. We put the large drinking-water container in each room so that our guests can keep well hydrated as it is always a problem of people not drinking enough in a hot country like Indonesia.

Our Chef and kitchen staff would like to thank you for your comments on their food. We have recently changed the menu to give our guests more choice and variety. If you stay with us again again and have a craving for a local or an Asian dish, please feel free to ask and we will see what we can do.

Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon again at Cocotinos.

Regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
4.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
144 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
542 reviews
4.8 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
502 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
#10 of 45 in Manado
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori
Cocotinos Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing