We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocotinos Paradise of Manado”
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just return from a diving trip to Cocotinos Manado, was greeted with great hospitality & warm smile by staffs & dive operators. Rooms are clean & neat with a great pool just in front of the room, restaurant is just a few steps away with access to the jetty where dive boat awaits daily to ferry us out to explore the hidden underwater world of Manado.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your diving holiday at Cocotinos. Thank you for your excellent review of our resort. It is much appreciated . Our resort is small but it is ideal for divers, with the rooms, pool, restaurant, dive center and jetty all close together; this way you spend your energy under water with the fish, not above.
Please come again and bring more divers with you.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Cocotinos Manado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in the suite, after a recommendation from a diving friend and we will definitely be back. All the staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxed, so perfect for a diving holiday. The staff are not overbearing, which suited us as we like to be independent and we felt completely at home from our arrival. If you want silver service and linen tableclothes, then this is not the place for you - however, it is super friendly, relaxed, rustic and very comfortable. The suite was very spacious wiith sea views so we thought it was worth the extra money.

Most importantly, the diving was excellent. The dive centre and crew are one of the best that we have ever been with - they were very attentive, professional and friendly. The sites were varied and our dive masters were always extremely knowledgeable - they even spotted a dolphin that was diving with us!

We have booked our next trip at their sister resort in Lombok in October and are looking forward to it especially if it is anything like our experience at Manado!

Overall, this would have been one of the best dive trips we have had and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our suite was very spacious with a huge shower (and jacuzzi) facing the sea
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your five-star review of our resort. It is much appreciated by all my staff and I who are constantly working at providing the best possible service to our guests, divers as well as non-divers. The Suite you stayed in is one of two Suites both of which are on the upper level and have a great view of the ocean especially during sunset. The special feature of the Suite is the round bath and shower area directly facing the ocean to be enjoyed by those looking for a romantic and relaxing time. We are primarily a dive resort but we are also aware that there are those who are non-divers who simply enjoy a beautiful resort to chill out. We are glad you enjoyed the diving for the dive service is our forte. You are very lucky to spot a dolphin. I have already informed our sister resort in Lombok to expect you in October and we are sure you will also enjoy yourself very much over there, with over 300 meters of white sand beach.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It is my 2nd vist to Cocotinos Manado and it is like a 2nd home to me. Cocotinos is a small and cosy resort. Definitely a great place to visit.

From the moment you step into the resort, rest assured that you will be well taken care of.
With regards to diving, the dives sites are fantastic. Bunaken Marine Park is just about 40 minutes from Cocotinos. There are also great diving spots which is about 10 minutes from the resort. With their own jetty, the dive spots are made so much more accessible.

In terms of service, they are totally in a different league. You do not have to worry about your gears. They will prepare your gears and rinse your gear at the end of the day. It is such a pleasure to dive with them.

My dive guide, Bob was very accommodative and patient with me as I took pretty long to take my photos. He always made sure that I was very comfortable and did not rush me at any point of time.

James was also very nice in giving me some insights about how to place my strobes and composing my photos.

I must thank the support staff, such as restaurant, housekeeping that made my stay enjoyable.
The staffs are fantastic.

The general manager, Martinus is friendly and takes time to interact with the guests at the resort which is such an uncommon sight for his position.

My wife and I did a crab fishing activity which both of us enjoy very much. They will bring you to a long stretch of river where you will drop the crab traps. If you do manage to catch one, they will prepare the crabs for dinner.

Keep up the good work and you bet that I will definitely point my friends to your way if they happen to drop by in Manado.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaser25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us. Our dive masters Bob and James send their regards. We are also glad that you and your wife enjoyed the crab fishing up the river near our resort. This activity is very popular with most of our guests especially the children and non-divers. Please come again and bring some of your friends with you.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My all-round experience of Cocotinos was certainly a positive one. The staff are indeed very friendly, but in a professional way, and the diving school is well-organized. The dive master I had (Aba Mirzal) is really an expert at finding tiny creatures, like anemone (porcelain) crabs, pygmy seahorses, etc.

The best diving is in the Bunaken marine park. Caveat: when I was there, it was very quiet in the resort, and the dive boats do not go to the marine park with only one diver, but go instead to the dives sites along the mainland coast. Here the visibility can be very poor and the current strong.

The resort is only 20 minutes from the Manado airport, and Cocotinos offers a friendly and efficient shuttle service. (I flew in from Singapore - there is a direct flight by SilkAir that takes roughly 3 hours.) The resort has no beach, but the pool/restaurant area has a lovely view on Wori bay, and is a very pleasant place to sit and relax / log your dives. This area also has free wifi.

About the food: when I was there one could only eat a la carte (due to the small number of guests), and the quality of the food was variable, as if some cooks are excellent and others not. The drinks are also very pricey. These things would not be an issue if one could eat out in the near vicinity, but this is not possible due to the relatively remote location. So if you enjoy a sundowner, I suggest you bring your own!

The rooms with sea and pool view where I stayed are spacious and tastefully decorated, really nice.

All in all, a great place to go dive for a few days.

Room Tip: In the pool/sea view rooms 1 and 2, you can still receive the free wifi from the pool/restaurant are...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etienne850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for giving us a good and honest review of our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our diving service. We are a very dedicated dive team and we take great pride in showing guests the beauty of the sea life beneath the water in the Bunaken Marine Park. Manado is one of the top-ten dive destinations in the world and we are blessed to be a part of it. Our dive guides are knowledgeable and well trained to take care of the reefs, and they are always happy to share what they know.

Fuel prices are no longer cheap in Indonesia, and as you may be aware, there was another significant price hike this year. That is why we try to do dives closer to our resort when there is only one diver on the boat. It is the new reality of having to conserve fuel, all over the world.

As for the meals, yes, we are more accustomed to doing buffets for groups who buy full-board diving packages and we apologize if some of the a la carte meals were inconsistent during your stay when occupancy was low. On the price of the drinks, we must point out that imported alcohol is expensive in Indonesia because of the high taxes levied by the government. But many places in Indonesia still serve cocktails that are a fraction of the price we charge but please note that these small bars tend to use locally bottled spirits and sometimes even home made "arak" from the villages. There is always the inherent danger of methanol poisoning from illegal spirits and we always advise our guest to be careful. We use imported spirits for our cocktails, that is why our drinks are not as inexpensive. We however value your comments and we will look into the areas where we can make improvements to our service.

We hope to see you again. Please tell your friends about us.

Best Regards

Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was first time for me to visit Indonesia.. it was excellent choice to decide Cocotinos for my first Indonesia trip. I searched some good place for diving, and this resort is highly recommended from others as good diving resort. and yes, it definitely is!!

Staff is excellent, so friendly, they're remembering our name and call our name every time they met us.. and they did birthday party for my friend, even it's past already. So nice guys..
Diving itself is also nice, clean water, can see turtle :) big giant clam, live octopus etc etc.
Food is also good, and sunset view from balcony,,,is absolutely unforgettable.....ah..miss cocotinos a lot!!

Spa, massage is also awesome, but I'm not sure they have gym in there. Why Cocotinos need gym? just go to the sea, if you guys want to do some work out during the trip.. haha.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoHee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for a great review . We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself so much during your stay with us. The birthday surprise we did is actually one of our signature services for guests who stay with us. It was our pleasure.

Most evenings we can guarantee a great sunset over Manado Tua, a dormant volcano rising from the ocean floor - a fantastic view from our bar where you can enjoy an evening cocktail.

Please come again and bring more friends from Korea.

Regards,

Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Went for the diving and found a great hotel with a great dive center and spa ,,, the dive center went out of their way to make sure we were happy, the hotel staff were so friendly and nice to us, even setting up a table for two one night to make us feel even more special and the food was always very good. They have an attached spa where you can get a very good massage after diving ,,,, and the diving as usual in Buneken never disappoints !!! we will certainly be back !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N2thedeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the great review. It is much appreciated. We are passionate about diving ourselves. The service you experienced is what we do for all our guests. Glad you enjoyed yourself. The water here is warm and the reefs are teeming with fish. We do special meals for birthday celebrations, honeymoon anniversaries or sometimes just for fun. We are always upgrading our facilities. So please come back again and be surprised!

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This place have a beautiful view ,the place is so clean and air is so fresh . Friendly employee. Have a easy transport by speed boat to the other island like Bunaken or Lihaga, and best place for diving . Unfortunately the breakfast in here is poor, very limited choice for breakfast and slow service. There are no shops or market near cottege, so better before you arrive here, stop by to buy a lunch and some snacks .

Room Tip: Buy some snack and food before you get there, pick a room which have a ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of Cocotinos Manado. It is good to know that you liked our resort, location and diving service. Our resort is good for relaxation as we are away from the town and traffic. We normally do a good buffet breakfast but when you were there, our kitchen tried to do a la carte breakfast for a change. We apologize for the slow service and limited choice you experienced. We have gone back to buffet breakfast unless numbers are very low, and we have expanded our a la carte breakfast menu .
Please come again and enjoy the wonderful reefs around our resort.

Warmest Regards from me and all the Cocotinos staff."

Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
4.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
145 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
542 reviews
4.8 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
503 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range: £57 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori
Cocotinos Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing