We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, perfectly relaxing”
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very relaxing place set in a beautiful location, you feel immediatly at home. Perfect after a long journey (or jet lag). Close to Manado, bunaken and the airport. Good food, amazing friendliness and service. Just... No beach.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Guillaume C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guilame C,

Thank you for your doing a good review of the resort. It is much appreciated. We are pleased you liked our location , and service. Like many resorts on Manado we do not have much of a beach, except at low tide , and the sand is black because it is volcanic. But we have great sunsets and Wori Bay where we are has a simple rustic charm that appeals to many, and of course, the great diving sites for which Manado is famous.
Please tell your friends about us and come again

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Cocotinos Manado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

What a great place to relax and dive. The people here are amazing. Relax by the water and some of the most amazing diving in the world. The food here is mostly Island flavor. Night dives are a must. You must take a stroll outside the resort to see the local people. They are so friendly and take a visit to the local school. It is Humbling. This resort is a must for any level diver. Bring a good camera, you will get some incredible pictures. The guides will show you creatures you will only see in that part of the world. The Walls are stunning with color and the fish life is overwhelming. What a great experience .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank twinkiekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the diving in the Bunaken Marine Park where we are located. The reefs here are great and deserve to be more well known to divers throughout the world . Like you, many of our guests have visited the sparsely fitted-out schools in our village, made donations of stationary and some have even given of their time to do some craft with the children. It is all very much appreciated.
Thank you, tell your friends about us and please come again.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Cocotino's looks after each and every small detail of your trip, from picking you up at the airport when you arrive, to organizing your dive gear, to your meals and accommodations. Great spot for serious divers as there are so many options for diving, from novice to experienced divers. The Dive Masters are top notch and them and the crew look after everything for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mstangarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Mstangarone ,

We treat all our guests like royalty and so it is only natural that we look after your every detail when you stay with us. It great to know that our service is appreciated . Thank you for giving us top marks. Please tell your fellow divers about us. We very much look forward to your next visit.....out warm and friendly service awaits.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Two sides to this place - as a slightly upmarket dive hotel it is terrific, the dive shop is friendly and efficient so you can get one of their two dive boats to some of the best water in the world. Even with a snorkel the coral, fish, turtles and reef are clear as crystal in three to eight meters.
As a 'resort' it's less impressive, a small hotel behind a high wall in the middle of a kampong village at the end of a longish road that goes nowhere else. The rooms are nice enough, there's a small pool and a central bar cum restaurant cum meeting area. But that's about all and there's nowhere else within walking distance so unless you are a serious diver or looking for a very quiet time, it may not be for you - no beach and not much by way of activities unless you take a hotel car to the highlands (recommended). Not a place to take young children though the staff are super friendly and would probably do all they could to make them welcome.
One oddity is that each morning we were there there was a blast of karaoke or heavy metal from the village at around six am - a guy in the village told us it was a discontented villager who hadn't had his land bought up when the hotel moved in!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your good and honest review of our resort. We are glad you enjoy your stay with us. Yes, we are a small resort in a village facing Wori Bay. We occupy a rather small footprint on land but our play ground for divers is vast in some of the richest reefs of Indonesia within the Bunaken Marine Park which is right at our doorsteps. We are always mindful of our non-diving guest and we have a range of activities for them, from crab fishing nearby (good for children), to highland tours, and visits to the city of Manado and further on to the Tangkoko National Park where you can find endemic animals that are unique to Sulawesi.
Please tell your friends about our warm and friendly service and we hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just return from a diving trip to Cocotinos Manado, was greeted with great hospitality & warm smile by staffs & dive operators. Rooms are clean & neat with a great pool just in front of the room, restaurant is just a few steps away with access to the jetty where dive boat awaits daily to ferry us out to explore the hidden underwater world of Manado.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your diving holiday at Cocotinos. Thank you for your excellent review of our resort. It is much appreciated . Our resort is small but it is ideal for divers, with the rooms, pool, restaurant, dive center and jetty all close together; this way you spend your energy under water with the fish, not above.
Please come again and bring more divers with you.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in the suite, after a recommendation from a diving friend and we will definitely be back. All the staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxed, so perfect for a diving holiday. The staff are not overbearing, which suited us as we like to be independent and we felt completely at home from our arrival. If you want silver service and linen tableclothes, then this is not the place for you - however, it is super friendly, relaxed, rustic and very comfortable. The suite was very spacious wiith sea views so we thought it was worth the extra money.

Most importantly, the diving was excellent. The dive centre and crew are one of the best that we have ever been with - they were very attentive, professional and friendly. The sites were varied and our dive masters were always extremely knowledgeable - they even spotted a dolphin that was diving with us!

We have booked our next trip at their sister resort in Lombok in October and are looking forward to it especially if it is anything like our experience at Manado!

Overall, this would have been one of the best dive trips we have had and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our suite was very spacious with a huge shower (and jacuzzi) facing the sea
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your five-star review of our resort. It is much appreciated by all my staff and I who are constantly working at providing the best possible service to our guests, divers as well as non-divers. The Suite you stayed in is one of two Suites both of which are on the upper level and have a great view of the ocean especially during sunset. The special feature of the Suite is the round bath and shower area directly facing the ocean to be enjoyed by those looking for a romantic and relaxing time. We are primarily a dive resort but we are also aware that there are those who are non-divers who simply enjoy a beautiful resort to chill out. We are glad you enjoyed the diving for the dive service is our forte. You are very lucky to spot a dolphin. I have already informed our sister resort in Lombok to expect you in October and we are sure you will also enjoy yourself very much over there, with over 300 meters of white sand beach.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It is my 2nd vist to Cocotinos Manado and it is like a 2nd home to me. Cocotinos is a small and cosy resort. Definitely a great place to visit.

From the moment you step into the resort, rest assured that you will be well taken care of.
With regards to diving, the dives sites are fantastic. Bunaken Marine Park is just about 40 minutes from Cocotinos. There are also great diving spots which is about 10 minutes from the resort. With their own jetty, the dive spots are made so much more accessible.

In terms of service, they are totally in a different league. You do not have to worry about your gears. They will prepare your gears and rinse your gear at the end of the day. It is such a pleasure to dive with them.

My dive guide, Bob was very accommodative and patient with me as I took pretty long to take my photos. He always made sure that I was very comfortable and did not rush me at any point of time.

James was also very nice in giving me some insights about how to place my strobes and composing my photos.

I must thank the support staff, such as restaurant, housekeeping that made my stay enjoyable.
The staffs are fantastic.

The general manager, Martinus is friendly and takes time to interact with the guests at the resort which is such an uncommon sight for his position.

My wife and I did a crab fishing activity which both of us enjoy very much. They will bring you to a long stretch of river where you will drop the crab traps. If you do manage to catch one, they will prepare the crabs for dinner.

Keep up the good work and you bet that I will definitely point my friends to your way if they happen to drop by in Manado.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaser25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us. Our dive masters Bob and James send their regards. We are also glad that you and your wife enjoyed the crab fishing up the river near our resort. This activity is very popular with most of our guests especially the children and non-divers. Please come again and bring some of your friends with you.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
4.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
144 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
542 reviews
4.8 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
503 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range: £57 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori
Cocotinos Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing