We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were very pleased with our room and buffet food was quite good”
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We were very pleased with our room and buffet food was quite good”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My ratings take into consideration that this is Indonesia. For Indonesia, this hotel and it's food were great! Loved the buffet meals as we could pick what we wanted. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean, well after I had them come and clean the toilet when we moved in. The bathrooms are very large. We were there for four nights with a group of 8 snorkelers. The staff was very attentive to our needs.

Now for the challenges:
The dive operation lunch food was terrible. We stayed in 22 and had a pet frog in our toilet show up every night. He was both amusing and a problem. The first two nights he left right away when we flushed. After that, it took considerable effort to get him to go. We sprayed him with the toilet wash hose and he finally left. When I get a chance to get through our photos, I will post his photo. I hope the hotel reads this as we forgot to tell them about our pet and they need to evict him. There is a call to prayer five times a day so expect that. One more thing ... be sure to use the provided room safes ... my hard side locked suitcase was pried open the second day we were out on the boats ... there was nothing of any value for them to take and I do not think anything was missing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverbank32011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are grateful for the 5-star review you gave us despite a couple of hiccups in our service. We apologize for the elusive frog that wouldn't go away and your suspicion that your bag was broken into. The frogs are plentiful this wet season and sometimes they do get into the room uninvited. I spoke to your dive leader every evening to check if everything was alright but he did not mention about your bag incident. If he did we would have taken immediate action and launched an in-house investigation as we take this sort of thing very seriously.
We are glad it did not mar your experience with us. Please come again and bring friends.

Warmest regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    104
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
113
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

"Sir, are you joining for afternoon coffee/tea", that is what you hear everyday at 5pm from anybody of the friendly staff of Cocotinos Manado. How nice, free pisang goreng with cup of coffee around the pool, this place is really all about relaxing.

Forget the hectic city of Manado, but instead consider a stay in Cocotinos will really give you a smile. A fully equipped Spa, restaurant & bar, pool and the best rooms made us feel like kings. Oh and we didn't try the diving, but as we just got back from Bunaken for the PADI course, this intermezzo was really just for a few days of ultimate relaxation. Mission accomplished.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your pleasant review of our resort. Nice to know you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us. Now that you have obtained your scuba diving qualification, please remember to stay and dive with us the next time you come to Manado. We promise you a fabulous experience in some of the best reefs of Indonesia right here, at our very own doorsteps! Please tell your friends in Holland about us.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapporo, Japan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 days for scuba diving. I like the cozy atmosphere of the resort. Though it is not high-end gorgeous one, all of the area is tidy and clean, the room is well equipped and has good ambience, and all staffs are well trained, kind and friendly. I traveled alone but didn't feel lonely at all. Also diving guides know about the diving spots well. They are good at finding creatures. This resort is in a small village, and maybe some people would mind loud "adhan" and noises as well. On the other hand, communication with children there was quite fun. I hope to go back there again someday.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank hiisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear reviewer,

Very nice if you to give us a great review. We are very happy you enjoy your stay with us in our simple resort by Wori bay , with the village behind us. The call to prayer from the small mosque nearby reminds us that we are fortunate to be living in harmony in a village of mixed faiths. There are two churches in the village. Many of our guests, like yourself, enjoy meeting the children and talking to the friendly villagers, many of whom work in our resort. Pls tell your friends about us and do come again.

Warmest regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Very relaxing place set in a beautiful location, you feel immediatly at home. Perfect after a long journey (or jet lag). Close to Manado, bunaken and the airport. Good food, amazing friendliness and service. Just... No beach.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guilame C,

Thank you for your doing a good review of the resort. It is much appreciated. We are pleased you liked our location , and service. Like many resorts on Manado we do not have much of a beach, except at low tide , and the sand is black because it is volcanic. But we have great sunsets and Wori Bay where we are has a simple rustic charm that appeals to many, and of course, the great diving sites for which Manado is famous.
Please tell your friends about us and come again

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

What a great place to relax and dive. The people here are amazing. Relax by the water and some of the most amazing diving in the world. The food here is mostly Island flavor. Night dives are a must. You must take a stroll outside the resort to see the local people. They are so friendly and take a visit to the local school. It is Humbling. This resort is a must for any level diver. Bring a good camera, you will get some incredible pictures. The guides will show you creatures you will only see in that part of the world. The Walls are stunning with color and the fish life is overwhelming. What a great experience .

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank twinkiekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the diving in the Bunaken Marine Park where we are located. The reefs here are great and deserve to be more well known to divers throughout the world . Like you, many of our guests have visited the sparsely fitted-out schools in our village, made donations of stationary and some have even given of their time to do some craft with the children. It is all very much appreciated.
Thank you, tell your friends about us and please come again.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Cocotino's looks after each and every small detail of your trip, from picking you up at the airport when you arrive, to organizing your dive gear, to your meals and accommodations. Great spot for serious divers as there are so many options for diving, from novice to experienced divers. The Dive Masters are top notch and them and the crew look after everything for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstangarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Mstangarone ,

We treat all our guests like royalty and so it is only natural that we look after your every detail when you stay with us. It great to know that our service is appreciated . Thank you for giving us top marks. Please tell your fellow divers about us. We very much look forward to your next visit.....out warm and friendly service awaits.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Two sides to this place - as a slightly upmarket dive hotel it is terrific, the dive shop is friendly and efficient so you can get one of their two dive boats to some of the best water in the world. Even with a snorkel the coral, fish, turtles and reef are clear as crystal in three to eight meters.
As a 'resort' it's less impressive, a small hotel behind a high wall in the middle of a kampong village at the end of a longish road that goes nowhere else. The rooms are nice enough, there's a small pool and a central bar cum restaurant cum meeting area. But that's about all and there's nowhere else within walking distance so unless you are a serious diver or looking for a very quiet time, it may not be for you - no beach and not much by way of activities unless you take a hotel car to the highlands (recommended). Not a place to take young children though the staff are super friendly and would probably do all they could to make them welcome.
One oddity is that each morning we were there there was a blast of karaoke or heavy metal from the village at around six am - a guy in the village told us it was a discontented villager who hadn't had his land bought up when the hotel moved in!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your good and honest review of our resort. We are glad you enjoy your stay with us. Yes, we are a small resort in a village facing Wori Bay. We occupy a rather small footprint on land but our play ground for divers is vast in some of the richest reefs of Indonesia within the Bunaken Marine Park which is right at our doorsteps. We are always mindful of our non-diving guest and we have a range of activities for them, from crab fishing nearby (good for children), to highland tours, and visits to the city of Manado and further on to the Tangkoko National Park where you can find endemic animals that are unique to Sulawesi.
Please tell your friends about our warm and friendly service and we hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
4.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 46 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
4.8 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Property: Cocotinos Manado
Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori
Cocotinos Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing