We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocotinos Manado
Nearby Hotels
Bahowo Lodge(Manado)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Onong Resort(Manado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Siladen Resort & Spa(Siladen Island)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Village Bunaken(Bunaken Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
212
109
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
109
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive resortfishdive mastergreat divingwater dispenserrecommend this resortdiving crewboat ridethe reefsa la cartehighlands tourperfect servicemakes you feelgroup of friendsminute drivebunaken marine parkmanado city
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent service from Dive crew n resort staff..
Good diving experience too..
Loved Sledang1 at Sledang island... tanjung kopi at Manado Tua. Bountiful fish life, Healthy soft n hard corals n good visibility. .
Would love to come back to Cocotinos Manado for more fantastic dives. ..

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My2013tripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our resort and diving operation which is probably one of the best around. Also thanks for the photos that you posted along with your review they were very nice. We are always discovering new dive site close to the resort for our guests to explore so you don’t have to go so far to see some stunning underwater stuff, i.e. more time underwater less time sitting in a boat.
We hope to see you and your friends back again at Cocotinos soon. Wishing you and all of your family and friends a nice Christmas and New Year from all of us here at Cocotinos.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My group of 4 were there from 25/11-29/11. It's a small compound but has a very nice, clean pool. Our very clean room had 2 double-storey bunks with super comfy blankets and mattresses. The resort compound is scrupulously clean and well-maintained.

The restaurant (Deho Restaurant) was a tranquil, relaxing place to be while you surfed the Internet and waited for meals to be served. The food was very well-received by us and all meals, including those served on the dive boat, were devoured with gusto. Buffet meals weren't on the menu and we had what was called "Family meals" each night where several dishes were served after a starter dish and soup.

The staff were polite and accommodating, greeting us whenever they saw us and asking after us. Martinus made it a point to check in with us whenever he popped into the restaurant.

Not many grouses about the place. There were 3 roaches in our bathroom, which I killed with extreme prejudice; the waterfront was woefully murky, with lots of rubbish and dirty foam. Make no mistake, though, none of these detracted one bit from our thorough enjoyment of the resort.

The dive operation (Odyssea Divers) was a superbly run outfit. We have nothing but praise for them. I will review them elsewhere on this site.

Thank you, Cocotinos, for making our dive holiday so memorable and wondrous. I wholeheartedly recommend this resort to everyone.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank nightbreed71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for giving us a good 4-star review. We apologise for the three roaches you found in your room. We do spray the rooms regularly as we have a standing contract with Terminix, the pest control people.

But this wet season we do have had quite a few flying roaches and we are sorry some got into your room. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and diving with us nevertheless. Yes, like many resorts, we do not have much of a beach to speak of, just the water's edge.

The floating rubbish is only occasional and comes from the river near us. We do our best to organise cleanups and educate the villagers but it is quite a task getting the village to shape up. We ask for your patience in this regard. Please come again and bring more friends.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My ratings take into consideration that this is Indonesia. For Indonesia, this hotel and it's food were great! Loved the buffet meals as we could pick what we wanted. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean, well after I had them come and clean the toilet when we moved in. The bathrooms are very large. We were there for four nights with a group of 8 snorkelers. The staff was very attentive to our needs.

Now for the challenges:
The dive operation lunch food was terrible. We stayed in 22 and had a pet frog in our toilet show up every night. He was both amusing and a problem. The first two nights he left right away when we flushed. After that, it took considerable effort to get him to go. We sprayed him with the toilet wash hose and he finally left. When I get a chance to get through our photos, I will post his photo. I hope the hotel reads this as we forgot to tell them about our pet and they need to evict him. There is a call to prayer five times a day so expect that. One more thing ... be sure to use the provided room safes ... my hard side locked suitcase was pried open the second day we were out on the boats ... there was nothing of any value for them to take and I do not think anything was missing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverbank32011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We are grateful for the 5-star review you gave us despite a couple of hiccups in our service. We apologize for the elusive frog that wouldn't go away and your suspicion that your bag was broken into. The frogs are plentiful this wet season and sometimes they do get into the room uninvited. I spoke to your dive leader every evening to check if everything was alright but he did not mention about your bag incident. If he did we would have taken immediate action and launched an in-house investigation as we take this sort of thing very seriously.
We are glad it did not mar your experience with us. Please come again and bring friends.

Warmest regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

"Sir, are you joining for afternoon coffee/tea", that is what you hear everyday at 5pm from anybody of the friendly staff of Cocotinos Manado. How nice, free pisang goreng with cup of coffee around the pool, this place is really all about relaxing.

Forget the hectic city of Manado, but instead consider a stay in Cocotinos will really give you a smile. A fully equipped Spa, restaurant & bar, pool and the best rooms made us feel like kings. Oh and we didn't try the diving, but as we just got back from Bunaken for the PADI course, this intermezzo was really just for a few days of ultimate relaxation. Mission accomplished.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your pleasant review of our resort. Nice to know you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us. Now that you have obtained your scuba diving qualification, please remember to stay and dive with us the next time you come to Manado. We promise you a fabulous experience in some of the best reefs of Indonesia right here, at our very own doorsteps! Please tell your friends in Holland about us.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed 4 days for scuba diving. I like the cozy atmosphere of the resort. Though it is not high-end gorgeous one, all of the area is tidy and clean, the room is well equipped and has good ambience, and all staffs are well trained, kind and friendly. I traveled alone but didn't feel lonely at all. Also diving guides know about the diving spots well. They are good at finding creatures. This resort is in a small village, and maybe some people would mind loud "adhan" and noises as well. On the other hand, communication with children there was quite fun. I hope to go back there again someday.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank hiisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear reviewer,

Very nice if you to give us a great review. We are very happy you enjoy your stay with us in our simple resort by Wori bay , with the village behind us. The call to prayer from the small mosque nearby reminds us that we are fortunate to be living in harmony in a village of mixed faiths. There are two churches in the village. Many of our guests, like yourself, enjoy meeting the children and talking to the friendly villagers, many of whom work in our resort. Pls tell your friends about us and do come again.

Warmest regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews