We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to disconnect and relax.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocotinos Manado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cocotinos Manado
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An excellent place to disconnect and relax.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Nice lodgings. Excellent service. And awesome sunset. Diving is a wee bit tedious for novice divers as the currents there are somewhat tricky. But once u get used to it it becomes fun. The massages are a tad expensive. But the food is awesome.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aloysius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your nice review of our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed our food and service. Yes, the diving can be a bit challenging but it can be enjoyable to go with the flow of the current.
We hope to see you again soon. Please come back with some of your friends."

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    102
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
112
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genk, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

On our way to Bunaken we stayed for 2 nights at Cocotinos.
We were met at the airport and chose to use the hotel airport pickup service. The price for this was 270,000 IDR, which is high, but since we arrived late with our 4 year old daughter, we were glad we chose the comfort option.

At our arrival we were offered a complementary plate of sandwiches (which I requested) and an extra bed was set-up in the room free of charge. We booked the ocean view suite, which was really spacious and very clean and comfortable. The swimming pool is nice and the restaurant offers very decent a la carte food.

Some negatives:
- there is no sandy beach, the water comes right up to a line of concrete poles sticking out of the sand. So snorkelling or swimming is not really an option.
- the hotel seems to be surrounded by mosques, so being waked at 4:38 am by loud prayer if you only turned in at 2 am is not so nice.
- the staff is very friendly but is trying a bit too hard to our likings: if you go to the breakfast buffet you don't need someone standing 40 cm from you just in case you would need anything. Also I know they mean well, but I am not letting a girl half my size carry my 20kg backpack. The staff seemed very uncomfortable with me insisting to carry it myself.

In general this resort upholds a high standard, but for us it was only good for a short transit stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of our resort which you found to be nice and clean. Yes, we charge for airport transfer and our price is more expensive than that of the public taxi. Like all other hotels in the world, we are merely providing service to our guests and our cars and drivers are on stand by 24 hours a day; we picked you up at 11 pm at night. If you had arrived at 4 am in the morning we would still have picked you up all the same without midnight surcharge. Some of our guests prefer to take the public taxi to save cost; finally, it is a matter of personal choice between cost and convenience/reliability. We try to give our guests the best service possible and all our staff are strong and accustomed to carrying heavy back-packs and other equipment for our guests - so you need not have worried about the petite female staff carrying your bag. It is our resort's policy to make our guests feel like royalty. We are sorry if you felt that the restaurant staff were a touch too attentive and caused you to be uncomfortable. We will review this matter in our regular staff training sessions and try to improve on our service.
The village behind the resort has one mosque and two churches and the call to prayer from the mosque is 5 times a day. But with good relations, the village imam has kindly agreed to keep the volume of the speakers down for the sake of our guests.

Thank you for your visit and your comments and we hope to see you again.

With kind regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Cocotinos @ bunaken for the second time from 7 - 11 March 2014 and was blown away once again by the fantastic service and beauty of the resort. Dives are well planned and food is great! This dive resort is blessed with thoughtful staff and I think they have done at awesome job at getting me hooked on holidays at Cocotinos!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LorraineLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Lorraine

I was on my way back from ITB Berlin where I was promoting Cocotinos to European travel agents when I saw your review. We are so proud that you considered Ccocotinos Manado the best dive resort in South East Asia. I cannot thank you enough for your endorsement and all of us here in Cocotinos Manado are encouraged by this and will continue to provide the special service that you enjoyed so much. It was very nice of you to visit us again for the second time. Please come back again and hopefully, again

With kind regards,
Boy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here recently for 5 nights. We hoped to do a lot of snorkeling, but do to lack of guests we only went once. Thankfully our first whole day there was a big group of divers so we joined them for a day of snorkeling and it was AMAZING! Pretty much after that the resort was dead and unless we wanted to hire the boat ourselves for hundreds of dollars we could not go out again. That sucked, but the weather wasn't the greatest either.
The resort is far from Manado and feels isolated. If you can't dive or snorkel your In dullsville. We took a cab a couple times out and it is serious long drives around 1 hour one way to Manado and 2 hours one way to the crater. There is no point staying here to see any other sites.
The grounds and resort are well constructed an kept immaculate. We stayed in a garden villa and it was very nice.
Now the worst part is the food. We payed a lot of money to stay here and they want to gouge you even more with serious over inflated food prices. You would think with five star food prices you would get five star food? No way you get 1 star food! We ate here the first night we arrived and ordered a local Manado chicken dish that came with rice and a few veggies for $12 each and it was sooo disappointing. Our chicken consisted of 3 gross chicken wings with next to no meat. We felt so ripped off and hungry. The waitress asked us how it was and we told her very bad. Did they do anything nope! Here's your bill for $32 for a pop a juice 6 gross meatless wings and two servings of rice and veggies! Seriously?!?!?. One day in manado we went to a grocery store and bought a similar dish for $1.50 with a big piece of tasty white chicken meat. So if they try to say oh sorry our food is bad, because that's the way it is here it's not! Many other places in Manado have way better quality food for less. We tried a couple burgers the next day for $10 each still overpriced. My burger at mcdonalds in Manado was better! We never ate at the resort besides breakfast after that. We would eat instant noodles in our room for the rest of our stay. Seriously!

Then after charging all this money to stay there and try to gouge you for huge amounts of money on food, they give you an envelope at the end of the stay to tip everyone. They recommend 5-10% of your total stay. Well after they ripped us off on a horrible dinner we tipped nothing! I have stayed at places all over the world and have never encountered this practice in my life. Anyways save yourself a small fortune and a happy stomach and stay at the Novotel or somewhere in town for 1/3 of the price!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PerpetualTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your rather polarising review of our resort. We are glad that you liked the overall design of our resort; you liked our garden room which you were in and you like that fact that our compound and buildings are well maintained. You also liked the snorkelling in the Bunaken Marine Park. However you did not liked the food which you found to be too expensive and not to your taste. While we respect your personal opinion as a reviewer, we do need to set the record straight. Firstly I have checked with my staff and supervisors and they told me that you had your breakfast late every morning, often close to the closing time of 10 am or later. Breakfast is included in the price of your room and you heartily finished every-thing every time and skipped lunch after that. So we are surprised that you are now complaining about the quality of our food and that it is not value for money. You did not eat very much else in the resort after a very heavy breakfast every morning.

I appreciate that every travellers must live within his or her budget. There is a small food stall outside our resort where our staff and other locals often eat and the price of the food there is lower; but the food is serve in very humble settings. There is simply no comparison. It is not reasonable to expect street food prices in any decent resort in the world, not even in Indonesia! As for the price of rooms and food in the Novotel Manado, I will leave it to the discerning traveller to check for themselves on the internet if they can indeed get their room and food there at 1/3 the price of Cocotinos - as stated by you. It is all on the internet and there is no need to dramatize.

Our boat rental is not “hundreds of dollar” – you can check it yourself on the internet. If you booked a boat for your own private use it is more expensive than if you shared with a group of divers or snorkelers. This is only normal, given the price of fuel these days. As for tips, no one is compel to give any as it is entirely voluntary. We are a boutique dive resort and we have had many happy customers who return again and again. If food price is a major factor for you, may we respectfully suggest that you do more thorough research next time to avoid disappointment on your next trip. With the internet we could have easily sent you our menu and food prices on request if you have asked for it. We wish you all the best in your future travels.

With kind regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The moment we walked out of the airport, the service rendered my the staff was impeccable. Every staff knew our names and our needs. The diving is second to none, and with the able dive guides, we were able to see many unique creatures which only exist in this part of the world. We felt like royalty here, from the director to the housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acoc6791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

My staff and I sincerely appreciate the kind words you gave us in your review of our resort. We are proud of our little resort in Wori Bay and we feel privileged to have such fabulous dive sites in the Bunaken Marine Park to show our guests, which we treat like royalty. Do come again and please tell others about us.

With kind regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The hospitality starts from the airport and continues till our departure from Manado. Venly, Tirza and Boy, (in fact every single staff) in Cocotinos Resort made our stay so comfortable and memorable, we are determined to visit Cocotinos on a regular basis. The suite has a fantastic view, it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff in every department from the groundsman, driver, waiting staff, cooks, housekeeping, reception , spa were very attentive and delivered to our needs and requests.

Yes, a special mention to the Odyssea Divers Center Crew members. James Mamoto and his team deserves a HUGE appreciation for fulfilling my daughter's dream to be able to dive. James and Mirzad took us thru the whole process and we thoroughly enjoyed the lessons and the Openwater dives. The professionalism, enthusiasm and deep responsibility of the Dive Crew at Cocotinos has revive my interests in diving.

My family and 1 would like to thank Mr Martinus Wawanda and his staff
for leaving us with wonderful memories of Manado thru Cocotinos Resort.
We can't wait to visit the City of Blessing and yes, Cocotinos Resort.

(Agnes and family)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank eegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Ms EeGoh,

Thank you for giving us a wonderful review of our resort. We enjoyed having you and your family with us. Diving service is what we are good at. We treasure the marine environment around us and we love to share its beauty and magic with all our guests. Please come again. We will be waiting with the same warm and friendly service.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Both my brother and I had a wonderful start of the year at Cocotino Manado. It was impressive that how we were been pampered and well taken care during our stay at Cocotino Manado. They have a group of very good attentive staffs (from front desk, Lalenina Spa, housekeeping, restaurant, kitchen and dive centre), making the whole stay memorable.
We really like the resort and will always keep Cocotino Manado or Cocotino Lombok as my priority choice of stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahwing258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinusWawanda, General Manager at Cocotinos Manado, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greeting from all of us here at Cocotinos, Manado. I hope that you are recovered from the New Year party, and I am so glad that we made the start of your New Year such a good and memorable one. I hope that the rest of your year also continues the same way. My staff and I look forward to having you and your brother, as well as your friends comes stay with us again soon.
Thank you from us here at Cocotinos, Manado.

Best regards,
Martinus Wawanda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
4.5 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#3 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#1 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Manado

Property: Cocotinos Manado
Address: Desa Kima Bajo, Jaga 3 | Jaga 3, Kec., Wori 95000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocotinos Manado 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Manado is a boutique dive resort located within Wori Bay in the heart of Kima Bajo, a fishing village overlooking the Bunaken National Marine Park, world famous for its astounding wall and macro scuba diving. A mere 25-minute drive from Manado's Sam Ratulangi International Airport brings you to the resort, on the water's edge, in full view of Siladen Island and Manado Tua, a majestic dormant volcano across the Sulawesi Sea. Through the use of selected hardwoods, stone, and other ecologically friendly building materials sourced from the region, the resort blends seamlessly with the surrounding village and coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cocotinos Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotinos Manado Hotel Wori
Cocotinos Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing