We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip would have been a disaster if it weren't for the fabulous Scuba Diving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip would have been a disaster if it weren't for the fabulous Scuba Diving”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I would like to share my recent experiences with everyone intending to go there:

OVERVIEW: Kima Bajo is not for the elderly. Good for families or couples. There is no nightlife, so evenings will be long and dry. Luckily for cable television programs and aircon available.

WEBSITE: The website is not update and hasn't been for quite awhile. Therefore information there is probably 50% accurate. What is most disappointing for me was the fact that the dive operator who was supposedly to be still operating, had in fact left some time ago! So the resort does not have any dive operator now. For all scuba divers - do take note.

FRONT OFFICE: Generally very friendly and goes all out to accommodate all requests. But beware when you request for the resort car to take you to town as the charges can be quite high. I was told that one -way drop-off into town would cost RP100,000 per way. However, to my shock, I was charged RP 220,000 per hour and eventually negotiated it down to RP100,000 per hour! Taxis in general do not use the meter and charge based on fixed rates, so be sure to negotiate first. One way price into townb by taxi is approx. RP 70,000. However, taxis hardly ply around the resort, so waiting for one can be excrutiating!

FOOD & BEVERAGE: There is only 1 restaurant. The service extended by the staff is friendly and warm, always with a smile. Ask for Jane or Robin, 2 of the most knowlegeable persons in the resort. Unfortunately the kitchen is not fully stocked up and equipped. About 80% of the menu is unavailable - therefore telling guests that there is no need to eat there. Go out to the town to eat. Manado is known for its seafood as its along the seaside. Head to any Chinese Seafood Restaurants and you'll have a feast! Do try their local "Boronang" fish which is Black Pomfret. Its best when its grilled/bbq!

SPA: Probably the worst thing at this resort. My partner and I visited the spa and was told that we would get a discount as it was off-peak season. And so we went ahead with the massages of 1 1/2 hour each. To our dismay, there was no discount offered at the end. We were then told that the next time we came back, there would be a discount. Needless to say, we never went back. I recommend a visit to Tikkala Shiatsu which is located in town. The prices are half of the resort's and very good massage therapists too!

Management: I met with the newly appointed GM of the resort and could tell that he's trying his best to get things in order. But it should not be at the expense of guests, in my opinion. My booking was made in advance andthere should be no reason for the restaurants to have no food stocked.

SCUBA DIVING: As a scuba enthusiast, Manado will rank as my top 2 dive sites in the world. After having dive experiences in Cozumel - Mexico, Hawaii, Cayman Islands, Thailand, Malaysia and Maldives, Manado will surely rank tops. The resort is located nearest to Bunaken Island and the boat ride there takes approx. 20 mins. Generally, most dives are wall dives, with some reef dives in between. Visibility is easily 70 - 90 metres, clear blue waters.

Because there was no dive operator in Kima Bajo, I went with Odysea Divers, located at Cocotinos Resort next door. Lookout for James and his fantastic team of Divemasters and boat crew! Well done and keep up your good work!

My trip would have been a disaster if it weren't for the quality of scuba diving! I had a very memorable trip.

Room Tip: Be sure to book the Bunga Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExcoDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    26
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
12
40
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here in Aug 2011 for 2 weeks with the family and had a great time. Out of the way and back to basics whilst still having the important amenities for the family. Stunning location and nice and quiet. Coupled with the professional and friendly dive centre makes for a great holiday location.
World class diving here and round the corner at Lembeth mean that SCUBAZOO have a diver permanently stationed here and in the water every day. He was willing to take shots and video of the divers and help out with underwater phot advice.
Long rooms with interconnecting door was just what was required for the family. Kids loved the pool and the sunsets were sensational. Staff were approachable and friendly and even helped organise and go with the wife when she needed a trip to the dentist!
They also organised a nanny to look after the kids while parents were off diving.
In conclusion. Fantastic holiday. If you want discos and costa del. Don't come here. It does what it says on the tin - a getaway to rejuvenate with excellent diving. Would definitely recommend - worth the trip - and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This resort is way out of the city & if you are on a business trips, this hotel is not at all recommended.. Wifi facility in this hotel did not work on both days I was there.. Rooms are good with view to the sea .. but not that clean up to the mark... Price wise they are very much over priced.. breakfast has not much choices.. Service wise staffs are very good & is at your help at any time. This place is not suggested to the elderly as one need to climb steep from the restaurant to the room & from the room to the reception area. please carry a lot of mosquito repellants.. Kimo Bajo has a good swimming pool & nice spa... There is no restaurants or shops near the resort & once night falls, there is nothing to do other than staying back in the room.

Location is good for honeymooners or others those who love to spent time from the hustle & bustle of the city...

Room Tip: Rooms with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I've been in Kima Bajo at december 2011, just for one night, coming from the opposite part of the town, and I needed to be at airport very early in the morning.
This resort is very close to the airport and located in a wonderful area with a lot of trees and a wonderful view on the Bunaken National Park.
Room (the standard one) was very large with a double-size bed and a large bathroom equipped with shower and hot water.
Dinner was good even a little expensive. Personnel was extremely helpful even carrying the terrible heavy luggage I brought with me.
It's an expensive resort, but all the facilities are very nice and personnel as well. And the view from the pool at the sunset is extraordinaire.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

During my 3 week stay in Indonesia in 5 hotles this was the only one offering such poor service for the price. Do not stay here if you can avoid it.

My daughter and I stayed at the resort having just spent a week at the nearby Lembeh Bay Resort. The price difference was $100 more at Kima, but the quality was much poorer. By comparison the room at Kima was much smaller and the food quality much inferior. When I asked to speak to the manager (an American) he was absent in Bali, incredible at the time of the peak holiday period (Xmas). His staff who were all excellent and kind, did speak to him by phone (I could hear) but he refused to speak to me, which I found was very poor service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wori hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Firstly the dive operation here was very good and i have no complaints about the dive staff, the dive facilities and the service they provide.

The resort however was another matter, the rooms are very nice and on first arrival i thought this was going to be a nice place to stay, the walk from the room to the dive centre was a bit of a trek with some steep stairs but this is a small gripe.

The main issues was the incredibly loud music three nights in a row from the near by village, always until 3am and on one night 5am.

The food was also terrible, very limited selection and poor quality and all buffets, when we complained we were told that the main chef had left a few months back. On another night they apologised for the poor selection and service explaining many of the staff had gone to the village party without permission.

One night they served food outside but left everything out for breakfast the following morning, it rained overnight and the toaster was soaked the following morning which was incredibly dangerous.

They did finally agree to let us eat off the menu, rather then buffet but it was no better, choice of a couple of starters, 3 main courses and pudding from the buffet.

After 3 days i could not take anymore, the manager did not seem to care about our complaints and i asked our tour operator to move us. They were fantastic and moved us back to the KBR, where we had stayed the week before.

Since coming back i have noticed a number of reviews complaining about the food and it r appears that when the resort is half empty they switch to a buffet selection and limited choices, to control costs is the only conclusion i can come to.

We also had problems finding out the drink prices as we could not find them published and even the manager could not tell us whether the bar drinks and drinks in our room were the same price.

This is definitely not a 4 star resort and it appears that your experience will depend on how full they are at the time. I am sure if the resort is busy you will have a good time but if it is half empty then it could be a different matter.

I will reiterate once again the dive operation was excellent but they are being let down greatly being based in this resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenCBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The highlights of our stay were all the staff at Kima Bajo and Eco-divers. The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The dive centre is very professionally run, as well as being very friendly and accommodating. The guides were excellent and could find the tiniest critters imaginable. The diving was very different to any we've done before - particularly the muck diving. Extraordinary underwater life that we never knew existed. The spa also provided excellent massages. The resort itself is above average but not exactly luxurious and has a limited food menu, but the helpfulness of the staff and the service from Eco-divers definitely made the holiday very worthwhile. I would definitely recommend it to any diver without any reservations!

Room Tip: I'd say if you're planning to spend any time in your rooms, the bunga villas are probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
4.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
130 reviews
9.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cocotinos Manado
Cocotinos Manado
#1 of 2 in Wori
321 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
17.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado

Property: Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado
Address: Desa Kima Bajo dusun 1, Kecamatan Wori, Kabupaten Minahasa Utara | near Manado, Wori 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst undulating coconut grooves overlooking the tranquil Wori Bay and just minutes away from North Sulawesi's Bunaken National Park, Kima Bajo is a small upscale boutique resort that offers romance, luxury and every comfort a traveler could wish for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kima Bajo Resort And Spa
Kima Bajo Hotel Wori
Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing