We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend for relaxing, but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Excellent Bungalow with sea and volcano view.. Very friendly staff. Good international and local food. Very relaxing and quiet surrounding because the location is quite "remote". We enjoyed the spa and masage (extensive) treatment.
Summary : It offered all what we expected but was too expensive for the food and accomodation when compared with other Indonesian locations. We can't say anything about the diving prices, as that was not what we were searching for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2011

Very good resort, I stayed in a bungalow with a 180 view of the ocean, islands and volcano.
Rooms are very nice with great sunbed area overlooking the ocean. My room also had outside hot shower and bath wich was very usefull after diving during the day. The resort has a great bar with happy hour and a good resteraunt overlooking the islands.
The grounds and rooms are very well kept and very clean.
Airport transfers were great with no problems at all.The dive centre is also very good with experienced staff. The diving is extremely good and is only a short trip from the resort.
Over all the resort staff were very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Beautiful place to chill out, although we were forced to dine in for a couple of nights by torrential rain we were pleasantly surprised by the excellent food available.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubreytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I went here with a friend and we stayed for 5 days. We combined our stay with diving, which was a good combo!

The cabin we stayed in was very beatyfull and the staff was really nice and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The main activity at Kima Bajo is the dive centre - which is run by Eco Divers and is superb. The dive staff were very helpful and ran 3 dives a day, to Bunaken National Park or the afternoon local dives. Bunaken NP diving is amazing - clear water, turtles, sharks and a huge amunt and variety of fish. Generally wall diving with some strong currents.
We stayed in a longhouse which was nice but the BungaVillas have a better location on the complex plus nicer outside terraces. Our room was clean save a few ants and the food was good. Location was spot on - swimming pool, bar and restuarant overlook the sea and distant volcano - lovely for relaxing after a days diving.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristalSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We spent three nights here, including Christmas day. It's predominantly a dive resort, 45 minutes by car from Manado centre, and 30 minutes from the airport. The resort offers free transport to and from the airport.

Accommodation is in cabins or rooms in “longhouses”; our longhouse room was spacious, clean, nicely furnished, and beautifully cooled. Bedding was spotless, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable indeed. The TV had decent reception and several English language services. There was no in-room internet access, but we were able to borrow a pc in the site office.

The accommodation is spaced out over a nicely manicured hillside, dotted with coconut trees. At the foot of the hill, overlooking the beach, are the restaurant and bar. Paths and steps are steep in places, and this resort would not be a good option for anyone with mobility problems. We were there in rainy season, and the paths became raging torrents at the height of a storm. Very exciting! More worryingly, we found a coconut on the ground after the storm, and were very glad not to have been under it when it fell.

You would not want to swim in the sea off the beach; the water looked very polluted, and was full of floating rubbish.

The hotel staff were great. Very friendly, eager to please, and happy to see us.

Most people at the resort when we were there were on a full board deal. We were on b&b, paying around £90 per room. Breakfast was very good, although more variety of fruit would have been nice. A la carte meals were well cooked and presented, but were very expensive by Indonesian standards. Drinks were roughly twice the normal Indonesian hotel level.

We did have the Christmas day gala dinner. The food was really well prepared, but a bit erratic. Turkey ran out before we reached the tray. Roasted veggies ran out before the superb venison was eaten, and a replenishment arrived just after all the meat was finished. Desserts were rather strange. And during dinner a singer was belting out western Christmas classics and Indonesian pop. She was very good, but too loud! And at nearly £20 per head this meal was over-priced for Indonesia.

The swimming pool was well-maintained. There were no other activities for non-divers available on site. We walked round the lanes to the nearby village on Christmas day, and discovered that it is mainly Christian, and that its churchgoers were singing their hearts out at morning service. Incidentally, the local mosque has the shortest and quietest morning call to prayer we have ever heard!

Overall we thought this resort was perfect for what we wanted at the time- a quiet, reasonably luxurious Christmas break from travelling. I wouldn't go back, however, because pricing was so over-the-top. For the independent traveller Kima Bajo Resort represents poor value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Stayed at Kima Bajo for three fantastic weeks, and we were looked after every minute of the holiday. Food was superb - I cant believe some of the previous reviews, we had not one complaint.
Diving was to the usual high standard, extremely professional and excellent fun. All the Staff were very friendly, but I think you get out what you put in.
I had a problem with a tooth during my stay, and was escorted to a Manado hospital - I was dreading it but in the end it was OK - quite modern facilities.
The rooms were very good and clean, and we both got great sleep while we were there. You can hear the nearby Mosque (about 500m away) but we found it very atmospheric.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wori
12.9 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
150 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cocotinos Manado
Cocotinos Manado
#1 of 2 in Wori
333 reviews
5.2 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
512 reviews
4.8 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#4 of 45 in Manado
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado

Address: Desa Kima Bajo dusun 1, Kecamatan Wori, Kabupaten Minahasa Utara | near Manado, Wori 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Wori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wori
Price Range: £106 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst undulating coconut grooves overlooking the tranquil Wori Bay and just minutes away from North Sulawesi's Bunaken National Park, Kima Bajo is a small upscale boutique resort that offers romance, luxury and every comfort a traveler could wish for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kima Bajo Hotel Wori
Kima Bajo Resort And Spa
Kima Bajo Resort & Spa, Manado Indonesia/Wori, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing