We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little disappointed”

The New Inn Baschurch
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Baschurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Little disappointed”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The pub enjoys a good local reputation so we called in last Sat 15th Feb. Nice setting pleasant eating area, food was generally ok if a little overdone steak requested medium rare, got on the medium side of well, duck and fish cake had similar treatment.

Overall a little disappointed and did not feel it quite matched its reputation or price tag,other reviews are excellent, so perhaps we just went on wrong night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    41
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Seasoning”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Vegetable soup was tasty. Scallops needed a touch more colour. One was still half raw. Accompanying mint and pea sauce was good. Seasoning lacking on lamb shank, as was juiciness. Steak and ale pie unremarkable for similar reasons. Good presentation. Menu has potential. Just need more confidence with tastes / seasoning. Will return in a year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BeenThereEatenThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding village pub”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

A warm welcoming atmosphere, staff are very friendly. Good real ale selection. Appears very popular so book for food. Food was excellent quality and plentiful. There were 8 off us in our party and everyone raved about their dishes. Many thanks

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_HAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Never fails to please the palate”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Ate here again in early November when visiting family. This pub never leaves me disappointed. Great food. The menu is both extensive and imaginative for a small pub. There is always a good selection of specials. Ingredients are of the highest quality, beautifully cooked and presented.
Staff are very welcoming and helpful.
Just wish you were down here in the South West where I live!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Ate here last night with friends, one of whom is a vegetarian, The menu was varied, the service excellent and the food beautifully presented and very tasty. The final bill of £!36 which we thought very reasonable considering we all had 3 courses, drinks and a bottle of champagne (but no coffee) We shall certainly be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbigailShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn Baschurch also viewed

 
Ruyton-XI-Towns, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
 

Been to The New Inn Baschurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing