We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back ...”

The New Inn Baschurch
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Baschurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

How did we stumble across this friendly village pub?

My mother lives in Shrewsbury and we wanted somewhere in the countryside, but not too far away.

It was a summer Bank Holiday and we were worried everywhere would be fully booked.

The New Inn usually doesn’t serve lunch on a Monday, but on a Bank Holiday it does.

And do you like it?

Simple, well delivered food. Fish and chips. A steak. And good roasts on a Sunday.

We pop into the lovely church next door (either before or after). They promise sheep grazing among the tombstones. Quiet, holy and peaceful.

In the summer we like to sit outside (they could do with a sun umbrella or a bit more shade). Inside is modern for a pub and you sense there was no odour of stale beer and old cigarettes even when you were allowed to smoke indoors.

Fine Dining?

No. But enjoyable food and a friendly welcome. I live in London and am always surprised when the bill arrives. For me, it’s on the bargain side of good value. And the portions leave me feeling satisfied.

Weak points?

The range of well cooked vegetables (I can’t believe I am writing about vegetables) was ace. But alongside them the roast potatoes we a bit blah. “We do better roast potatoes at home”.

Tips?

Visit the church. Either for a service or just for a moment closer to God.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 753glynjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018

Stopped for the Linguine on a long bike ride, was a lovely place, great food, lovely beer garden and ambience. Thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 490Stephen_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic puddings ranging from the panacotta, lemon posset and waffles. The mains were really sound too - roast Sunday lunch and fish & chips. Shiraz Cabernet was smooth. Best pub lunch so far and from what I’ve seen head and shoulders above the rest!

Great pics inthe ladies loo too

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SusmitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Visited on Sunday with friends and were made most welcome. Our party had a booking and staff were excellent, friendly without being too personal and with a great senses of humour! The food was amazing, we had three Sunday roast dinners, but I couldn't resist the fabulous vegetarian lasagne and had to have a taste of the gorgeous vegetables. Everyone enjoyed the roast dinners and home-made Yorkshire puddings! We decided not to go for Starters and were very glad too! We managed to make room for desserts and these were delicious too! Staff were more than pleased to make up a 'pick and mix' dessert for a member of our party and she was delighted.
It seems that you must book for Sunday lunch as the whole of the restaurant was busy all afternoon. Can't wait to come again, maybe before Christmas to see what 'specials' are available :) Maybe in the Summer too, so we can sit outside in the garden with a drink before dinner! Mmmm delicious!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marciecat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Just visited this wonderful village pub with family and grandchild, found it from other trip advisor reviews. The food was excellent roast beef etc , chicken and ham pie , belly pork All with fresh veg etc, good desserts , lovely friendly staff, altogether a real hidden gem, well done

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank antitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn Baschurch also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The New Inn Baschurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing