We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very relaxing weeks holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers, amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers, amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Front View with Alfresco Dining, ideal for a BBQ or for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening! Heated In-ground pool, surrounded by a large terrace area where you can lay back and admire the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers, amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Front View with Alfresco Dining, ideal for a BBQ or for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening!
Heated In-ground pool, surrounded by a large terrace area where you can lay back and admire the view
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers ,amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Fully Equipped Kitchen with Dishwasher, Fridge, Washer, Cooker, Toaster, Microwave an Coffee Machine
Lounge with Log-burner, 2 very Comfy Sofas, Flat Screen TV, UK Sky, Wi-fi and DVD Player.
Dining Room, with seating for up to 12. Plus a quiet reading corner.
Bedroom 1: Double room, with views across the fields and plenty of storage.
Bedroom 2:  Very Comfortable Four Poster Bedroom, with lots of storage and wonderful views.
Bedroom 2: Very Comfortable Four Poster Bedroom, with lots of storage and wonderful views.
Bedroom 3: Twin / Family Room, with 2 Single beds and a Double Sofa Bed. A lovely spacious room.
Bedroom 3: Twin / Family Room, with 2 Single beds and a Double Sofa Bed. A lovely spacious room.
Bedroom 4: 2nd Floor, Twin/ Family Bedroom, with Velux window with blind, hanging rail and drawers.
Bedroom 4: 2nd Floor, Twin/ Family Bedroom, with Velux window , fan, hanging rail and drawers
Family Bathroom - Very light and spacious room with Bath with Shower, Wash Hand Basin and Toilet.
Family bathroom: With Bath with shower, Wash Hand Basin & Toilet.
Shower Room: With Shower Cubicle, Wash Hand Basin and Toilet.
Large secure garden, with Children's Playarea with playhouse, swings, slide & many more outdoor toys
Zizim Tower Bourganeuf
Relax and  soak up the sun by the heated pool, look out at the amazing views of the valley.
The village of Janaillat, view from the cottage up the lane to the Church.
Lac Courtille in Gueret, only 25mins away.Ideal for picnics, a swim, a leisurely walk or watersports
Tourist Train at Lac de Vassiviere, on the island with Art Gallery and Restaurant. Free taxi-boats.
Inflatables and floats in the water at Lac de Vassiviere.
Autumn views of Janaillat, all the wonderful deep colours make it very picturesque.
The world famous Limousin cattle.
Lake at Saint Dizier Leyrenne, enjoy a lovely walk, picnic or cycle ride.
Lake Saint Pardoux, another picturesque tourist attraction, lovely beaches and watersports.
Shower Room: With Shower Cubicle, Wash Hand Basin and Toilet.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Janaillat, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
41StevenM
Worton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely area, adequate house but beware”
Reviewed 4 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We visited with our friends who booked the property as a party of 4 young children and 6 adults. A big house with lots of room and additional facilities you wouldn't normally get, however some basic needs have been forgotten. With 10 people staying a small fridge is totally unrealistic as were the white covers on the furniture in a room with flagstone floors that were generally carrying lots of dust and dirt. Be prerared to hear everything in a full house with only wooden floors to reduce the noise, lovely as they are, some rugs and soft furnishing would help sften the noise. No curtains in the top floor so up with the sun which is ok for early risers. eclectic mix of crockery and utensils with no BBQ equipment - potato mashers are very versatile (but cause problems with control), WiFi non existent. Friendly owners on the face of it who are helpful but the pool is shared with their children (and friends when visiting them) (there is a further gite being renovated adding more to the mix) which becomes a little exuberent and noisy as do the occasional family disagreement in their neighbouring house immediately behind Meadow View. The biggest dissappointment was having an unreasonable amount of deposit retained for issues bourne out of the above points, cleaning of the white covers despite the owner agreeing the floors were dirty due to the building work. It is something to consider that you will be potentially charged for cleaning of pool side cushions when this is shared by so many of their own family and friends. Acceptable levels of general breakages are fine but just beware of what you will be held liable for. Tip - dont use the BBQ on the last night make sure it is sparkling clean as you will not have time on the last morning to get it to the standard expected and get it checked bythe owners the day before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet peaceful rural area
Liked least: The underhanded nature of the deposit retained
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2012
We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay at Meadow View, I can assure you that all above points have been taken into consideration and amendments to our accommodation and service have been rectified to ensure that all future guests have an amazing stay in our rural gite in France.
As I have previously mentioned only half of the deposit was retained, and this was held against all the damages as well and the disrespectful condition many rooms, equipment and furnishings were left in when the other guests in your party vacated our gite. Due to you leaving several days before the other guests in the party, I do find it hard that you can comment on some of the issues mentioned. It is our normal policy for us you go around the gite with our departing guests to check the condition that it is being left in, but the other guests in your party were very eager to leave and didn't want to go through the gite for the final inspection.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamap
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday, BUT BEWARE....”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The holiday cottage was brilliant, and the owners Bryan and Jane could not have been more accommodating and helpful during our stay. In total there were 10 if us, 6 adults, four kids including baby; and we were very comfortable.
The location is very remote, and it was a beautiful area to have a holiday. The house has been renovated very well for a holiday rental, except for some minor fittings and fixtures that were not in keeping with a property that size. We had an excellent holiday, but it was upon leaving the problems began.
Jane and Bryan decided to retain £125 (half of our deposit) for various items that were disputable at best. We left the property in a very tidy condition, yet they have claimed (amongst other things) we had not cleaned the BBQ coal tray, the white sofas had some marks on them, and we had left "leftovers" to clear up. (The "leftovers" included bottled beer, a bag of potatoes, and some tinned food; which we had not taken for lack of space in the car!). Obviously we have written to them requesting clarification on why they are retaining so much of our deposit, but they have decided to ignore our communications.
So, with regret, I would not advise anyone renting this property, unless you factor in losing half your deposit.
Finally, unlike the majority of other reviewers for this property we did not know Jane and Bryan prior to rental (i.e. friends or relations), and thus our is not a biased view in anyway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: The unfair retention of our deposit
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2012
Firstly all our reviews left on Trip Advisor have been left by actual guests staying in our gite accommodation and are therefore independent and unbiased, and all booked through Holiday lettings.
The deposit was retained from you as we explained in our email sent 2 days after you vacated, along with photographic evidence of the dirt and damage. It was all very clearly stated that we expect the gite to be left in a reasonably clean and tidy state on departure. This certainly wasn’t the case when this family left. Not only had they broke several items of crockery and glassware, they had damaged the bed-settee cushion, broken the toilet seat, and left many items around the property dirty and unhygienic. The ‘leftovers’ were more than just food items, they thought it was acceptable for us to dispose of their numerous wine bottles as well. Therefore half of the deposit was retained for very valid reasons.
We accept all reviews on Trip Advisor as all we want is impartial comments and opinions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tontoeb
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very relaxing weeks holiday.”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fabulous, memorable week in Janaillat. There were 9 of us, 4 adults and 5 children. We found the house to be very clean and well equiped. The house is in quite a remote location, however this was probably the reason why our holiday was so chilled as we didnt feel under pressure to tour around the area. We did some touring later in the week and found the whole area to be beautiful and charming. A car is essential. Brian and Jane were extremely helpful whenever we called on them. During the week there was a problem with the internet connection which was being dealt with. I would thoroughly recommend this property for peaceful enjoyable holiday for a large group of friends or for a large family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house itself
Liked least: leaving at the end of the week
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jopohl200...
Long Lawford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb !”
Reviewed 17 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Jane and Bryan's lovely 4 bed gite for a week. We only wish it could have been longer ! We have been to various gites over the last 10 years in the Dordogne and Limousin regions, but this was by far the best. We travelled with our 19 year old daughter, 18 year old son and 8 year old niece. The pool area is fantastic. The gite has everything you need and more, with REALLY comfy beds. Jane, Bryan and their boys are the perfect hosts, giving you privacy when you want it and on hand when you need them. Nothing was too much trouble. We particularly enjoyed the boozy last night we spent with them ! We arrived as guests and left as friends. Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, our son liked the gym
Liked least: The old door lock, but hey it is an original so not really a problem :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoffCarl...
carlisle
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“peace and relaxation - not for night clubbers”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to relax in the heart of the countryside, look no further. It's not five star luxury but it ticked all our boxes. Five adults and four children (2,4,5 and 7) had a superb time. The swimming pool area was immaculately kept and the children were captivated by the chickens and turkey at the bottom of the garden. The eggs were as I remember them from my country upbringing 60 years ago, tasty with bright yellow yolks, not like todays offerings. Although deep in the countryside the roads were so quiet it was a joy to drive to the local towns of Gueret, Bourganeuf and La Soutteraine. A vist to Limoges was also worth the drive. The hosts, Bryan and Jane were as helpful as needed without intruding, no request was too much, this despite them having a family medical emergency with their eldest son. Pound for pound the best value gite I have stayed in, For bird watchers this is an excellent place, a family of hoopoes presented themselves for inspection several times, buzzards, kestrels and large numbers of common species were to be seen in abundance. Children will love the pony rides from the local stables - at reasonable prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and solitude
Liked least: Two weeks was not enough
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to to go Home
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing and peaceful location
Liked least: The mixed weather for the week we stayed
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing