We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic holiday, would recommend to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers, amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers, amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Front View with Alfresco Dining, ideal for a BBQ or for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening! Heated In-ground pool, surrounded by a large terrace area where you can lay back and admire the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers, amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Front View with Alfresco Dining, ideal for a BBQ or for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening!
Heated In-ground pool, surrounded by a large terrace area where you can lay back and admire the view
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers ,amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Fully Equipped Kitchen with Dishwasher, Fridge, Washer, Cooker, Toaster, Microwave an Coffee Machine
Lounge with Log-burner, 2 very Comfy Sofas, Flat Screen TV, UK Sky, Wi-fi and DVD Player.
Dining Room, with seating for up to 12. Plus a quiet reading corner.
Bedroom 1: Double room, with views across the fields and plenty of storage.
Bedroom 2:  Very Comfortable Four Poster Bedroom, with lots of storage and wonderful views.
Bedroom 2: Very Comfortable Four Poster Bedroom, with lots of storage and wonderful views.
Bedroom 3: Twin / Family Room, with 2 Single beds and a Double Sofa Bed. A lovely spacious room.
Bedroom 3: Twin / Family Room, with 2 Single beds and a Double Sofa Bed. A lovely spacious room.
Bedroom 4: 2nd Floor, Twin/ Family Bedroom, with Velux window with blind, hanging rail and drawers.
Bedroom 4: 2nd Floor, Twin/ Family Bedroom, with Velux window , fan, hanging rail and drawers
Family Bathroom - Very light and spacious room with Bath with Shower, Wash Hand Basin and Toilet.
Family bathroom: With Bath with shower, Wash Hand Basin & Toilet.
Shower Room: With Shower Cubicle, Wash Hand Basin and Toilet.
Large secure garden, with Children's Playarea with playhouse, swings, slide & many more outdoor toys
Zizim Tower Bourganeuf
Relax and  soak up the sun by the heated pool, look out at the amazing views of the valley.
The village of Janaillat, view from the cottage up the lane to the Church.
Lac Courtille in Gueret, only 25mins away.Ideal for picnics, a swim, a leisurely walk or watersports
Tourist Train at Lac de Vassiviere, on the island with Art Gallery and Restaurant. Free taxi-boats.
Inflatables and floats in the water at Lac de Vassiviere.
Autumn views of Janaillat, all the wonderful deep colours make it very picturesque.
The world famous Limousin cattle.
Lake at Saint Dizier Leyrenne, enjoy a lovely walk, picnic or cycle ride.
Lake Saint Pardoux, another picturesque tourist attraction, lovely beaches and watersports.
Shower Room: With Shower Cubicle, Wash Hand Basin and Toilet.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Janaillat, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Denise H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Holiday with Friends spoilt by irrational owners!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Had a great holiday with good friends, while staying in Gite 1, but wouldn’t recommend or stay here again for the following reasons. There is a problem with mice getting in one of kitchen cupboards. We were told ‘that’s country living’, given mouse traps and left to sort ourselves, over our 2 week stay we caught 5! Be aware bedding and towels are not changed after a week, unless you pay an additional charge. We were told to use the washing machine provided. There is no direct access to the pool area from Gite 1, you have to walk along the road, past the front and down the side of Gite 2 to the back garden. Fine for us as our friends were staying in Gite 2 but wouldn’t have liked it otherwise. Beautiful location, but too remote for me, 25 mins drive to supermarket or restaurants. One night, some bad weather caused damage to the patio table of Gite2, as the umbrella hadn’t been taken down. The day after it was discovered, our friends went to see the owners to offer to pay for the damage. The owners response was totally unprofessional, irrational and extremely rude, even using bad language, because they felt they’d taken too long to discuss the issue! Worse still, they kept more of their security deposit than the agreed amount, with a very suspect explanation and no receipt for proof of cost!! Very underhand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
First of all may I just make a point of mentioning that as a result of your friends negligence they caused the said damage, and it was such a shame that they couldn’t admit to this until we showed them the evidence via a photo on the morning of the incident. It was a shame that it took them over 24 hours to even come to us to sort the issue out. The amount of the damage was agreed to be taken from their “damage deposit” and they never mentioned seeing proof of purchase whilst they were here, even when offered! We always do a full walk through gîte on checkout to establish any breakage etc. We do appreciate any breakage or damages are brought to our attention whilst here during the stay.
The access to the pool from gite 1, is a very short walk along the quiet lane to the back garden. After running the gîtes now for 4 years nobody staying in gîte one or gîte 2 has ever found this a problem.
As for the mice, well when food is left out and not cleaned away you are just giving them a free lunch. Maybe if your hygiene habits had been better then they wouldn’t have come.
We are glad that your had a lovely holiday and stay at our property, and thank you for the lovely comments you left in our guest book. We were more than happy to give you help, recommendations and directions to assist you to enjoy this wonderful part of the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic holiday, would recommend to anyone.”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from an incredible two weeks. The accommodation, pool and hospitality was absolutely faultless. We arrived to a very warm welcome by the gite owners and nothing was too much trouble. If you are after a relaxing holiday with amazing scenery Meadow View Gites are the place for you. There is so much to see within a short drive away or you can just relax by the pool. We often sat outside the front of the gite in the evening drinking local wines and watching the world go by. Perfect. Would not hesitate to book again an would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and homely feel.
Liked least: Nothing. A faultless two weeks away.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you all and we look forward to you returning sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a beautiful and peaceful region. Unfortunately, this memory has been a bit spoilt afterwards...”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had an amazing long weekend with friends in this lovely gite.
We haven't had a chance to meet Jane or Bryan during our stay but the neighbor who was coming everyday to close the swimming pool was very friendly.
The village is very cute and very quiet so the stay was perfect for a relaxing long weekend.
Unfortunately, I had an unpleasant phone call and email afterwards saying some items were missing in the house. Even if they have eventually found them and apologized, I can't say this was pleasant to me. I also had to ask for the reimbursement of the bond because it had not been done 3 weeks after the due date... So to sum up: Perfect stay spoilt a bit afterwards.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments, It is not usual for us to not host our guests, and we were only away because it was my 40th Birthday and we had celebrations in the UK. We are sorry we were not around for your stay. The confusion with the missing items was caused by our neighbour who we left in charge and we can only apologise again for the misunderstanding. As for the damage deposit this was held back by Holiday Lettings and not by ourselves, as they appeared to have had a technical issue on their system. Again I can only apologise on their behalf. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Meadow View Gites.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaglesroc...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely little piece of rural France.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A nice clean well equipped gite with a lovely heated pool over looking quaint french countryside. Our hosts were very helpful & friendly. We had a lovely stay at Meadow View Gite!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judep2005
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing holiday , amazing hosts , wonderful gite home from home , we couldn't of asked for better hosts Bryan n Jayne rescued us on our first nite when we were lost they are such a lovely family , the gite had everything we needed from kitchen utensils to a blow up volley ball net for the pool ,everything has been thought of ,it was very clean especially the bedding and towels and the beds were sooooo comfy,.Meadow viev is in a quaint little village a beautiful location and the people who live there are very friendly , every one who passed us as we sat outside spoke ,it was an idyllic holiday home swimming pool home from home , log burner for the cooler nights and most of all wonderful hosts.Definatley going to return ,,,,thanks Housley family for a wonderful time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: THE LOCAtion and the hosts
Liked least: there is nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntmandy
Redhill
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant 2 weeks in the gite and the creuse region. Absolutely loved it”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A completely different type of holiday for us. Relaxing and enjoying the countryside was what we expected but we found so much to do and see that the 2 weeks whizzed by. The gite is lovely and suited us just right. Enough space for a family of 5 and well equipped so not much had to come out of my holiday bag of utensils. Bryan and Jane were very helpful both around the gite (light bulbs changed immediately) and in the area with what to do and where to go. We are not ones to eat outside so we found the time spent outside the front of the house very pleasant as the locals say hello and it's not busy. Kids played badminton and scooted most evenings! Rush hour involves a tractor and a car over a long period so it's lovely with the views over the country side. A really lovely place to holiday with the owners working hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Cold Floors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry m
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As described.”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I based myself here whilst looking at property. Bryan and Jane know just about all there is to know about the reality of buying a property in the Limousin. They know a lot about all facets of life in France whether it's getting your car insured and registered here or arranging transfer to the local medical system. Importantly they enjoy assisting newcomers to the country. The accommodation offered is very good, it's spotlessly clean and exceptionally well equipped and if you have a problem it's resolved very quickly. These guys really want you to enjoy your stay and they work hard to ensure that that's what happens. Much more personal than a hotel - a good place to stay -Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing