We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and relaxing in rural france.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bluebell Cottage looking out onto the vast green valley of Janaillat.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluebell Cottage looking out onto the vast green valley of Janaillat.
Pool area with relaxing sun-loungers and amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days. Heated pool and terrace area, relax reading a book or just gaze out to the amazing views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Bluebell Cottage looking out onto the vast green valley of Janaillat.
Pool area with relaxing sun-loungers and amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days.
Heated pool and terrace area, relax reading a book or just gaze out to the amazing views.
Large secure garden, with Children's Playarea, with playhouse, swings, slide and lots more toys.
Lounge with two large comfy sofas, Digital TV,DVD Player, Log Burner, I dock, games and books.
Fully Equipped with Dishwasher, Fridge, Washing Machine, Microwave, Cooker/Grill and Coffee Machine.
Fully Equipped Kitchen with direct access to the alfresco dining area & BBQ.
Dining Room to seat 10 people with Log Burner. We can also provide a highchair.
Bedroom 1: Double Room with amazing views, lots of original features & plenty of storage.
Bedrom 2: Double Room, with original beams, lovely views of the valley and ample storage.
Bedroom 3: Twin/Family Room, 2 Singles and a Double Sofa Bed, lots of Hanging and Drawer Storage.
Bedroom 4: Twin Room, with Velux window with blackout blind, Storage & electric heating.
Bathroom 2: with shower over bath, toilet and hand basin.
Bathroom 1: with Bath with Shower over, Toilet and Wash Hand Basin.
Relax & soak up the sun around the heated pool, whilst looking out on the amazing views.
Large Secure Garden at the rear of the property. We have swings, Football, Basketball,Badminton etc.
Views across the fields, there are lovely walks and cycling routes through the woodlands.
Lac Courtille in Gueret, only 25 mins away. Ideal for picnics, swimming or a leisurely walk
Lac de Vassiviere....with watersports, beaches or enjoy a & plat de jour& at the many restaurants.
Beach at Lac de Vassiviere, with Cafes, Restaurants and Watersports.
Tourist Train at Lac de Vassiviere, which transports you from the mainland to the island.
Zizim Tower in Bourganeuf, the nearest town with Supermarkets, Banks, cafes and Restaurants.
Inflatables & floats in the water at Lac de Vassiviere....loads of fun!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Janaillat, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicky V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing in rural france.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Located in a small hamlet surrounded by fields, this really is rural france yet only 15 mins from Bourganeuf and 25 mins from Gueret for shops.
The properties and facilities are fantastic, to be honest the pictures don't do it justice, I was amazed to see a egg slicer!
If you want somewhere to relax this is perfect place.
Only 50 mins away is Lac de Vassiere - a must visit for a day out.
Brian, Jane and their 2 sons are very friendly and helpful advising us well on places.
What more can I say, book up and you won't be disappointed.
We'll definately be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, homely accommodation.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

From the minute we arrived our hosts made us feel very welcome and that continued throughout our holiday. The accommodation was lovely... A real authentic, French property with character in abundance. I think the only negative about the property was the close proximity of the 2nd villa. Luckily we had a lovely group in the house next door! The equipment in the property was fine... Everything you need with the exception of a dishwasher. I know, I know... Who needs those sorts of luxuries on a holiday? Well I would rather spend my time sat under the stars with a glass of wine than being stood at the sink. Just a minor gripe though.
The pool area was very spacious and fantastic views. I don't think I'd go on a 'share a pool' holiday again. I just prefer having more control over when and how we use the pool. It'd be nice to have access to the pool lights as well... A midnight dip is great fun but just wasn't possible without disturbing the hosts.
The local area was ok.... There are some fantastic lakes nearby. If the sun is shining, make sure you visit a lake... The kids will have a ball.
There seemed to be a lack of local, family orientated, quality restaurants. We tried to find one on the last night and ended up in La Grand Bourg pizzeria. Don't go! It was horrendous. We only went because we couldn't get in the nice restaurant but the service was shocking and the food wasn't much better.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday and we would certainly reccommend this villa to friends and family.
Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners were very friendly and very open to our needs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mandy M
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic relaxing family holiday location.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful gite was very spacious and well equipped to feel like “home-from-home”. It was spotlessly clean and well-coordinated.

The views from all aspects were amazing and it was so nice to eat outdoors whilst enjoying the fresh country air. The access to the pool area was good as we had small children and they could be watched whist we ate on the terrace. The pool and terrace area was very clean and inviting. They also provided a selection of toys for the children to play with which was much appreciated.

The owners Jane & Bryan were very helpful and friendly, as were their two boys Alex & James. The welcome pack was a god send as was the complimentary pizza meal they cooked for our first evening meal, this took a lot of pressure off after the drive over.

The location was good also, as we were not far from the pretty towns of Bourganeuf, Benevent and Gueret. We visited the lakes at Courtille in Gueret and Vassiviere, both had lovely beaches for the kids to play on the sand and paddle in the water.

The village of Janaillat is very quiet and relaxing, and it was so nice to take a relaxing walk or bike ride around the country lanes and on the dirt tracks through the woods.

This is an excellent gite and is ideal for a large family or two families holidaying together. We hope to come again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heated pool was lovely, and the views over the valley were amazing.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$199
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing