We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great get away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed a week and never left the hotel property except by boat to go snorkeling, or to visit the adjacent small islands. We snorkeled from the dive boat operated by a company associated with the hotel. We saw lots of colourful little fish and coral. The divers reported seeing the same things plus a few bigger fish... Everyone was always delighted with their time in the water.

The restaurant menu had just enough variety that we could manage a week's worth of meals without feeling like we were eating Nasi Goring all the time. The food was good. The staff were attentive and friendly.

There was a decent reading light in our room!

Another guest complained to me that the hotel was too far from anything, but I thought he would make that complaint about any hotel on Lombok. The nearest chain coffee shops and burger joints are on another island... and yes, the villages near the hotel are squalid third world places, but that isn't the hotel's fault. We liked the fact the hotel was out of the way, it forced us to slow down and unwind. We enjoyed an entire week without going anywhere in a car, and even managed to avoid turning on the TV in our room (except to watch the royal wedding).

Room Tip: Beachside villas have plunge pools ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnK017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have just returned from staying here for 5 days. After a long hot drive from Sengiggi we were welcomed by Iwan the General Manager and his team. Introduced to our room which was traditional Balinese style comfortable with outside shower. We were very happy with the room and the service we received. Iwan spoke to us daily and was very knowledgeable as he is from Indonesia and has vast experience in the hotel industry he could do nothing more for us and even accompanied us on our journey back to the airport when we left. We enjoyed five relaxing days with great weather and loved the style of the place. the only things to consider here are its location as there is nothing else outisde the resort...and the food menu after a few days became somehat uninspiring. Having said that the food was always fresh and on the whole we got great service from the restaurant team. Aas the resort is remote in the south of Lombok all produce comes from Sengiggi (an hour and a half away) or Bali and when they run out of produce and wine(!) when its gone its gone until someone goes and buys some more!. Having said that this wasty too such of an inconvenience. We would recommend this hotel and the outside shower was amazing as was the oddesey divers centre who arranged our trips out to see more of the lovely Gili islands.

Room Tip: Go see Gili Nanngu you can see it from the resortt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLeeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Knew very little about the location but was looking for somewhere to relax and unwind.
We found the right place. It has wonderful outlook over a white sandy beach, coconut trees, mountains in the background picture postcard stuff! Whilst the location limits your choice of restaurants you should not be disappointed with choices on offer. We still believe there should be a separte Lunch and Dinner Menu but it did not spoil anything.
We were picked up from the airport with a cold towel and water waiting for us in the car.
Escorted to the room and every facet was explained something the five stars have even forgotten when it comes to customer service. The rooms are more than adequate, clean, serviced well and we were not left wanting for much even though the mini bar prices seemed excessive. All the staff whilst not having a massive command of English were so friendly and willing to please nothing seemed to matter. Just relax enjoy the experience and you will like we did quickly warm to them. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The GM had great PR and certainly checked that everything was in order.

Room Tip: Go for Ocean & Pool View Room as a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricksusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Have read the reviews for this resort and am surprised by the glowing reports. We went late last year and were quite disappointed. The rooms are huge and well decorated but you can hear the people next door. Few rooms have a view to the beach or sea which is sad as it's a gorgeous location. Service at reception and in the restaurant is really lax and we thought the food was average and over priced. Drinks were expensive too.

It's also a really long way from the airport and as we booked in for only two nights that was a nuisance. Anyway, maybe some people would like it but it wasn't for us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieK2.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed for nine days at Cocotinos Sekotong while working on a project in the area. This hotel exceeded all expectations! Location is in an as yet mostly undeveloped area, there are a few small, low-budget hotels and retreats around but Cocotinos is the first to have all facilities like internet, aircondition etc etc. Beautiful design, which is still also very functional. It is very quiet, only a small village nearby so there is no nightlife. This also means that you depend on the hotel restaurant for all meals. Good breakfast. The Indonesian menu was also quite good, well prepared dishes but with a remarkable lack of fish and seafood - I was, however, promised that this would change before my next visit! The prices for food and, especially, drinks are above average but not outrageous - most of it has to be transported from Mataram which is more than one hour away, on bad roads. The staff are mostly local, and may not be the most experienced - but what they may lack in experience and professionalism is more than compensated for by their enthusiasm, friendliness and helpfulness!
The rooms are spacious, very clean and I was delighted to find flowers just about everywhere after cleaning! The bed was very comfortable. Flatscreen TV with just enough cable channels that worked very well. The bathroom was wonderful - large and with both indoor and outdoor showers. There was no sanitary bin by the toilet, however, and this may cause some problems..Environmental responsibility is shown by dispensers for drinking water, soap, shampoo etc.
The swimming pool is very good, and large enough to actually swim in.. There is a beach in front of the hotel, and it is possible to snorkel from there, but better to rent the boat and go to nearby Gili Nanggu, or more distant Gili Renggit - both of these islands have world-class snorkelling and diving. I did not have the time to dive during my stay, but that has been reviewed by others. The operator, Oddysea divers, were very professional and - again - friendliness is a trademark of this resort, this also applies to the diving operator.
There is free internet in the restaurant, the connection is not very fast but there is not much that the hotel can do about that - this is a very remote area in many ways.
My stay at Cocotinos was during the very low season in February, and a large part of the time I was the only guest - and I was treated like a queen! I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammy055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I had an opportunity to spend a night at cocotinos..and was very much surprised to find the resort very warm, exotic, and serene. I had a terrace view room (must get atleast this category) which had an outdoor shower. The entire property is well maintained with flowers and beautiful garden. The room is furnished with beautiful local wood and local materials. It had coffee maker, sitting area in room and on porch. The food was excellent and bar is located right on beach. The resort has its own dive facility and boat for divers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This newly opened resort is special -- from walking on the beach trying to find the biggest shell ( ours is now on the bar), lazing around the pool, gazing over the sea with a drink in hand, coming in from a dive to be greeted with the smiling faces of the staff with a cold towel ready for you. The staff all try to please and will do their best to make sure your stay is perfect for you.
Odessey Divers the company who run the dive centre are fantastic, both our children have done dive courses with them, here and in the sister resort in Manado.

As with all new ventures, there are some things which need improvement but not much. Food waiting time is one but we weren't going anywhere and had no need to hurry. Many of the staff are local and new to the resort industry. They are so willing to please.
The resort, and rooms are beautifully kept with lots of little touched to make it feel great.
The resort is remote but maybe won't be in a few years so if you want a little time in your own peaceful haven.....

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waggydivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desa Sekotong Barat
17.8 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,620 reviews
17.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
18.4 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,937 reviews
16.4 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 29 in Senggigi
947 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sheraton Senggigi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Dusun Pandanan, Desa Sekotong Barat, Lombok 83000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Desa Sekotong Barat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Desa Sekotong Barat
Price Range: £60 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Sekotong, a boutique beach resort and spa, is set amidst a coconut grove in Sekotong Bay on the south-west corner of Lombok Island, overlooking Gili Nanggu, Gili Sudak and Gili Tangkong. The 3.2-hectare resort captures the tranquility and serenity of the region. Blessed with over 300 meters of private white-sand beach, the resort is the perfect getaway for romantic couples and families who want a holiday away from the crowds. Cocotinos also boasts the Laleina Spa and a sea sports centre run by Odyssea Divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing