We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here for 4days and 3 nights. We found this place very nice, friendly and relaxing. The food was excellent. the beach was very nice and was cleaned every morning. The snorkeling outside the resort was ok. we stayed over new year and the resort arranged a very nice party for the guest with barbecue, live band and fireworks. We stayed in a garden view villa which was very nice. good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kullarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great review of our resort.
It was our pleasure to have been of service. Our New-Year's Eve party with barbecue, live band and fire works is something we always do at that time of the year. We are glad that you enjoyed it.
The Garden View villa is our typical room and was designed to be chi and comfortable for the present-day traveler. We are glad you liked it.
Great snorkeling can be found not far from the resort away at Gili Nanggu and great diving is available around Gili Rengit about thirty minutes by boat.
We hope you will have the time to enjoy more snorkeling and diving during your next trip.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I decided to stay 6 nights at Cocotinos in Lombok. As we have been to Bali a few times - we thought we’d give Lombok a shot.

We were picked up from the airport as I had arranged a return transfer through the hotel - the drive was about 75 mins and we also stopped at a convenience store along the way. As noted in the homepage of Cocotinos, the resort is rather isolated, which for us was fine, but it may not suit those looking for some action.

Check-in was smooth and staff most friendly. Our room was number 5, which is the Water’s Edge Villa. The room itself was very comfy with a small plunge pool and decent sized verandah with day bed and 2 chairs and table overlooking the ocean. Staff brought welcome drinks and cold towels to the room - a lovely touch. A welcome amenity of fresh fruit was ready and waiting too. As it is a relatively newish hotel, everything is in good condition. No complaints room wise.

Swimming in the ocean; we were stung by perhaps jelly fish - I can’t be sure they were jelly fish, but nonetheless, my wife and I had to retreat from the water, needless to say, we didn’t venture back in. Be aware if you do go swimming there.

As Cocotinos is a small resort, there is only 1 restaurant, which is fine. Breakfast was usually a la carte, and reasonably good. However, many items on the menu for dinner were average at best, which I think is not acceptable given the remoteness of the resort and the fact that guests must dine in the hotel - there are no other dining options. My wife, I and a friend who stayed at the resort, all came to the same conclusion - the food was a bit dissapointing. I hope the owners and/or management will address this; as other reviews here on TripAdvisor have also noted. Even though occupancy was low, instead of the usual menu, why not offer a BBQ for the guests? something a little more rousing.

All staff at the resort were keen and eager at all times. No complaints with the staff.

I do recommend Cocotinos for anyone who would like to escape the rat-race and enjoy an idyllic boutique resort located on the beach. I just hope some improvements are made regarding the dining experience for the guest.

Room Tip: Go for the Water’s Edge Villa - room 5 was quite private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Reviewer

My thanks to you and your wife for staying with us for 6 nights. And I thank you for your fair and honest review of our resort. We are happy that you found our Water's Edge Villa with its private plunge-pool comfortable and lovely.
We are sorry that you were stung by something in the sea (perhaps jelly fish) as this is very unusual and we have not heard of another case.
Thank you for your frank comments on the food. We have, since your stay, revamped our kitchen and employed new chefs to improve the taste experience in our restaurant. We are always trying to improve in every way. Please come again.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We only stayed for one night as we were continuing our journey the next day. Looking back, we should have just stayed at Cocotino's. The hotel is beautifully-designed on a small, relaxed beach in southwest Lombok. After an hour's drive from the airport, we were thrilled to see our well-equipped room with gorgeous wooden furniture and accents, the cute patio area, and the outdoor shower. The bed was very comfortable, and all of the linens were of good quality. The beach is small and pebbly, but there are chairs provided, and the pool looked quite nice. We only ate breakfast during our stay, but we were really pleased with the large servings and good quality. The prices for other food items seemed a bit high as were the prices for excursions and spa services, but if you are looking to relax in an undeveloped part of Lombok, Cocotino's is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trubeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking your time to do a review of our resort after only a one-night stay.
We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and found our location to be acceptable even though it is an hour's drive from the airport. We are a hideaway resort and every attention was given to make sure that the rooms and the gardens were well designed to provide a cozy and comfortable stay.
We hope to see you again. Please plan a longer stay the next time.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Me & my friends were driving by the Sekotong area when we found this hotel. The area is nice and clean. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. But my favorite is the tranquility, perfect to let go of your stress and relax the whole day. The beach is nice and clean The food is so so, but the staffs are very friendly and the beach is very beautiful. The biggest let down is that there's no fresh water available.
This place is far away from the city but I'm okay with that since it's exactly what we were looking for. However, if you are planning to go to places like Sade, Sukarare village, senggigi, or pearl farm, you might need to consider to stay in other areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mardliahaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of our Cocotinos Resort. As you found our resort is ideal for those seeking a place either to relax and chill out the whole day on our white sand beach or visit the adjacent islands. With regards to the water at the resort it is from our own deep well located in the local aquifer, which presently is the only source of water in the Sekotong area and has a slight mineral content and as you will have noticed we have fresh drinking water containers in all of our rooms. (This also helps in reducing the amount of plastic drinking water bottles which are used). The local government is presently laying a fresh water main to the Sekotong area so hopefully we will have government supplied fresh water in the near future.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review it was appreciated by me and my staff. Please come and stay with us again soon since you now know where we are.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Just departed from Cocotinos two days ago.....and only complaint that I have was too short a stay. IF I would known how nice and how beautiful the resort was, I would have extended for few more days. If you are looking for a relaxing stay with wonderful staff that cannot do enough for you, then you must book Cocotinos. Get away from the noise and the crowds of the Gili's up north and sit back and relax at Cocotinos. I don't usually post on trip advisor coz I think the very few negative comments disturb me. Maybe these guests are not happy with themselves. I only met happy guests at this resort and the excellent management and friendly staff made me feel right at home. I can't wait to return later in the year and book with Mosley at Dive Shop. These guys do a excellent job. Thanks everyone at Cocotinos for a truly relaxing experience in Lombok.

Frank L. Vogt III
USA

Room Tip: Book a Villa on the beach. Excellent value for just a few dollars more. Drinking coffee at sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whereisbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear reviewer.
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, which you say is a thing that you don’t normally do, making your review all the more important to us. As you commented on in your review our location is ideal for those wanting to get away from the hassle unfortunately experienced nowadays in Bali and here in Lombok around the Northern Gili’s and the Sengigi area.
Our location was chosen by our owner for the beauty of its beach and the adjacent islands and its location away from sprawl of the other major hotel complexes. We appreciate that this may not be to everyone’s taste, but in these days of the internet it is easy to do a bit of research before booking any hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again later this year and I am sure our dive staff will be glad to show you some of the new dive sites that Mosley and the rest of the dive crew have discovered recently.
Again thank you for your review it was very much appreciated.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just couldn't get any sleep with noise. Breakfast selecction ran out early. Pretty expensive for what it is. The location seems pretty far from anything touristy. Front office seemed understandign of our problems but couldnt solve anything. I wish I had booked a place that's bit more established or part of chain but some boutiquey things just don't work out I guess.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Md C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear reviewer,
First of all may I apologize for the noise and disturbance that you experienced during your stay. I can assure you that we are normally noted for the quiet and relaxing atmosphere at our resort. Unfortunately we had a last minute booking from a film crew from Hong Kong who were filming in the Sekotong area and who turned out to be a lot noisier than our usual guests. Needless to say we will not be accepting booking from this group again.
We hope that if you are visiting Lombok again and are looking for a resort to relax and kick back away from the main hotel strips that you will consider us. But we do appreciate that if you are looking for a hotel close to bars and night clubs we may not be the most suitable hotel for you.

Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed there one night last week and checked out next morning. No fresh water. Very bad food. Extreeeemely slow service though staffs were genuinely friendly. Aircon in room did not work properly. When asked to talk to manager, was told he was not present when in fact the man was sitting in the restaurant. When we found out and complaint he was defensive, argued and walked away. Total lack of professionalism. As we drove out we saw some illegal gold mining activities and suspected they were the reason why this resort could not get fresh water.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globescourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear Reviewer,

It is regrettable that you did not enjoy your one night stay with us. We are at a loss because we have had many happy guests who stayed with us for more than 2 weeks and had enjoyed themselves thoroughly. For the record, we would like to point out a few things.

You checked-in in the afternoon the day before your check-out the following morning. We never heard any complaints from you until the time of your check-out, at which point you were already very unhappy and had many things to complain about and wanted to see me the General Manager. If you had let me know the day before whether there was anything we could do to make your stay more comfortable, we would have done our best to accommodate your requests. By the time you complained, it was already too late for us to do anything as you were already checking-out.

We note from our record that you only ordered vegetarian food for your evening meal. We wish you had informed us prior to your stay so we could have made a special effort to meet your dietary needs. Our non-vegetarian menu is quite extensive and delicious, and we have had many guests who have gone into our kitchen to learn how to cook our special dishes. We must admit our vegetarian selection is rather limited but we are trying to improve on this.

You also complained about noise in your bedroom which was due to an exterior water feature in your private plunge pool. This could have easily been turned off if you had given us a call. However you said you did not want to disturb us during the night. You also mentioned that there was noise from a gecko lizard which you found “irritating”, but the gecko is the symbol of indigenous Lombok fauna and as a wild animal, we have no control over it. However, many of our guests consider it a privilege to be so close to nature and to see one of these gecko on a coconut tree outside their villa, even if it’s call can be annoying.

At the time of your check-in our front desk staff already informed you that the pipe water is slightly salty. We do not have government supply and we get our water from a deep well which has a mineral content in the water. The tap water is not sea water.

Again, many of our guests who stayed with us before understand the constraints of staying in a hide-away resort and they accept the quality of the water. Many other parts of Lombok face the same problem as we do with water but many travelers consider this a small inconvenience given the chance to stay in a remote but beautiful location.

You also complained to me at the point of check-out that the price was too high for the Villa you stayed in. The price of the villa on the internet was very clear when you made your booking and there was a selection of other rooms that were less expensive. Perhaps you could have chosen a room that was less expensive and more suitable to your needs.

If you had stayed longer, we would have had the opportunity to look into your complaints and try our very best to accommodate your requests. It is our policy to give personalize service as far as possible and within reason to make every stay a memorable one. I hope your holiday was not entirely in vain and that you found a resort that better suited your needs.
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desa Sekotong Barat
17.8 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,621 reviews
17.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
18.4 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,938 reviews
16.4 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 29 in Senggigi
948 reviews
19.1 mi away
Living Asia Resort and Spa Lombok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Dusun Pandanan, Desa Sekotong Barat, Lombok 83000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Desa Sekotong Barat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Desa Sekotong Barat
Price Range: £60 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Sekotong, a boutique beach resort and spa, is set amidst a coconut grove in Sekotong Bay on the south-west corner of Lombok Island, overlooking Gili Nanggu, Gili Sudak and Gili Tangkong. The 3.2-hectare resort captures the tranquility and serenity of the region. Blessed with over 300 meters of private white-sand beach, the resort is the perfect getaway for romantic couples and families who want a holiday away from the crowds. Cocotinos also boasts the Laleina Spa and a sea sports centre run by Odyssea Divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing