We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lombok Boutique Resort - Cocotinos Sekotong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As usual, we booked this pretty last minute as my wife wants to see hammerheads, this time round, so we only booked it one week earlier, the only thing we did right was to speak to Martinus - GM/Director of Cocotinos Manado, as we are regulars divers with Odyssea Divers and had stay with Martinus, we got a good rate with him, so it pays to be regulars and using one brand, membership has its privileges.

Now, our other problem was due to the last minute, we could not use our redemption miles on economy class, so we ended on using more miles on business class, not that I am complaining but business class on MI (Silkair) is different from SQ (Singapore Airlines) as the services just isn't there, in fact, throughout the flight, we had economy class passengers walking up and down the aisle using the toilets, as we are frequent flyers, we do not even dare use the business class toilet, but I guess, it just boils down to the flight attendants, so thumbs down for MI.

Back to Cocotinos Sekotong, we were greeted at the airport by a pleasant airport rep and driver and was driven to the resort, which is 75minutes away, as we arrived on MI in the night, we didn't see much of the scenery.

As a regular to its sister resort in Manado, we were greeted like regulars to this resort, and ushered to our room, we booked a terrace room but was upgraded to a garden room, which had an outdoor shower and the room is much bigger, we totally enjoyed the upgrade. The room is spacious and very nice, it is similar in style to its sister in Manado, in fact, the whole layout is same as Mando from the reception, to restaurant, to room, only different is 1) location which is great as the dive sites are all nearby, 2) food is really very good, as compare to its sister, we love the food here, we were wondering if we can request for the Lombok chef to be at Manado, when we visit them next year, 3) sleep, was good as we didn't have the villagers next to us, but there is a road, and is quiet most of the them, 4) a beach which we can hang out and snorkel too, 5) dive centre operations is similar to its sister but different as Zainal runs the operations differently and efficiently, we were happy to have Mamang as our dive guide and as I am a photographer with his keen eyes, he spotted a lot of creatures for us. By the way, his 'master' is James from its sister property in Manado, another good spotter of creatures. In fact, Mamang, was given a subject list of creatures, that I will be shooting this time, and there were only two that we didn't find - Leaf Fish and a Pink Frog Fish.

As we traveled in October, we plan to dive at Belongas to see the hammerheads, and had booked for a one day dive there, it is consider off-season, we changed our minds, and stay through for our 7 dives (4day/3nights) of diving with Zainal and his team. On our first two days of diving, it was virtually private diving but on the third day, we had another two couples with us for diving, as we were using Nitrox, we did our own diving with Mamang, as it was simply wonderful for us.

So if you plan to stay in Lombok - STAY WITH LOMBOK BOUTIQUE RESORT - Cocotinos Sekotong, where you find good food, wonderful accommodation, great hospitality and for divers an excellent diving experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruiserSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddy I, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

"Dear Cruiser SG

Many thanks for choosing to stay and dive with us after your numerous trips to our sister resort in Manado. As you discovered, although we are primarily a leizure resort with scuba-diving facilities, as opposed to our sister resort in Manado which is primarily a dive resort with leizure activities, we can still offer a great diving holiday over here in the Sekotong Bay area of South-West Lombok. Our rooms are bigger and more luxurious (mostly with outdoor shower) because the resort is built on a much larger piece of land than that of our sister resort in Lombok. We are very glad you enjoy your stay overall, and the food and diving especially. Diving is our forte. We can find critters for avid underwater photographers in a responsible way as we must look after the reefs .

We would like to receive more divers from Singapore. The reefs over here are still in excellent condition. Please pass on the good news to your friends in the dive community and we look forward to your next visit."
Warmest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have been to many resorts in Asia and many are nice but Cocotinos is special. The room rate is also very reasonable for the type of room and level of luxury offered. I am not much of a beach person but I really enjoyed the boat trips to the lovely island and the snorkeling was great. This place feels special because the staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to meet your requests. Here you do not have the usual 3 pools and heaps of food during breakfast like in a big resort in Bali but there is enough variety every morning and there is the plus point that you are not having breakfast with 250 other people every morning. Here the staff remember your name, with only little English, they try their best.

The hours spent on the patio reading, relaxing and overlooking the sea was the best part of my trip. The food was tasty without being fancy, grilled fish is best. the setting up of the daily complimentary afternoon tea at pool side remind me to go for a break after a few hours reading! Beach is clean most days but occasionally heaps of corals being washed up and you would have to walk with a good pair of beach slippers.

I took a trip south with others and saw two or three wonderful, rugged beaches. Lombok is great if you like what nature has to offer. Cocotinos is quiet and feels like a part of nature. Great place to get away from stress and simply relax. If you like “busy-busy” place, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Garden rooms at the back - less traffic compare with the first row garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynmlin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddy I, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed stay with us. Lombok is quite a big island, with many small islands or 'gilis' along it coastline. Where we are in South West Lombok, there are 13 small gilis and your boating trip probably brought you to some of them. Gili Nanggu facing us is famous for great snorkeling. Our resort is indeed blessed to be built so close to nature, in a relatively unspoiled location. The beaches over here are intricate and follow the winding coastline. Beyond the 300m of beach fringing the resort, there's another 500 meters of quiet, pristine beach on to the left. Our resort's beach is swept everyday and we collect the corals regularly so that the beach is nice to walk on. As a matter of fact, we had just done one such exercise recently. But the sea will always wash more corals and shells ashore; many of our guests actually enjoy collecting seashells during their stay. The spectacular beaches you saw in the South are wider and longer, and look rugged because big waves pound the rocky promontories from time to time. Sekotong Bay is protected, and so we do not get big waves most of the year. Neither are we in the path of any major storms. Please tell all your friends who love nature about us and we hope to see you again soon.
Warmest regards from us here in Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a great time at the resort. They made my 50th special. Staff is super friendly. Rooms are clean and neat. Food is great. Most dive trips are 3 tanks with hot lunch served on board. Crew takes great care of you and your gear!

Room Tip: Resort is located right in front of a small village. To us this made our visit there even more speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherridee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddy I, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

You appear to have uploaded your review here but you actually stayed at our sister resort in Manado. Martinus, the general manager of Cocotinos Manado would like to say a big thank you for giving them such a good review. They gave you a T-shirt for your 50th dive. Over here at Cocotinos-Sekotong in Lombok we are primarily a leizure resort with diving facilities whereas Cocotino Manado is a specialist dive resort. However, we would have given you just as good a time as we belong to the same group and believe in giving all our guests the same warm and friendly service you experienced over there. We hope that on your next dive trip you would choose to visit us here in Lombok. The diving over here is different than that in Manado but the corals in the Sekotong area are also in great condition. We can guarantee you a great time diving. Furthermore our resort , being the second Cocotinos, is built on a much larger piece of land amidst an old coconut grove on a white-sand beach, which would offer you a grander resort experience. Please feel free to contact us anytime.
Warmest Regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights with my girlfriend; the rooms were very good, as was the restaurant.

Worth noting the water sports centre, good selection of windsurfing boards, very helpful staff and a good dive school.

There is also an island across the bay (Gbp 5 for a return boat ride there) with great snorkling.

For $120 a night, couldn't fault it

Room Tip: Choose a room near the pool, away from the road as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddy I, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you.
We are glad you liked our resort and gave us top marks. We try our best to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us. We are specialists in scuba diving, but our owner is also a keen windsurfer. That is why our windsurfing equipment is of such good quality. We are not the cheapest resort in the area but we believe in giving good value to our guests. Many of our guests have told us that our resort offers an experience that one could only find in resorts that charge a lot more for their rooms. Please come again and tell others ...... windsurfers, kite surfers (bring your own kite) .... they will simply love it when the wind is up at certain times of the year.
Warmest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

staff was so friendly always, view from resort was just great, right next to the beach. Also very nice place for diving, can see big turtle, stingray, frog fish, sea horse and others!
Very relaxing absolutely amazing place, don't forget Cocotinos Lombok !

Location is far from the airport, but it could be good for you to avoid any noisy..it takes around 1hr or so, so I rate the location as 4 starts..:)
If I can go to lombok again, will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Good place for family, couples..but especially divers !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoHee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddy I, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review and giving us 5 stars. Your villa was on the water's edge with a great view of the bay and the three small islands (Gili Nanggu, Gili Tangkong and Gili Sudak). You chose one of our best villas with a private plunge pool. We are happy you enjoy your stay. Our resort is 58 KM from the airport and it takes one hour and fifteen minutes to get here but I am sure you will agree that the drive through the rice fields and along the winding coast line more than makes up for the time. We are not the furthest. Many other resorts are further from the airport (more than two hours away) as Lombok is a bigger island than most people realize. Thank you for staying with us and please come back again with friends."
Kindest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The room are bigs and very comfortable and clean.
The staffs are all friendly.
I didn't expect much for diving but it actually has a very good macro life and good visibility.
Love to spend more time there.

Room Tip: Garden room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huiscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddy I, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to do a great review of our resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be very comfortable and clean.
A lot of effort was made by the owner to design the entire resort so that it is chic and comfortable, and works for both divers and non-divers. The diving in the Sekotong area is still largely unknown to most divers around the world and we are actively promoting our resort as a dive destination. That is why you found the diving to be better than expected with good macro critters. The reefs here are different from those in Manado which you are familiar with, not as spectacular perhaps but still very beautiful and in pristine condition. Please come again and bring more of your diving buddies from Thailand."
Warmest regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I decide to do a Bali Lombok combination trip this year. For Bali I stayed in Ubud for the cool and the craft and art. For Lombok I came back to Cocotinos Sekotong. My second trip here and wow what a beautiful experience again! I stayed in a Garden Room again. It was just as comfortable as before and suits my budget. Not so expensive for the quality and luxury, much better than my hotel in Ubud.

The fried banana dessert was just as good as before. The complimentary afternoon tea was really great! There is also wifi now in the whole lobby and it is free! I was told they have a new provider. I did some work on my covered patio outside my room and the wifi was good and stable.

On the last morning I did my sun salute at the end of the jetty. I was almost overwhelmed with tears knowing I had to leave. Thank you Cocotinos for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank may1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IwanSitompul, General Manager at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for visiting us for the second time and taking the time to do a review of our resort. We now have a new pastry chef and she is making wonderful cookies, cakes, bread and other tidbits. That is why our afternoon tea is getting more exciting. Our pisang goreng is our favorite dessert for guests as we grow our own bananas in the resort.
We now have WIFI internet connection in the entire resort, from the lobby to the restaurant and to all the rooms. Our new WIFI has much better signal strength and stability, but weather could still cause some disruptions.

We love repeat guests. Please come again and enjoy the tranquility of our location. The magnificent sunrise at the end of our jetty will always be there for you every morning.

Best regards from all of us at Cocotinos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desa Sekotong Barat
17.8 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,629 reviews
17.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
24.3 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,314 reviews
16.4 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
966 reviews
19.1 mi away
Living Asia Resort and Spa Lombok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Dusun Pandanan, Desa Sekotong Barat, Lombok 83000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Desa Sekotong Barat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Desa Sekotong Barat
Price Range: £45 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Sekotong, a boutique beach resort and spa, is set amidst a coconut grove in Sekotong Bay on the south-west corner of Lombok Island, overlooking Gili Nanggu, Gili Sudak and Gili Tangkong. The 3.2-hectare resort captures the tranquility and serenity of the region. Blessed with over 300 meters of private white-sand beach, the resort is the perfect getaway for romantic couples and families who want a holiday away from the crowds. Cocotinos also boasts the Laleina Spa and a sea sports centre run by Odyssea Divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing