We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Magical setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The resort is located in an amazing setting. If you are looking for a totally relaxing break this is the place for you. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a Water Front Villa with its own plunge pool. It is one of the best rooms we have stayed in in all our travels.
The staff could not be faulted, all very helpful and attentive.
The only criticism is the breakfast is very basic and nothing is kept warm, so if you prefer hot dishes I suggest going to breakfast early.
Highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a total getaway.
We caught a taxi from the airport which cost us about $22au and the trip took about 1.5 hours due to all the roadwork.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dust56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_W1988, Owner at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear MsDust 56,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our resort. It was our pleasure to offer you the upgrade to our Water's Edge Villa which you found to be "one of the best rooms" in all your travels so far, and coming from a senior reviewer like you, it means a lot to us. As for the breakfast, the hot food should normally be kept warm.Thank you for it pointing it out to us. We will definitely look into it.

Please tell your friends about the "magical setting" where our resort is located, and we hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    105
    39
    21
    6
See reviews for
74
174
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We loved the drive from the airport to Cocotinos which took us through some really interesting parts of the island allowing us to see the local people going about their daily lives, mostly untouched by tourism. The resort is set in an ideal location with amazing views. It's a little bigger than most we stayed at and as such the facilities seemed a little stretched, not quite enough sun-loungers or room around the pool. Having said that it did not distract from our enjoyment but probably impacts on our feeling of value-for-money. We took the boat out to the island for snorkelling and the staff were friendly and informative. The rooms were set in lovely gardens but lacked privacy in terms of noise, some rooms are inter-connecting and you can hear everything next door. Our neighbors had a toddler, who thankfully slept silently but that could have been an issue! Our room was not serviced during the 2 nights we stayed which we understand was an oversight rather than the norm and again didn’t bother us but with the price of the rooms, you might expect more attentive service. However we had a lovely stay and it was great to be away from the main tourist areas in such a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: be aware of potential noise issues in the standard rooms which can be inter-connected
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgm040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_W1988, Owner at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear kgm040,

Thank you for your keen observations and generous comments. We are delighted to know that you loved the beautiful setting of our resort. It was the stunning natural beauty of the location that made me decide to build Cocotinos back in 2008.
As it is high season in August, we did not have enough sun loungers on those days when everyone wanted to just relax by the pool. Most times, some guests chose to go out snorkeling on our boats or joined village tours and there would then have been enough sun loungers.to go round. We were aware of this problem and have since added more sun loungers.
As for your observation that your room was not serviced for two days, it must have been an oversight on the part of our housekeeping department and it should not have happened - our apologies! Thank you for telling us that despite our shortcomings, you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend spent in this resort a couple of days during our tour in indonesia. The location is very nice, far from anything so any guest should be aware of the choice to spend a very quiet and relaxing vacation. The travel from the airport is quite long and the status of the street is not the best. Accomodations are nice, cleaness can be improved but still decent. The bathroom is huge and has a wonderfull outdoor shower. The hotel offers 5 lt water available daily in the room. Breakfast is ok, dinner choice a la carte is very good, much better then buffet one. Generally the structure of the resort is really pleasant, most of the rooms offer sea view, they are all very close to beach, restaurant and swimming pool. We visited also the gili islands around but both for snorkling and diving they are less interesting than Gili trawangan area. Recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_W1988, Owner at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Chiara

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our quiet and secluded resort located in this beautiful part of southwest Lombok. There are 13 small Gilis (islands) in our area (as opposed to only 3 in the north) and so there are many wonderful things to explore for those who love nature. A lot of divers are only now discovering the wonderful "macro" life in our pristine reefs. Thank you for taking the time to do a review; please tell your friends about us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I stay here in August 2014. We found the staff helpful and our room was very pleasant. A very laid back life style and prefect for relaxing. It was great to find out that most of the staff were from the surrounding villages, which help their families and their local communities. Having said that, their English is mostly fine but some things did get lost in translation at times and they are learning as they work and service may not be what we may expect. Because of the remote location, most things (food, massages, tourist items) were more expensive. Loved the outdoor shower in our room!

Room Tip: Most rooms don't have a seaview however the layout is such that there are paths that go directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_W1988, Owner at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Rita,

Thank you for your kind review of our resort. I am happy you enjoyed the service of our staff who are mainly from the villages nearby. Prior to Cocotinos which opened in August 2010, there was little opportunity for employment in this area; so now, the staff are happy they can work near where they live, and guests benefit from their service which may be a bit unpolished but warm. The outdoor shower with the flower and fruit garden surrounding the villas is one of our our signature design features.
Please pass on the good news about our resort and do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked a room for my family stay during the Ramadhan Holiday from the 27th of July until 2nd of August through our corporate travel agent. The reason why we picked this place is because its secluded area, private beach and it has its own pier. We wanted to stay undisturbed and away from the hustle and bustle of the city or other tourist destination areas, also we would like to sail on our boat during the last days of our holiday. Changed of plans, the kids wanted to sail earlier, so we had our boat pick us up on the 31st. My husband came to the reception in the morning to pay our meals and informed them that we are going sailing. And, our family friend is coming to occupy the room for the remaining two days that we already paid for. They said, no problem.


We left from the pier, telling the staff how wonderful our stay was and thank them for their hospitality. We liked our bedroom, our meals and the beach was beautiful.
Later in the evening, I received message from our friend that says him and his family cant check in because the travel agent hasn't paid for our bedroom so they charged him for the remaining two nights. How does that makes any sense? Then I had our assistant called and try to resolve whatever problem they were having.
The next day our assistant said there were miscommunication inside the management. And mr. Rahman the marketing told her that my friend wont be charged for the room since we paid for it. But on the check out day they still got charged. The manager, who refused to give us his name or talk to any of us (he had the reception to talk to us), does not agree that my friend stayed without paying. He tried to feed us lies saying that my husband checked out before tour time and we got an early check out fee. He said that Cocotinos will refund my friend's money after the payment has been cleared from the agent. Which I just got informed few moments ago is on process and will take approximately two weeks.


I mean seriously? My family and I are lucky enough to be able to stay in resorts around the world and this is by far the most disappointing and shameless. We paid the travel agent already and its not our problem if they haven't paid the hotel we are staying at. AND IF THAT WAS THE TRUE REASON, WHY WHEN WE CHECKED IN WE DIDNT HAVE THE PROBLEM?

I talked to the travel agent personally and they admit they havent paid based on personal work agreement with the hotel which the customer has nothing to do with. I talked to the reception and the marketing manager and the reservation asking about the hotel policy and they assured us that we shouldn't encounter problem like this in the first place..

Our conclusion is the manager tried to rip off customer because it is high season.

We told our friends, family, work partners and they all astonished of what happened, our corporate agent is reluctant to work with this place after what happened, we have been using them for family travel or work travel all over the world and never had a single problem.

At the end of the day, what makes an accommodation live up to their names is their service. Thats why we called it accommodation, to accommodate, to cater and by all means this so called resort has failed to do their purpose. What this place did was unacceptable and I would never recommend it to anybody. Which is a shame because the place itself has potential.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_W1988, Owner at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Marsha
It is with deep regret for me as the owner of the resort to learn that you have had such a bad experience after you checked out of the resort. In fact, you had a very good stay for a few days before your early checkout and it was only the subsequent problems related to your friends who wanted to check-in for the remaining two nights you had not used that caused you so much anguish.
I sincerely apologise for the mistakes made by my staff as there was clearly a chain of miscommunication between the night shift staff (who agreed to let your friends stay for the remaining two nights) and the morning shift staff who did not appear to have known about it. This is shameful and I am truly sorry.
However, I need to clarify a few points for the record. Your agent did not pay prior to your arrival as per our standing agreement with them. Strictly speaking, the resort should not have let you check-in without swiping your credit card for the room nights. If that were so, the matter would have come to a head, you would have called your agent to complain and it would have then remained as an issue between you and your agent; this was the biggest mistake of my front office.
This lack of payment became an issue with the front office staff when your friends tried to check-in and the system showed no record of your friends’ names or any evidence that your agent had paid. It was an unfortunate combination of circumstances and while you were right that it should not have been your problem, it was compounded by the lack of payment from your agent at that point in time.
As for your conclusion, that the hotel manager “tried to rip off customer because it is high season”, I find that rather presumptuous. All the manager did was ask your friend to present his credit card to guarantee payment because your agent had still not paid up, and the manager did say that the money would be returned once the agent paid up in due course; and as you said yourself, my resort is already in the process of returning the money. I’ve personally instructed my staff to return the money via your friend’s credit card. We are a reputable resort and there is nothing for us to gain from the value of two room nights. And the manager could not have gained anything personally as it was a credit card swipe and not a cash transaction.
In conclusion, I hope this clarifies the situation and once again, my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

After a long drive from Kuta, Coconitos was a welcomed short stopover on our way to Mount Rinjani.
Our rooms were beautiful and clean, the beach and pool equally beautiful. Having stayed in five different Lombok hotels so far, Cocotinos was the only one to charge a 'high season surcharge'. It is also very isolated and so has a 'captive audience' when it comes to dining.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RK1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_W1988, Owner at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear RK1010,

Thank you for your kind review of our resort. It is a common thing for most established hotels and resorts to have a high season surcharge. Some simply have a high season rate instead of the usual rate and so it comes to the same thing anyway. During the low season, many hotels have to offer steep discounts to attract customers (it is a tough business), and so it is only fair that there be a surcharge during the high season. We are pleased you found our resort clean and beautiful,
and we would love to see you again. Yes we are a hideaway resort in a secluded location close to nature, and there no restaurants or bars around us.Thank you for choosing Cocotinos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights end of June and it was delightful.
The resort itself is lovely. Nice clean, private rooms, spacious bathroom, good service, attentive staff, and the grounds are very well kept.
We mostly ate the Indonesian food which was of a high standard, and very good value.
Went out on the dive boat for 4 mornings, as snorkelers. Staff on dive boat were amazing, and looked after us well. They were happy to accommodate snorkelers although there were only a few divers on the boat.
Very pretty coral reefs in good condition, and many smaller reef fish. Secret Garden on Gili Laya? was particularly impressive.
Also, did a trip to Gili Nanggu and surrounding islands. Unfortunately visibility wasn't good on that day but still really enjoyed snorkel at GN and had a fun day out. Once again the staff on the boat couldn't do enough for us!!
Its a very quiet spot which suited us well and if you want a lovely place to relax and be spoilt, whilst on Lombok, away from busier spots, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_W1988, Owner at Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Bryan/Joan,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your quiet stay in our secluded resort - the local food and the snorkelling in particular. Please come again and tell all your friends about us. Perth is not so far away!
Best regards from all of us here at Cocotinos Sekotong...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desa Sekotong Barat
17.5 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
24.3 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#2 of 11 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
27.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sheraton Senggigi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Dusun Pandanan, Desa Sekotong Barat, Lombok 83000, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Desa Sekotong Barat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Desa Sekotong Barat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotinos Sekotong, a boutique beach resort and spa, is set amidst a coconut grove in Sekotong Bay on the south-west corner of Lombok Island, overlooking Gili Nanggu, Gili Sudak and Gili Tangkong. The 3.2-hectare resort captures the tranquility and serenity of the region. Blessed with over 300 meters of private white-sand beach, the resort is the perfect getaway for romantic couples and families who want a holiday away from the crowds. Cocotinos also boasts the Laleina Spa and a sea sports centre run by Odyssea Divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing