We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Pearl Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pearl Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 3 night in the beach bungalow, while our boys opted for the bamboo cottage. We had a marvelous time and 3 night was just too short...way too short. It's a paradise!
The view was stunning and we really enjoyed the tranquility. The rooms were great, spectacular landscape just in front of our room (the resort facing east - lovely sunrise each morning), clean, with mosquito net. The bathroom design were charming as well.
We circled the island and found other beautiful spots and we also took a short hike to the hill to capture the sunset and get another remarkable view.
We also dove and snorkeled during our stay. It was impressive! Dive zone arrange the dives, me and my boys were thrilled and looking forward to do it again. We were lucky to have sunny days (it drizzled mostly in the evening).
Many thanks to the staffs and Peter for all the efforts to throw a dazzling & sparkling New Year's eve celebration. It was fun - despite the wrong time zone :D - we did enjoyed a lot!

It was truly a memorable holiday for us!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia_K620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent 2 nights and 3 days in paradise. Everyone is so nice and the staff is very helpful, food portions are big but dishes a little weird but good enough for the limited resources there, FREE water haha, rooms are clean, bathroom is the best part and I went canoeing with my friend around the island finding cool places and outstanding beaches, climbing up the small hill you get to see the sunset, I thought it was a downside that there was no electricity except from 5pm - 5am and no wi-if but really you don't need the electricity and having no connection to the outside world was great. The place really is magical.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Puteri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent five days and nights in the beach bungalow. The accommodation is outstanding. Nicely decorated. Big comfortable bed with an awesome view of the ocean and beach. The outdoor attached bathroom simply must be experienced to really appreciate its design. And the front patio with the full sized lounger was well used during our stay. Meals were excellent and portions were so generous that after a couple if days we started sharing one lunch.

Staff were excellent and of course, as others have commented, the manager, Peter, was superb. Interesting and funny, as well as responsive to guests. He made everyone feel special!

We did two days of snorkel trips which were excellent! Good corals and thousands of fish. And the house reef, while not pristine, has many interesting corals and critters, including many nudibranchs, lionfish, mantis shrimp, seahorses, lobster....The diving, unfortunately, did not meet expectations, although this was likely the result of the winds stirring up the water and impacting clarity.

All in all, our experience was great! And we would highly recommend this small intimate resort.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent four nights in a bamboo cottage at Pearl Beach Resort last september, and it was definetly the best place we could have stayed at.
And that was not only for the amazing location and the quietness, but also because of the very friendly staff.
Peter, the manager at the hotel is a very funny, and friendly english man who made us feel at home. And we also had the best diving instructor we could have in our first scuba diving experience, Tom, a really nice californian guy. We are even thinking about going back there to take the PADI OWD course with him!

Thank you Pearl Beach Resort!!

Room Tip: Beach bungalows look very nice and big from outside (we didn't see them inside) but I think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was the highlight of our Indonesian trip, not only is gorgeous, it's well priced, the staff are excellent and the resort well maintained. It is a beautiful location and from the bungalows you can watch the sunrise from bed. The room is cleanly decorated and outside bathroom is fab! This is a tranquil resort and prides itself on peace and quiet and it certainly delivers that.

All the staff are excellent. Peter, the manager, is extremely helpful and friendly.

The snorkelling is also fantastic and you are able to see a lot of marine life near the beach, renting is well priced

Plus There is no mosquitoes which is a god send.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We can honestly say we found our little piece of paradise in Gili Asahan and the Pearl Beach Resort. The location is beautiful and unspoiled, very peaceful and relaxing due to the fact there are only 9 bungalows in the resort and a fishing village on the other side of the island. You get there by boat from the mainland organised by the resort and included in the price of your stay. One thing to mention: if you haven't organised transport to your next destination it is possible to do it through the resort but it's quite expensive (compared to a taxi) - we paid 425,000 RP to Senggigi. If you want to organise it on your own from the island, they charge from 50,000 RP for the use of the phone.

We stayed there for 6 nights in one of the bamboo bungalows (smaller ones on offer) which had an amazing view of the sunrise each morning - we didn't even have to get out of bed to see it but it's well worth it to admire it from the hammock on the little porch or the beach which is less than 1 min walk from the hut.

The bungalow was clean and good size with a comfortable bed equipped with a mosquito net. The outdoor bathroom was big too and had hot water (slightly salted).

You will need to eat in the restaurant at all times but don't worry - the food was delicious. Four choices for breakfast (included in the price), lunch (45,000 RP per person) and dinner (80,000 RP per person ) so you won't end up eating the same every day. Drinking water is provided for free and there are some snacks, beer, coffee/tea and soft drinks available to buy. (we wished we had taken more snacks with us though).

Be aware that due to its remote location there is no Internet available and electricity is only provided from 5:00pm till about 4:30am) - but why would you need it anyway in a place like this...

The staff was amazing - extremely nice and always happy. Peter, the manager, is a very colorful character :)

There is also a diving shop (DiveZone) beside the resort where you can do some fun diving or PADI courses (we did an Open Water Cert with Tom - our instructor, highly recommended! The course and Tom ;) )

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combatgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pearl Beach Resort is so wonderful I hesitate to let others even know about it. However, since it's now an "Our Pick" in the Lonely Planet guide, I guess the secret is out. I write this in the interest of trying to protect what is there. This is not a place to take a noisy family. There are only a few bungalows and the peacefulness of the place makes it an ideal ADULT experience for people who have learned consideration for others. If you want a delightful place to take your children, try Gili Meno, further to the north. Please.
The skin diving right off the resort beach is wonderful and on the nearby islands some of the best in the world. The little restaurant serves up delicious Indonesian and western food. After breakfast, which is included in the room rate, you choose what you'd like for both lunch and dinner from a list our 4 choices (one of which is always vegetarian). The night life is you and the one you love, under the canopy of brilliant southern stars. There is electricity from 6:00 pm to 5:00 am but, again in the spirit of consideration, no internet, no portable music systems. If you want to listen to your tunes, bring head phones. Peter, the current manager, is the soul of graciousness and makes the whole operation a delight. There are so few places like this in the world anymore. I hope it can survive as it is until we can one day return.

Room Tip: There are solid bungalows and bamboo bungalows. We found the extra money for the solid bungalow well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vernon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desa Sekotong Barat
6.7 mi away
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Bea...
#1 of 4 in Desa Sekotong Barat
386 reviews
20.8 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,578 reviews
30.0 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ko Ko Mo Resort Gili Gede
Ko Ko Mo Resort Gili Gede
#1 of 3 in Gili Gede
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gili Asahan Eco Lodge & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Layar Beach Bungalow
Layar Beach Bungalow
#1 of 19 in Mataram
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Beach Resort

Address: Gili Asahan, Desa Sekotong Barat, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Desa Sekotong Barat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Desa Sekotong Barat
Price Range: £39 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the experience of a lifetime, our idyllic boutique resort on the east side of the remote island of Gili Asahan - the first of the secret islands - offers you luxurious bungalows and a restaurant set right on the beach. Pearl Beach has spacious, well-equipped bungalows with queen-sized beds. Ocean breezes generally ensure that the heat is not oppressive, in addition ceiling fans help to moderate evening temperatures. Each bungalow includes an ensuite garden bathroom with a hot shower and western-style toilet. The generous terrace is equipped with comfortable outdoor furniture and an adorable swing-bed.You can simply relax and enjoy the tropical tranquility while the local fishing boats pass by only metres from your terrace. Or, if you feel like it you can take a dip from the sandy beach into a snorkeling paradise right at your door! Great diving and kajaking possibilities are waiting aswell.Come and indulge yourself at Pearl Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pearl Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing