We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unloved”
Review of Bola Bola Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Desa Sekotong Barat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bola Bola Paradise
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unloved”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a 2 night stay here and whilst the price was pretty reasonable this place had a slightly unloved feeling. As with many places in Indonesia they are often foreign owned but then left in the hands of lovely but rather passive local staff who don't really understand the expectations of western visitors (and we live in Indonesia so ours are not overly high !). The rooms were clean enough but just very spartan and although we had originally booked superior rooms we actually changed to nicer cheaper rooms (blue building). The food was pretty good (except the breakfast). The beach in front of the place is dirty with washed up plastic (not sure why they don't keep it clean) and so don't expect to swim there, we did take a boat trip out for snorkelling which was nice but again quite a bit of rubbish in the water and coral seems to be dying off, apparently due to mercury from local goldmining (eek!). Sad. Oh and there is a VERY loud call to prayer (Lombok is muslim) at 4.40 every morning !!

Room Tip: The basic blue rooms are actually the best value and location. No pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    11
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

The location is good, next to the beach. The rooms are okay, but there were some insects we don't like in our room. The most terrible was the food!! The prices are pretty high for what you get and the most ingredients were out of stock (high season, 1 aug.) and they didn't inform you when ordered. This hotel is VERY overrated!! Also..during ramadan is terrible, a lot of noise during the night. Also the breakfast was not included.. We paid 900.000 Rp. for the cheapest room with fan(which nearly worked!), the lunch, diner and breakfast. So.. don't go to this hotel, there are much better for this money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DylanBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Desa Sekotong Barat hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived during low season and that is the word I would use to describe our stay here - low. We were the only people staying here and the staff were very disinterested.
Our room was fairly basic which I don't mind at all as long as its clean which it was not, there was lots of lizard poo on the floor and mainly in the bathroom. The room was not cleaned daily so each morning there was more poo. It was actually rather irritating seeing the staff just sitting around watching TV all day when the room aren't even clean.
The food was OK at best but hugely overpriced for what it was, but sadly this place is in the middle of nowhere so there is nowhere else to go eat. Breakfast was also extra and not included in the price.
The location was really not good, the beach was not great and there were not sun loungers or outside chairs so we spent two days on our veranda before swiftly leaving.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

agree with both of the reviews below. Bola bola is simple with a touch of style in the decor. The owner Huib and his staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Food is good and tasty as long as you choose the local dishes and there is plenty of choice to try something different every day for a few days. The cocktails are also very good, although a high proportion of the selection contain lime cordial, so they do all taste quite similar! The web-site offers local cookery as an activity which i was looking forward to (having done this in similar places in cambodia and thailand). This didnt quite meet expectations, consisting of a moped ride to the market with the hotel manager (which was quite interesting) then standing in the hotel kitchen next to the cook whilst she prepared the food. She did let me peel & chop an onion (!) but it is not quite the 'hands on' experience that i have had elsewhere in south-east asia! Nevertheless, this did not spoil our stay in a lovely place which i would highly recommed for anyone wanting to see a different side of lombok to senggigi and kuta.

Room Tip: Go for the 'blue' or 'yellow' rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVTOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We came to Sekotong after the strenuous Mount Rinjani climb. It is well off the beaten track and away from modern hotels and night life - which is what we wanted. The hotel has a great position with its own beach and snorkeling over coral gardens within 50m. We started in one of the hexagonal houses looking out over the sea and islands. Magnificent sunsets. There is a restaurant here which is fine for a couple of days as there isn't much else around as an alternative. The rooms are comfortable but relatively basic and there is no internet at all available in the hotel which is not a problem unless you want to confirm onward flights. We hired a small boat one day and went off around the islands stopping to snorkel whenever the boatman thought we had reached a good spot. The snorkeling is incredible we saw perhaps a couple of other boats but otherwise we were in this remote paradise spot with an abundance of unspoilt coral, crustaceans and fish wherever we looked. We also went to Bangko-Bangko one day to watch the amazing waves and surfers, a bumpy slightly hair-raising trip about 1 hour from the hotel, there are a few cafes there for the surfers who stay down at the point. Its all so beautiful here its hard to believe no-one has discovered it yet! The only slight downside for me was that we were here during Ramadan and in this part of Lombok that meant there was amplified singing from the local Mosque from sunset until 3-4am which did become quite intrusive after a while!

Room Tip: Sleeping was only poor due to the festivities nearby relating to Ramadan - it wouldn't be a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podimore
Level Contributor
285 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is a place with a stunning location on the coast. Very picturesque and wonderful sunsets
The rooms are fine but several are in hexagonal designed buildings and the front ones have great sea views but the other face a path and a hedge which is a shame.
There is not much else around in the way of places to eat but Bola Bola does good food at a fair price. The staff are mostly quite young and don't always know what to do but they try very hard and are very friendly.
The hotel seemed not to offer any trips but we discovered a man called Suleman who runs his own place on the road towards Banco Banco ( just past the Inn Deep divers hotel about 8 km from Bola Bola ) who was excellent and organised the most amazing snorkelling trip for us. Wish we had found him earlier a real must do.
The local villages are well worth looking round with many of the locals involved in the Gold mining industry. Very interesting.
Overall a good stay. The friendliness of the staff went a long way towards helping you forgive their inexperience!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desa Sekotong Barat
0.0 mi away
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Bea...
#1 of 3 in Desa Sekotong Barat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#7 of 20 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#11 of 18 in Amed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krisna Bungalows and Restaurant
Krisna Bungalows and Restaurant
#2 of 11 in Desa Sekotong Barat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manah Liang Bungalow
Manah Liang Bungalow
#23 of 26 in Munduk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bola Bola Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bola Bola Paradise

Property: Bola Bola Paradise
Address: Pelangan, Sekotong Peninsula, Desa Sekotong Barat, Lombok, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Desa Sekotong Barat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Desa Sekotong Barat
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing