We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Foxton Locks Inn

Foxton Locks Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Foxton
Price range: £5 - £20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Foxton Locks Inn is a popular location for food and drink. A recent winner of the Leicestershire Tourism Awards 'best pub' category it is a well visited site especially in the summer months and at the weekends. It's large beer garden can accommodate hundreds in the summer with views over the water. It also has a separate function room available for private parties.
Reviewed 10 August 2023

We decided to stop off here, for a bit of lunch, friendly welcome, great service, lovely food, lovely atmosphere, with great views. Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank malc1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2023

The staff were delightful and very efficient. The food was good, however it was like being in a dog’s home. There were four dogs in the conservatory area all of which were allowed to stray away from their tables. Their owners seemed oblivious to the fact that not everyone wants to be sniffed. I don’t understand why people have to bring their dogs with them and treat them like children, finger feeding them from their plates. it is perfectly acceptable to leave them at home or in a cool car for a couple of hours while their owners eat.
When smoking was allowed in pubs there were designated areas. Now I think we need dog free zones!

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shipslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2023

This is a great place for lunch. Adjacent to Foxton Locks it's an interesting place to watch the canal boats whilst eating lunch. We had prebooked lunch for 23 people and when we arrived we were greeted by Phil, who took us to our reserved tables and quickly took our drink orders . Within 20 minutes of arrival, Phil had organised his team to serve our food and we were all tucking in to the delicious meals. Thoroughly recommend this venue, and Phil looked after our party from start to finish. Well done to all concerned

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2023

Very disappointed in this establishment. I was aware they were closed over the weekend but their website advised a decision would be made on Monday morning. I tried to contact them by phone but only got a voice message. Checked out their website and it stated they were open on Monday morning. I travelled a long way to visit the locks and to have lunch in the Inn. If you run a business, keep you website upto date or ensure your phone recording is current. Never again

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank 630nolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2023 via mobile

On a canal boat holiday.Great traditional pub food with the most amazing chips!! 5 of us dined for a late lunch and empty plates all round. Fish and chips was especially good. Very friendly service and great views. Will be back on our return trip!

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank stanleychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Foxton Locks Inn also viewed

Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Gumley, Market Harborough
 
Great Glen, Leicestershire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Foxton Locks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.