We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunchtime meal”
Review of Foxton Locks Inn

Foxton Locks Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Foxton
Price range: £5 - £20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Foxton Locks Inn is a popular location for food and drink. A recent winner of the Leicestershire Tourism Awards 'best pub' category it is a well visited site especially in the summer months and at the weekends. It's large beer garden can accommodate hundreds in the summer with views over the water. It also has a separate function room available for private parties.
Reviewed 15 December 2023 via mobile

Drove out to Foxton locks for a lunchtime bite to eat. Great setting and very helpful service. Food was great and served quickly. Friendly service and with a live jazz band playing, it was a great experience. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank HonestJohnNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2023



There were about 25 of us for our annual Xmas meal. The veg came out first and 3 huge platters consisting of loads of carrots a little broccoli and cauliflower were placed in the centre of the table. The plates were cold. So by the time our main course arrived (also on stone cold plates) the veg were completely cold. We had to ask for them to be microwaved to heat them up. 2 small slices of turkey. Awful gravy I think it was called ‘cranberry jus.’ The potato’s were good. Someone paid £3 extra for rump steak which was tough.
Everyone left most of the meal. The manager asked if everything was ok when he came to help clear the plates. He only had to look at the amount left to see that it wasn’t.
Who puts food on stone cold plates!!

The desserts were good. Although 2 very small slices of Xmas pud was a bit mean. For around £25 a head it was very very poor. The staff were apologetic and nice. We did get a 25% discount by was of an apology.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ladybird159
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023

Called in for lunch. Very helpful and positive service. food was well presented and tasty. good value. Would go again even though car park is expensive

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2023

Always had excellent service here even when there busy the staff make you welcome and the service has always been very good the staff are very capable and conscientious your not a number you matter.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnbS890UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2023

Not the best meal. Service was extremely slow. Calamari was returned only to be replaced with not much better.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teresarQ1201VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Foxton Locks Inn also viewed

Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Gumley, Market Harborough
 
Great Glen, Leicestershire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Foxton Locks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.