We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time and money”

Fir Tree House Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Penshurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I decided to take my children here and shouldn't have bothered. If you want service with a smile then don't go here. Food and drinks were plonked down by a miserable, stressed looking woman who had nothing to say. Far too expensive for what it is and definitely not worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iamthechocolategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    11
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best tea places in the country. Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I've been putting off posting a review because I didn't want too many people to visit it - it's oftern very busy and not easy to get a table outside on a sunny day. And no wonder. The cottage garden is very pretty with flowers and it's a perfect place to relax. No wonder people take their time over tea. The prices aren't cheap, no, but IMO it's worth every penny. Scones are delicious and homemade, jams are homemade, cream is proper cream and not shaving foam or UHT, cakes are yummy and it's PROPER leaf tea served on pretty china. A real treat. Now and then there are glitches - the young waitresses are often rushed because it's so popular and may make the odd mistake in serving someone out of turn, but they're only human - and we've always found them friendly and happy to please. On one occasion, my husband didn't want the strawberry jam offered (not his fave type of jam), so the waitress went away and returned with some homemade gooseberry jam, to his delight. I hope this place continues for a long time to come - I always love going there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hedgecrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Best Tea Room in the South of England”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

As a very frequent visitor and connoisseur of tea rooms and excellent cake I can honestly say you would be pushed to find better! The freshest cakes (and a portion big enough for two) and always a choice, lovely sandwiches and real tea with a silver tea strainer. The gardens are lovely and spacious and once you take a seat you don't want to leave - ever!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LordandLadyPenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best Tea Room in the UK”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I took my American cousin here for the quintessentially English tea room experience and we were not let down. The wisteria is in full glorious bloom outside. The waitress was excellent offering friendly and helpful assistance and she was very pretty too (*noted by 23 year old cousin) The full tea was unbelievably good and HUGE and we left extremely happy and smiling. We were lucky of course cream on top with a fantastic sunny and warm afternoon so we could "take tea" in the beautiful back garden. Thank you ,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Lovely English tea room”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had a wonderful family tea here. The sandwiches were so fresh with generous fillings. The cakes are all homemade and were lovely. The scones and cream with jam and butter were delicious. The range of teas were amazing. The service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fir Tree House Tearoom also viewed

Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
 
Chiddingstone, Sevenoaks District
Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Fir Tree House Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing