We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Roseraie
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
La Musardiere(Giverny)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hotel du Haut Marais(Saint-Marcel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelF1 Vernon(Saint-Marcel)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
8
11
3
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
11
3
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The owner of this property is very nice, however the accommodation is overpriced. Here is my to do list that I suggest to make the place acceptable:

- sound proof the plumbing. We spent a sleepless night being woken up everytime the person upstairs went to the loo. I'm not exagerating when I say that it sound like someone was emptying a firehose onto our ceiling everytime the shower/toilet or sink were used upstairs, I have never heard such a noise.

- put a door on the ensuite bathroom rather than a see through curtain. I had to step outside the room (ie into the garden) to avoid seeing my partner on the loo because the flimsy curtain on the ensuite provided no privacy

- put a wardrobe in the room. Currently there a are just a few hooks on the wall

- provide 2 towels per person, preferably nice ones. Currently there is 1 smallish rather scratchy towel per person

- make the beds with duvets, and provide clean sheets. We had several blankets piled on our beds which all slipped off during the night and were another factor providing a sleepless night. When we awoke in the morning I found that the sheet we'd slept on had mildew stains on it. I found the blankets a rather unhygenic and outmoded way of making a bed.

Oh and the lady owner might like to warn visitors about the over zealous gendarms that patrol her village and the junction right outside her house. We were fined Euro 90 on the spot for crawling over a Stop sign. She did come out and help us converse with the police which was very good of her, but it would be nice to have a warning about this before arriving - maybe something on the website? Particularly since this seems to be an everyday occurrence.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliaread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

As WelshWonder47 has described it is in a lovely setting and seemed quite perfect. When we first arrived at 5pm were told that we were early (by an hour) and we could not park inside the gates until evening because of a tortoise (!) and children (!) Neither of which did we see during our 4 day stay. We drove in to unpack and Madame got quite agitated but we did unpack and then moved the car outside the property. Again like the previous report she asked us for the money in cash (!) straightaway or if not in the morning. Thanks for the warning WW47. The apartment was very pleasant in itself. I did think the mishmash of china - some of it chipped - did not go with the class of apartment. The short stay went fine with no other hiccups until the last morning. We were just about to drive off when Madame asked me to go up to the apartment. She then told me that I had not cleaned it properly and that as self catering guests we should have cleaned it ready for the next guests! We had left it tidy and clean but I had certainly not hoovered and dusted - I have never had to do this before and refused. She then said that she would have to pay a cleaner for doing it. We had paid nearly £80 per night for this privilege. We would certainly not go back to this property. Such a shame because the setting was idyllic. It really put a dampner on the holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SiJaJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

On the plus side this is a quintessentially French B and B. A lovely setting the whole complex is housed within a walled garden, accomodation is nicely converted from separate barns within the grounds of the owners' impressive Maison de Maitre which was the old presbetery and is situated next door to the village church.
Beautifully planted gardens with roses climbing over arches and up obelisks provide the backdrop for your 'self catered' picnics al fresco next to the covered swimming pool which is at your disposal complete with picnic tables, umbrellas for shade, pool side chairs and teak loungers. We were impressed.
Our first disappointment came when Madam explained she had given our room away to other guests! We had booked two weeks previously and had chosen the 'Grange' and sent a deposit. But Madam had seen fit to swap us without warning and showed us instead to the 'Charming'. It is billed as having a double bed on a mezzanine floor above two single beds. Do be aware. This is NOT a double bed but a double mattress laid straight on the floor. The mezzanine is set in the apex of the roof, is 4 foot high in the centre and then slopes sharply away to nothing, more of a ledge really. It is just wider than the mattress and as long as it. If you sit up without remembering where you are you will bang your head on the ceiling. The area is reached via open steps with no guard rail and presented some access difficulties as once you climb the steps the only way is to throw yourself onto the bed, clamber along it on all fours and twist yourself around to get under the covers. You reverse the process rather dodgily, as you have to roll over onto your stomach first, feel for the top step with your foot and hang on for dear life as you clamber down! It gets very hot up there and the only upside is the fan sitting on the floor next to the little night light. Honestly - we were speechless (This was presented to two fifty year olds and our mum of 69!) but Madam assured us she never has complaints. Teenagers would probably love this little hidey hole but not for full grown adults - bad enough for one - try getting two of you up there? NEVER!
The second disappointment was the embarrassment of being asked by Madam over breakfast the first morning for full payment of our two night stay. Madam already had in her possession a french euro check from us as the deposit but rejected this because of high bank charges. She told us she has had bad experiences with people who have left without paying so she asks for payment up front and that would need to be in cash. Rather sheepishly I explained that we did not have enough money on us at the time. Madam explained that was OK as there are two banks in the next village! Feeling like desperados we trekked off to said village instead of to our planned destination of Monet's Garden to provide Madam with 'evidence' of our commitment.
Breakfast was satisfactory but we did enjoy picnicing by the pool and the recommendation to the nearby restaurant Les Bords De Seine was well worth it. Another nice touch was the provision of basic cooking facilities, dining table and chairs and china etc in your room so you can self cater if you wish. The beds were comfy, nice linen and the accomodation was clean with your own entrance and keys so you can be fairly private and self sufficient.
This is a lovely area of France and provided you are aware of the advance payment arrangement and don't mind an Alpine trek at bed time before sleeping on a ledge in the Charming Room, this B and B is worth the stay for the pool (at no extra charge and heated) and its picturesque setting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WelshWonder47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eviter de venir avec des enfants remuants . ce n'est pas approprié pour le respect de l'esprit de maison d'hôtes.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews