We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just awesome”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Black Orchid the first week in April 2014. We booked the all inclusive package including tours and meals. Our main goal was to have an adventurous vacation that would allow us to experience Belize and the resort fit our needs perfectly.

When we first arrived we were a little reserved. As this was our first trip to Belize, we were not sure what to expect, and the resort just didn’t have the wow factor as you drove up. But after a day or two - when you get to know the staff, howler monkeys, iguanas and crocodile (across) the river - you begin to appreciate where you are and wouldn’t have it any other way. The pool was always clean and the grounds were very well kept. There were kayaks, paddleboats and canoes available for the river, as well as bicycles that you can use to ride into the village about a mile away. Never had a problem with bugs except for a few bites. After sundown the place becomes pleasantly peaceful.

The rooms (in the new building at least) are modern, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Way more than exceeded our expectations.

As our meals were part of the package we ate mostly at the resort restaurant. Meals and service were excellent, we tried many of the selections and were never disappointed. The dinner specials were especially tasty and included an appetizer and dessert.

Ultimately the staff is what makes Black Orchid stand out, and you will probably not appreciate this fully unless you stay a few days. I can’t say enough about how we were treated and how they genuinely cared about us having everything we needed for a perfect stay. This level of personal service is what completely separates this resort from any other trip we have been on.

As most reviews mentioned little about the tours, I will. All of our tours were part of the package and kept us plenty busy. Most started at 8AM and lasted most of the day. The package provides an excellent variety of tours, each giving a unique experience. They are led either by the Black Orchid staff or contracted with other providers chosen by the resort. All were very informative and professionally guided. The selection is ideal for an overview of the area and what it has to offer – we found each one completely different and exciting. Even the lunches were way above the typical sandwich and chips, and most were hot cooked meals. Some require a bit of physical activity, especially the ATM cave tour.

A few suggestions - It would be nice to heat the tub on top of the new building. We went up there after a long day of activities thinking it would be a perfect place to unwind, but found the pool chilly and the area dark. Would be nice to see an alcoholic beverage included at dinner with the package. Nothing like a cold Belizian beer to end the day, but seemed odd to have to pay for it. And, although we didn’t need the continental breakfast, the few times we did walk through the selection appeared to be very limited and picked over which agrees with other reviewers.

Overall, we highly recommend the Black Orchid. It completely deserves its high rating. I feel many of the lower reviews are due to people who only stay for a day or two and don’t have the opportunity to experience what the five star people are talking about.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms, but the river view rooms in the new building are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    154
    56
    17
    7
See reviews for
134
247
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Black Orchid was wonderful! The grounds were beautiful and the room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and helped us arrange day trips to the Mayan ruins, zip-lining and cave tubing. We just told them where and when we wanted to go and they took care of the rest. All of the staff at the hotel and on the excursions were knowledgable and welcoming. On days with no activity planned, it was nice to stay at the hotel and enjoy the pool, kayak on the river and take in the wildlife that live on the grounds . The food is great and you have the option to eat at the restaurant or poolside any time of day. I was at the Black Orchid for five days and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaitlyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Black Orchid Resort for six nights in mid-March. It was better than we ever expected. The area is beautiful, quiet, and well maintained. The resort staff are very gracious and welcoming. Any time Beverly, the manager, passed us on the property, she would greet us, ask how things were going, and if there was anything we needed.We took daily tours arranged by the resort. We had many choices that allowed us to explore the country. The tour guides, who are resort staff, were extremely informative and accommodating. We really appreciated their assistance, and they quickly became our friends.

Room Tip: This is a very small resort -- everything is in close proximity to the breakfast room, pool, and res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I liked this place a lot, but it does have a few drawbacks.

First, the pluses. Their biggest asset is their staff. I had booked a complete package, including airport pickup, daily breakfast and dinner, and daily sightseeing. Everything was arrange perfectly, from airport pickup to airport dropoff at the end. Guides on the hotel staff were all very knowledgeable about all types of wildlife and plants and Belizean history and culture.

I ended up changing and rescheduling many of my tours, once because weather had made one unavailable, and the rest because I changed my mind about which tours would be best for me. The staff went out of their way to accommodate all my changes. I can't say enough good things about them!

The grounds are lovely, with lots of flora and fauna, and a river with pedal boats and kayaks right there. I had a huge room with a gorgeous hand-carved door in the new building. No complaints about comfort or convenience.

But yes, there are a few minuses too. The pool is quite small and hard to get in and out of. There is a hot tub on the roof of the new building, but while I was there it wasn't heated or used.

The food is inconsistent. I had some really good dishes, and I don't think you'll go wrong at dinner if you order the special, which includes an appetizer and dessert. Both times I ordered it (creole fish and shrimp once, ribs the other time), it was excellent. The grilled shrimp are also predictably good. However, I got a truly terrible lunch -- what must have been a reheated burger and fries, practically inedible. The service is predictably very, very slow, and I could see no reason for this, since the dining room was mostly empty when I was there.

Even with a few dining problems, I would definitely recommend Black Orchid, and would stay here again myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atk1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOrchidResort, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much for your honest review of our property, we are always striving to improve our guest experience and your feedback make it easier for us to do so. I investigated the less than satisfactory lunch experience you had and have taken steps that i believe will correct that very real problem.
The pool on the roof is not a hot tub. It is a dipping pool and was available for your use. For most of the year in Belize we need a cool dip so the pool was designed with that objective. Thanks again and all the best as you continue to explore the planet. We are grateful that we were blessed by your presence.
Sincerely
Doug Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I visited the Black Orchid from 12/24/13 to 1/2/14. We found the Black Orchid to be a great "home base" for going out on adventures. The resort is well-situated to permit short drives to Mayan ruins, cave-tubing, zip-lining, and catching the boat to go snorkling or visiting one of the islands. The accommodations suited our needs perfectly and the in-house restaurant food was quite tasty and very reasonably priced. Beverly and her team, especially Edar, Gidell, Ceasar, and "Tints" were attentive to our every need and provided outstanding service! They treated us like one of their family. We will certainly go back and visit again and strongly reccommend the Black Orchid for anyone seeking an authentic Belizian experience.
Mitch J

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

After reading the many exceptional reviews about this hotel, I booked it for our last night in Belize. The resort is not bad, nor great…….it's average. The location is nice - right on the Belize River with lots of foliage, flowers and monkeys in the trees. The rooms were fine, but had a "tired" feel to them - as does the entire resort. The pool had lots of leaves and debris in it and there were no pool towels available (they were being washed). The wi-fi was down the entire length of our stay. The food at the restaurant was good and we did have the complimentary continental breakfast, but after looking for someone to help, we ended up searching through the cupboards and making our own pot of coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackOrchidResort, Owner at Black Orchid Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank for taking the time to review our property, I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectation on the day that you visited. Customer satisfaction is our gold and I am disappointed when we fall short of that. To ensure that we consistently achieve our objective, I am taking our entire staff, every department through a certification process in an effort to guarantee the best possible service at all times. We have already upgraded many of our rooms and will completely overhaul every aspect of the Black Orchid experience. There will however always be times when mother nature prevails and because we are in a jungle setting with many trees even with due diligence, leaves will enter the pool.
Sincerely
Doug Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here one night and really enjoyed it! Beautiful location along the Belize river, and an evening chorus by the howler monkeys! Clean, relaxing, with very attentive staff and attractive rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrell Boom
15.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
12.0 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
14.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
67 reviews
23.1 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
21.5 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Orchid Resort

Property: Black Orchid Resort
Address: 2 Dawson Lane | Belize District, Burrell Boom, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Burrell Boom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrell Boom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize has such contrasts from the beaches to the jungle to the Mayan ruins, from the rivers to the Cayes, a good base from which to see it all, is the Black Orchid Resort on the banks of the Belize River on the outskirts of Burrell Boom Village, fifteen minutes from the international airport it’s easy to reach and easy to leave from. Just a short distance away from Belize City, the resort is also within an hour’s drive of most of the country’s mainland attractions, making it a convenient launching point for your vacation adventures. We provide accommodations with an ambiance of environmental radiance, alluring air conditioned rooms and immaculate, quiet and safe grounds. We are an excellent alternative to Belize City and gateway to all Belize has to offer; with knowledgeable guides and transportation for snorkeling, deep sea fishing, cave tubing, Maya Ruin tours, complimentary international airport shuttle, free use of kayaks, canoes, peddle boats and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Black Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Orchid Hotel Burrell Boom
Black Orchid Belize City
Black Orchid Resort Belize/Burrell Boom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing