We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“above and beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GumboLimbo Jungle Resort
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“above and beyond expectations”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Upon arriving we found the property to be above and beyond our expectations. The owners made you feel like you were at home.
If you want quiet (no dogs barking, church bells ringing all night) this is the place, you can do all the exploring and day journeys from here, and you will be hard pressed to find better food in any restaurant in San Ignacio. They even have draught beer.
On a hot day you can jump into their pool located in the centre on the complex, just steps from the cabanas.
When you awake you are greeted by Jen and Mike, the owners with a warm and genuine smile
As one guest commented (I feel like a princess here)
CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN
Robin and Dawn McKay Victoria, Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belizian1Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My family started our Belizean vacation at Gumbo Limbo and Mike and Jenny set the bar very high. We arrived late in the evening and were welcomed with drinks and smiles. Even though we hadn't prearranged meals, there was a delicious stewed chicken supper available. Lunch the next day was equally as good - try the nachos! (Thanks Emmy and Chris!) Our room was beautiful, spotless, and had plenty of room for the four of us and all our stuff. The setting is beautiful - a lovely tropical garden on the top of a knoll, surrounded by thick jungle.

We didn't have plans for the day and we didn't have transportation, but Mike made arrangements to take us ziplining and drove us over and back, with a scenic tour on the way.

I didn't realize it when booking, but the location of Gumbo Limbo is great - short of staying right in San Igancio, which we didn't want to do, this resort is at a really excellent location for access to a lot of the Cayo attractions like Barton Creek, Calico Jack's, Xunantunich, and Caracol. You inevitably end up spending time on dirt roads in the Cayo, but this location can minimize that time while giving you a secluded place to rest in between.

The last thing I have to comment on is how wonderful the place was to have our family. The kids (ages 8 and 11) were made to feel welcome and had lots of room to run and play. They enjoyed the pool in spite of the rain, and had lots of fun in the hammocks and collecting rocks around the grounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaylene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We found GumboLimbo while in Cayo district visiting the Pine Mountain area with all of its gorgeous water falls and mountain rivers. Some of the most beautiful parts of Belize are all around this resort. There are 4 really large cabanas with cool front porches to watch the beauty all around you. Loved the bar and restaurant and the owners really care about their guests. I recommend this resort as the perfect Cayo resort for families since the big rooms and pool will make everyone happy. Can't wait to get back there when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanHeimbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at Gumbo Limbo for 2 nights in January. This resort in the middle of a jungle is amazing. The location is perfect as it is in close proximity to the Western Highway and yet far away from a crowded area. This location is convenient for a number of attractions in this area. We stayed at Gumbo Limbo on the way to and from Tikal. The place is built by the owners with love and very tastefully decorated. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the views are breathtaking. 4 cabanas are very spacious, with all modern conveniences, comfortable beds and beautiful linens. Jenny and Mike are wonderful hosts. We felt as if we were their personal guests staying in their home and were totally spoiled by their attention to every little request we made. We had our breakfasts and dinners at the resort, the food was delicious and served on fine china. On our first morning at the resort we had to leave really early, at 6 am, to go to Tikal, so our breakfast was served at 5:30 am! We also enjoyed very much our conversations with Jenny, Mike and Steve, their son. It was difficult to leave from such a lovely place, we hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
06016
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Gumbolimbo. The room was a free-standing casita and was large with numerous windows, needed for ventilation as it rained the last 8 days we were in Belize. It was very clean and comfortable. Mike and Jen are fantastic hosts. They are very accommodating and friendly. The setting is beautiful and relaxing, although most of the time we were out exploring the area and not relaxing. The pool IS swimable in the winter, although it would have to be described as refreshing. Gumbolimbo is close enough to San Ignacio to eat there for variety and some very reasonable prices. We were worried about the State Department warnings against driving after dark, but that did not turn out to be a problem. Concern was about pedestrians and bicycles without lights (these definitely were there, but defensive driving handles these), animals on the road (no issues here), and potholes (no worse than the northern US at the end of winter, at least on the paved roads - the dirt roads were typical dirt roads in a tropical climate). Of course, the extensive "speed bumps" or even worse "pedestrian crossings" have to be watched for very carefully, as excessive speed over theses could cause some car damage. In summary, do not be afraid to stay at Gumbolimbo as a base to explore the wider area, even after dark.

Much ballyhoo has been made of the driveway, but it really is not any worse than some of the main dirt roads, such as the one to Caracol. We had a 4x4, but used 2-wheel drive for everything in Belize (except the one time we ran over a curb and used 4x4 to back out). High clearance definitely is recommended, though.

The only slight downside at Gumbolimbo for us was the dinner food, which we found to be a bit too bland and too salty. Granted we are picky eaters, preferring fresh vegetables and seafood with very little additional seasoning added. Meat and potato eaters we are not. However, there are great eating opportunities nearby, including an excellent and surprisingly reasonable restaurant (the best meal we had in all of Belize) at Coppola's Blancaneaux Lodge, 1/2 hour from Gumbolimbo.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Mike & Jenny run an amazing resort and have a beautiful place to call home! My husband & I stayed with them for four nights after spending 10 days on Ambergris Caye...it was paradise! So peaceful & quiet, beautiful grounds and a lovely cabana. The staff was amazing, the food was outstanding & the personal touch the owners put into our stay was out of this world. We highly recommend this place and will definitely be staying again on our next trip to Belize.

Thanks again for the wonderful Christmas dinner - it was so nice to feel loved & taken care of while away from home our first time on Christmas! XxOo

Bob & Jen from Seattle

Room Tip: If you book with Expedia or any of those travel services, it's best to call the owners and let t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My cousins and I made Gumbo Limbo our home base, while in Belize for 10 days. We had so much fun talking with Mike, Jen, and the gang during our dinner meals. They all went out of their way to make us feel pampered. The food, the views, and the company were all spectacular. The rooms are very large and clean. It was great that we had an all-wheel drive to get in to the resort and afforded us the flexibility to come and go as we pleased; although one could relax by the pool and just enjoy being in the middle of the jungle too. The only bad thing was, having to say good-bye. I didn’t do so well with holding back the tears. I will never forget the wonderful people that run the Gumbo Limbo Resort.

Room Tip: Rent a small all-wheel drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgeville
5.6 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
7.1 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GumboLimbo Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GumboLimbo Jungle Resort

Property: GumboLimbo Jungle Resort
Address: 2 Miles Mountain Pine Ridge Road, Georgeville, Belize (Formerly Gumbo Limbo Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Georgeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Georgeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — GumboLimbo Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is nestled in the jungle in the Cayo District, 7 miles from the bustling twin towns of Santa Elena & San Ignacio. Only 2 miles from the Western Highway on the Mountain Pine Ridge Rd . We are centrally located to many major Mayan archaeological sites and caves, and other attractions in Belize. The resort consists of well appointed accommodation, large spacious cabañas with en suite facilities and hot and cold water, comfortable relaxing areas with panoramic views over the Maya mountains. We are an eco-friendly resort using solar and wind power and every effort is being made to maintain the natural environment. Fully licensed bar. Restaurant. Swimming pool. Free high-speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your GumboLimbo Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing