We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Cuisine”
Review of Crooked Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crooked Tree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fine Cuisine”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A world-traveled Brit named Mick and his lovely Belizean wife are the hosts at Crooked Tree. Their two (soon to be three) boys provide local color and entertainment for free. The cabanas are comfortable and pleasant with nice bathrooms. During periods of heavy rainfall the lake is very high and you won't see as many birds. If you come to see the huge storks, check to make sure the lake is very low, so that the fish are easy to catch. We are here in March and the water is high, so no storks.

The food provided by Crooked Tree is super good and healthy. Lots of salad and fruit and fresh vegetables. You will feel as if you have been invited to Mick and Angie's house for dinner. The prices are fixed:$10 for breakfast and lunch, and $15 for a 3 course dinner. Those prices are US dollars. For two days now, however, we have had a late breakfast and then skipped lunch, and had a delicious dinner.

The only drawback to CTL is how difficult it is to get to. We endured a 5-hour bus ride from Placencia to Belize City, then bit the bullet and paid $50 US for a taxi from there to the Lodge. The floods in January nearly wiped out the causeway access and they are now repairing the road, but you can only drive about 5 mph on it.

Crooked Tree Lodge does not accept credit cards and there is no ATM nearer than Belize City, so you should bring more cash than you think you need, or make sure your PayPal account is ready to use.

Room Tip: All cabanas face the lake and all are quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
136
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Crooked Tree Lodge had been recommended by a friend for a few days R & R before my sister and I met up w/ our Blount Small Ship Adventure in Belize City. From first contact by email to arrival I felt welcome. I had asked Mick, the owner to make arrangements to have us met at the airport and driven to the lodge. Our flight was 3 hrs late getting in and I was wondering how in the world we would get out to the Lodge since I had no thought they would be there but... they were still waiting for us!!! Off we went thru the Belize night to the sanctuary. We arrived by 9 and Mick's wife Angie had dinner waiting for us which was delicious.. There was an honor bar w/the basics that you needed to unwind after a day w/ United Airlines. Our cabin had one large room w/ a queen and a double, 2 fans, a separate but open full bath w/ hot water, plenty of room and a nice porch. The linens and towels were clean, fresh and looked new. The beds were very comfortable. The noises from the lagoon wildlife, which must have been abundant, wisked us into a deep sleep. In the morning the Lodge and grounds were beautiful and well kept.. We enjoyed early morning coffee on the deck listening to and spotting the incredible birds waking w/ the sun. Mick had lined up some tours for us and after a requested light breakfast of fresh fruits, yogurt, toast and coffee (others had more substantial eggs, sausage etc) we were off. Angie dropped the 2 boys off at school and then dropped us at the start of our wonderful boat ride up the river to the Lamanai Ruins which took most of the day and the guide supplied a home made lunch then a quick ride back down the river where Mick was waiting for us. We got back in time to enjoy a lovely evening talking w/ the other guests about what they had seen and done followed by another of Angie's wonderful full course dinners w/ decadant deserts. After dinner we enjoyed getting to know Mick and Angie and how they came to be "Crooked Tree Lodge". It sounded like a labor of love and I'm glad they took the years to develop the Lodge so we could have the opportunity to visit. The next morning Mick had arranged for our Zoo tour ( a definite must stop) and then to have us driven to Belize City to catch our small boat. We were only at the Lodge for 2 nights and wished we had scheduled more time there. Not the place if you are looking for "resort" type amenities but if you are looking for peace, quiet, clean w/ homey atmosphere and esp if you are a birder this is for you..

Room Tip: All rooms were close proximity to the lagoon and all had views w/ easy walk to the lodge main room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stony creek
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

one the great gems in the traveling world...the owners, there kids, the property was great...being so remote and yet so close to Belize City made this place even more interesting..loved it...the wild horses, the bird guide Rueben...the kayaking made this place special

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksonmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We visited the lodge after the floods and the road was inaccessible, so Mick and Angie came to meet us and take us across the water in a boat, which added to the whole experience. We were made to feel very welcome. The cabanas were very nice, but we spent most of the time outside sitting on the dock, watching the hummingbirds on the flowers around the cabana or on bird watching walks with a fantastic local guide. They even organised a boat trip on the lagoon. The food was home cooked and really good. This hotel is quite out of the way, but if you are a nature lover, or want a few days away from it all it's definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkismith130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stopped at Crooked Tree Lodge briefly between visits to the Cayo district and Caye Caulker and really enjoyed it. Mick and Angie were relaxed and welcoming, serving a delicious dinner and organising for a knowledgeable local guide to point out some of the bird and plant life early in the morning. We had a paddle on the lagoon and enjoyed a beer or two overlooking the water with a dog or two to keep us company. The cabana we slept in was clean and well equipped - a very pleasant place to stop and enjoy Belize and nature.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sievwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I loved my 2 day stay here - it was just perfect for me - at the end of an active 3 week holiday in Belize. I was able to totally relax and go for leisurely bird-watching walks (accompanied sometimes by friendly dogs). Mick and Angie were perfect hosts and are both great chefs, cooking delicious meals and catering very well with my dairy intolerance. Big tasty breakfasts are included and lunch and dinner is provided if you want. My cabana was clean and adequately furnished with a very comfy bed, efficient mosquito screens and an electric fan to keep me cool.The lodge is a fabulous place for couples and families too - and there are camping facilities. I certainly recommend a stay at this lodge, particularly for anyone interested in birds, and I will definitely stay there again myself when I return to Belize.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindiLoo193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The lodge is beautiful and surrounded by a lagoon and amazing greenery! We stayed there for two nights on our way to Caye Caulker. It is a 30-minute or so cab ride from the airport but its worth it! The cabanas are simple and clean and well priced. Mick and Angie are great hosts and go out of their way to make you feel at home. Angie was quick to respond to all my questions and helped me plan some of our outings...she recommended the Lamanai eco tour and we loved it!! The accomodation comes with breakfast and dinner - cooked by Mick and Angie themselves..and the food is delicious! If you dont have any plans to go out on day trips you can just chill on the hammocks overlooking the lagoon and watch the birds and wildlife around you! This place is great for couples or families. We definitely recommend the Crooked Tree Lodge for your vacation in Belize!

Room Tip: We chose a basic cabana with a double bed- comes with fans and an attached bath. If you have specifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crooked Tree
17.8 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
557 reviews
15.5 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
0.8 mi away
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Crooked Tree
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bird's Eye View Lodge
Bird's Eye View Lodge
#2 of 3 in Crooked Tree
119 reviews
15.7 mi away
Nature Resort
Nature Resort
#1 of 16 in Belize City
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Lodge

Property: Crooked Tree Lodge
Address: Crooked Tree, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Crooked Tree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Crooked Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crooked Tree Lodge, nestled on the shore of Crooked Tree Lagoon within the Crooked Tree Wildlife Sanctuary. Features six stand-alone cabanas all with large (hot & cold) private bath, and balconies overlooking the lagoon. The impressive lodge building features spectacular views of the abundant local wildlife (watch the crocodiles and birds as you eat breakfast). Lodge specialty meals include Rotisserie roasted chicken, local fish and BBQ roast beef as well as traditional Belizean fare. Crooked Tree Lodge is family run and we can cater to you whatever your budget or length of stay. We look forward to seeing you. regards, Mick & Angie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crooked Tree Hotel Crooked Tree
Crooked Tree Lodge Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing