We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magnificent experience!”
Review of Crooked Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crooked Tree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tilley, ONT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A magnificent experience!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This part of our trip to Belize was absolutely the tops for me. The lodge itself is so clean and full of interesting information and set in gorgeous area with the lagoon and pond on either side of the building. Mick and Angie are very welcoming. We arrived later than expected, but within minutes we had a lovely lunch in a stunning setting. Every meal we ate here was beautifully prepared and eating with our travelling companions from many different countries was probably the highlight. We used the lodge as a base to see Lamanai and to do several birding trips. The guide for a couple of bird watching outings was Ruben. Boy, he really knows his birds. A birding highlight was seeing Jabiru flying right above the lodge. Walking with Ruben just along the quiet dirt road was quite amazing. So many sightings while just taking a stroll. We learned a lot about the community of Crooked Tree and about the cashews, a major crop. We are planning on going back for longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptaker5650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
136
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I traveled to Belize in February 2014. We stayed one night at the Crooked Tree Lodge as part of a 10-day birding package. Mick and his wife Angie were wonderful hosts. The main lodge is beautiful and our private cabin was perfect, very clean and charming with a super comfortable bed. The meals were outstanding.

We had several missteps by our tour provider, which put an extra burden on Mick. He was very gracious and came to our rescue providing 2 outstanding birding guides. One the day we arrived for an afternoon walk and then the next morning for an excellent guided birding experience by boat. We saw many amazing birds.

If you decide to spend time in this area of Belize, I highly recommend the Crooked Tree Lodge. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. I give it the highest possible rating. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregV12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent value lodge, situated on lakeside with extensive grounds. Very good food. Good location for bird watching; lodge operator arranges lagoon and walking tours with local guides. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houndsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Crooked Tree Lodge was a perfect combination of natural surroundings and comfort. After our long drive, we were rewarded by friendly owners and a relaxed atmosphere. Checking in was quick and the brief tour was helpful. We immediately wanted to enjoy the sanctuary and had a wonderful walk, accompanied by 2 of their very friendly and laid back dogs. The bird viewing was amazing. If we had more time, I would have taken advantage of tours of the lagoon or to a nearby Mayan site via the river. Dinner was more than expected, with a buffet of fresh and delicious options. We especially appreciated being asked for any dietary concerns. Breakfast was generous and fresh as well. The owners were always available for our questions, including bird identification, and general information about the area. The room was a good value; it was a small cabana that had a porch and fan that helped with the warm night air. The room was clean and bedding comfortable. The lodge, including dining area, was very well decorated. The atmosphere was one of relaxation and connection with the natural beauty of the sanctuary.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbpaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
222 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Crooked Tree Lodge is run by a very friendly couple, Mick and Angie and is well-located for the dedicated bird watcher in the heart of the Crooked Tree Sanctuary. Although not far from the airport in miles, there is no public transport that serves the airport or the lodge although there is a bus service along the main highway. We opted to have Mick pick us up at the airport for $70 and it was really nice to have him there waiting for us after our epic journey from Brisbane to Belize!

Crooked Tree Lodge seemed to have the most reviews that also praise their birding guides so that was the deciding factor for me. We were not disappointed and their guide showed us a lot of amazing birds. It didn’t hurt that the cabins are so cute, the scenery is amazing and Angie’s cooking was also highly praised! The bird photos on their website were also very enticing! We were the only guests while we were there which was a shame since this charming lodge has something for everyone, especially eco-tourists. Although we only stayed one night, we loved this place and wish we could have stayed longer.

Photos: http://www.milestothewild.com/lodge-review-crooked-tree-lodge-belize/

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tikibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Angie and Mick operate a wonderful lodge. They welcome all into their family (2 beautiful boys, many dogs and a soon to come new addition), The food is amazing and you are well taken care of whether you are touring, birding or just relaxing. Their guides were very knowledgeable and amazing at spotting a wide variety of birds, herbs, and wildlife.The cabins are secluded and wonderfully decorated, with great views of the massive lagoon. Take a short bike ride to tour the small village or kayak on the lagoon or just hang out between activities. Their neighbors and staff are very friendly and always ready to help with advice or directions. We spent a special 3 days at Crooked Tree Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A very friendly welcome, to begin with.
Very comfortable cabañas. Very good breakfast and dinner.
It is absolutely recommended to get up early to watch the sunrise. it's awesome. In the morning, the lagoon is like liquid silver, mercury. The colors/view change every second.
And not to forget: there are a lot of birds just around the lodge.
The day we were leaving we were also very lucky that Mick had to go in the same direction, so he took us there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edhimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crooked Tree
17.8 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
15.5 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
0.8 mi away
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Crooked Tree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bird's Eye View Lodge
Bird's Eye View Lodge
#2 of 3 in Crooked Tree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
15.7 mi away
Nature Resort
Nature Resort
#1 of 16 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
59.6 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Tree Lodge

Property: Crooked Tree Lodge
Address: Crooked Tree, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Crooked Tree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Crooked Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crooked Tree Lodge, nestled on the shore of Crooked Tree Lagoon within the Crooked Tree Wildlife Sanctuary. Features six stand-alone cabanas all with large (hot & cold) private bath, and balconies overlooking the lagoon. The impressive lodge building features spectacular views of the abundant local wildlife (watch the crocodiles and birds as you eat breakfast). Lodge specialty meals include Rotisserie roasted chicken, local fish and BBQ roast beef as well as traditional Belizean fare. Crooked Tree Lodge is family run and we can cater to you whatever your budget or length of stay. We look forward to seeing you. regards, Mick & Angie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crooked Tree Hotel Crooked Tree
Crooked Tree Lodge Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing