We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Christmas Break with a Family Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Having enjoyed dining here these past years, we decided to indulge ourselves with a Christmas Package. We are so glad we did, from pre-dinner drinks on Christmas Eve To departure on Boxing Day, Parvis, his co-ordinator, Orsi and their team did all within their power to make everyone (and there were quite a few of us!) feel welcome. Rooms are comfortable, well-appointed, (we especially appreciated the large magnifying mirror) and not too small. The hotel was comfortably warm and festively decorated, it has magnificent views across the vale with Tewkesbury Abbey in the distance and Cleeve Hill, for those actively inclined, is great for ramblers. Although there is a bus stop (to Cheltenham or Winchcombe) outside the hotel a car is preferable, but this would be a great location for those attending the races, Sudeley Castle or just wanting a quiet, relaxing break

Room Tip: Our preference would be from 1 to 12, purely for the view. This is a hotel on a steep hill, so a cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Many thanks for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed B & B in a room overlooking fabulous views of Cheltenham and surrounding countryside.
The room had no pictures and was tired. We parked in the nearest space to reception where only one car can park next to you and still managed to have our car hit by a guest who was too old to drive. Luckily witnesses and police helped convince him that he'd done the damage. The hotel staff were not that sympathetic and tried to make light of it, when I was flaming angry and looking for help. The guy on reception even told me the wrong name of the chap who hit my car.
The breakfast was good. Would I stop there again but not until they make their parking bays bigger.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickmBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Sorry for your car being damaged in our car park but glad that our security cameras identified the person responsible and they readily admitted to the offence and you both exchanged details. Thank you for you positive comments, as well as your co9nstructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to The Rising Sun Hotel in the New Year. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We booked in last minute & unfortunately were charged a high rate for a 'very' pokey room. My partners legs were hanging over the very small double bed & we could hear the dishes clanging from the kitchen. We were very unhappy with the room & the amount we were charged! They were unable to change rooms for us or upgrade.
However, I have marked this review as very good as I felt that the location, breakfast & morning service was up to standard.
The hotels location is excellent, with huge bay windows in the reception, bar area & dining area overlooking the countryside. The hotel is clean and has a nice atmosphere.
I would suggest not taking a room that is down in the basement as adjacent to the kitchen area as this would certainly disappoint.
Reception staff could do with being a little more attentive as found it was hardly ever manned & when contacted it seemed they were far too busy to deal with anything.
Service at breakfast was exceptional!
Would visit again but would ensure given a better room!

Room Tip: Ensure that your room is not based downstairs which is adjacent to the kitchen which can prove noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroad2nowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately on this occasion due to high occupancy of the hotel and your last minute booking we were unable to upgrade. Hope this has not put you off visiting us when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions in the last five years and have never been disappointed. The staff and service are excellent and the food good value for money. The beds are very comfortable and most rooms have an excellent view. If you like walking then Cleeve Hill behind the hotel is great and once you have climbed to the top it offers good views and flat walking. The manager even served us at breakfast and we had a great conversation. We always look forward to our visit here and can't wait for the next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricketmadperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

We were delighted to read your review and hear about your stay and how much you enjoyed it. We are very proud of the team that we have here at The Rising Sun Hotel and reading your comments will definitely give them a sense of achievement as it is always nice to hear when we have been able to go above and beyond for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

just a one night stay i believe a sunday night, mid november . beautiful surroundings,great friendly service, food excellent,room perfect and spacious,wonderfull views . i cant speak highly enough of this place and have recommended it to one and all.

Room Tip: just one small point .the front bedrooms are by a fairly busy road,so come 7 am a little noisey .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukmatt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

It’s lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable experience when you stayed with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. I will share your feedback with the team as we strive to deliver the same high standard to all our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Absolutely fantastic 2 night stay here. The food and the room were great and excellent value for money. The presentation of the food on the plates was excellent and lovely menu with a great selection and choice. The hotel room was of good design, spacious with comfy beds and a fantastic ensuite bathroom The icing on the cake which made the stay extremely enjoyable were the staff members. Their service and helpfulness was great, nothing was too much trouble. The staff members that I spoke to had worked at the hotel for about 8 years and it was obvious that they loved their job and they took real pride in their duties. Their chattiness, friendliness and sense of humour has made our 2 night stay memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmopp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your kind, positive comments, which I will pass on to the team. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for a night on Sunday 24th and we had a wonderful meal in the bar and our Labrador was made so welcome by all the staff. We hope to go again soon. Lovely walks on Cleeve common a short step away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a good stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
297 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
510 reviews
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
550 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range: £63 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel Cleeve Hill, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing