We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Beers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stopped here to bring back old memories (one of the first places I ever drank beer). And I have to say I was very pleased.

The interior was clean and professional looking, and maybe more importantly for this venue, the windows were clean.

I had a pint of the Christmas beer and it was well kept, I also had a pint of IPA which was the same. The staff were friendly and helpful.

And the view was still amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJWritesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thanks so much for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here .
We got an absolute bargain with a code from a well known national newspaper and stayed in a superior room with a four poster bed , stunning views of Cheltenham / Tewkesbury ( well would have been if there wasn't torrential rain and mist during our stay !) for just £40 a night . You could have had a standard room for just £20 a night !
The staff were all very friendly and the food was pretty good and reasonable value . The staff did at times seem under pressure as it was busy in the evenings and service was a little slow at times but for the price we paid you can't complain .
The hotel is very handy for Cheltenham and the main sites of the Cotswolds are all within half an hours drive .
We will definitely be revisiting .

Room Tip: Try and get one of the deals from the newspaper and book a superior room as they are large , have go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you very much for a such fantastic feedback. We are very proud of the quality of our service and it makes us very happy when we hear a word of appreciation from our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had a warm welcome on arrival. The bedroom and bedding were very clean and the beds were
comfortable. We ate in the restaurant where the staff were very friendly and the lamb shank was
excellent. The panoramic view from the bedroom was amazing. The breakfast menu was very good unfortunately we weren't that hungry so didn't do it justice. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 16 which had a lovely view but there was some traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked this hotel for one night on day of departure last Thursday, stayed one night!
It was exceptional value for money! We had a twin room looking the outskirts of Cheltenham, beautiful view! The room did smell of smoke, however, we had the last one available, therefore, we are not downgrading it! Beggars can't be choosers!
We had dinner there and family joined us for drinks! Very reasonably priced and value for money!
We would have no hesitation in staying there again, far exceeded our expectations!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Denny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to review our restaurant. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our hotel and food , thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bar and restaurant were very inviting. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the staff were very courteous and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with a very choice of hot dishes on the menu. Only complaint we have is that on the one night we were charged for two puddings that we did not have. We asked for the bill to be added to our room and when we checked out we paid the bill as it was about the right amount. When we got home we checked the amount that had been put on the restaurant tab and it was then that we spotted this mistake. This should not have happened and we were a bit annoyed that we were charged for something that we did not have. We will definitely stay here again but next time we will check the bill very carefully.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our restaurant, we are very pleased you enjoyed our food and restaurant. Our restaurant is usually very busy and mistakes happen however I will pass the feedback to the team so they pay more attention and mistakes like this do not happen again. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

* Bedroom – fine in size, with TV and tea/coffee plus great Bronte biscuits from Scotland! However, the intermittent hum of the generator can be heard even when the windows are closed, so don’t stay in room 19 if you're a very light sleeper. Also, the carpet is only just about on the right side of turning manky. There is a small desk to work from, and free wifi that works well.
* Bed – a double bed, even though a single room.
* Bathroom – the bathroom is disproportionately large and has a bath. It is very warm, either because there is underfloor heating, or by happy coincidence the hot water pipes run down the middle!
* Breakfast – the highlight of the stay. Pleasant views, good selection of cereal and juice; and best of all, the hot items are prepared to your order. No turgid scrambled egg drying out under lamps or sausages swimming in fatty trays! I was in a rush and my poached eggs came quickly and perfectly.
* Bar – this is a Greene King, so expect decent real ale options, as well as a select wine list that touches the popular bases. The menu looks like it stretches across a number of Greene King venues but check out the small clipboard of specials here. If my game pie experience is anything to go by, you will not be disappointed.
* Bods – staff are very good here.
* Budget – the rate I got was very good value.
* Back (i.e. would we return?) - Yes, although don’t presume this is a small inn – it is quite a big place – and nor is it remote, being situated on a B road, but the traffic does not disturb. Most confusingly, wherever I was (in room or in the bar), I kept hearing an electronic doorbell ringing and I’ve no idea why.
* Beyond the hotel...I didn’t get time to explore but the hotel claims to be “the highest point in the Cotswolds enjoying views of five counties” and the guestbook featured positive comments from plenty who had stayed 2 nights, so it seems a great base from which to explore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickAndPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you very much for such detailed and positive feedback about our hotel. We are delighted you have enjoyed your visit. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have stayed here many times. Usual good quality rooms and facilities. Restaurant and bar area well thought out, great for business or pleasure, priced just right.
Breakfast choice is great- catering for nibblers and workers.
Good choice of real ale.

Room Tip: recommended, rooms on car park side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 749mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Receptionist at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

We really appreciate feedback and it’s wonderful when it is so positive. The team are so pleased you had a great stay and have shared your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
509 reviews
2.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
550 reviews
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel Cleeve Hill, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing