We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent staff, fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent staff, fantastic location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you wish to stay in or near Cheltenham try The Rising Sun.
The hotel has good parking, is in a fantastic location looking over the valley, the staff are
friendly and efficient from checking in, to the bar staff, to the waiting staff etc. Didn't meet the housekeeping staff but all in their charge was spotless. There is a good menu with a wide variety of well prepared fresh dishes.
Don't expect four star facilities or luxurious hot tubs and fitness centres - this is a well priced pub/hotel which deserves a visit and
is close to the Prescott Bugatti Owners Club speed hill climb motor sport venue.
If you like walking with a view - the hills are just behind the hotel waiting for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the front of the hotel - you won't regret it even if there is pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad to hear that all of your stay with us was as good as you say, at the rising sun we don't aim to be something we are not so I am glad that came across to you. Thank you also for the comments on our location, we are very fortunate to be close to many local attractions which we can recommend to our guests.
Myself and the team at the Rising Sun look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    228
    86
    51
    42
See reviews for
148
293
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here during our Cotswold Way walk just for one night. The views from the beer garden were stunning and our room very comfortable and clean. We found the choice of menu very good and the service was excellent. Would recommend it to anyone travelling to the Cheltenham area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad you enjoyed the costwold walk way, and pleased to hear that we were your chosen stop off point. We do pride ourselves on our excellent location with our superb views over the malvern hills.
Myself and the team at the Rising Sun hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We visit the restaurant a few times a year and some of the staff seem to have been there years,
Laszio always has a pleasant smile & looks after us well and Aishia seems to be of the same style.
This Sunday the place was buzzing very very busy therefore people had to wait a little longer for their food, some were very unhappy & kept complaining to the staff as if it were their fault that the place was busy.
We'll it was!
Without happy faces serving you the place would be empty & you would get food very quickly.
Keep up the good work staff of The Rising Sun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and pleased to hear that our staff stood out with their amazing work ethic and rapport they build with customers. We aim to give all our customers the very best of service even at our busiest moments.
Myself and the team at the Rising Sun, look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My son was getting married in Cheltenham so we stayed for four nights over a long weekend to provide easy access to all the events. The location is great with stunning views looking over to the Malvern Hills and beyond. There is a good beer garden and bar snacks can be had until 10 pm. Rooms were a bit dated but adequate and kept clean and well maintained. Restaurant meals were good without being over exciting. All the staff were exceptionally helpful, friendly and courteous and couldn't do enough for you. The live music evening on Sunday night was also very enjoyable. All in all it was a comfortable stay and I would definitely stay there again. Good value.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 6 have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleksHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Rising Sun, and took advantage of our adequately placed beer garden with stunning views overlooking Cheltenham, the Malvern Hills and Cheltenham Race Course.
Our staff aim to give every customer and guest the very best of service whether they are dining with us, having a catch up over coffee or just a pint whilst watching the football, we do our very best to help our guests relax while we do the work for them.
Myself and my team at the Rising Sun look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just a one night stay to attend a local event so only bar and room used. In a nutshell, great location with a stunning view. Very friendly and welcoming staff throughout. My room, #1, was well appointed, for the price range, very clean and had all of the usual contents. The bar staff were very efficient when serving which kept queues down and the prices were in line with expectations. Altogether very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidsDad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad to hear you were pleasantly surprised on our pub, and that your room was to your liking. Our view is most definitely one of the most favoured in cheltenham, as many customers and guests will agree. I am pleased to hear that our staff were very welcoming, as we try and give every guest an unforgettable memory and service, so that they leave with the impression of returning.
Myself and the Team at the Rising Sun, look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are 2 couples who stayed here recently. We couldn't fault the hotel. The rooms are a little worn, but the cleanliness was excellent, the beds very comfortable, food very good. We had breakfast each day and some evening meals, and were very satisfied. A special mention should go to the friendly and professional staff, who provided wonderful service. The location is lovely. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have good views. Beer garden below a little noisy when busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMcN29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that when dining with us our team members were as we always aim to be friendly and professional to give every customer an amazing and unforgettable experience.
Myself and the team at the Rising Sun, look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just back after spending six days here with hubby and good friends. The hotel was very comfortable,excellent views,great food but most of all very friendly staff. We love to go walking and there are fabulous walks quite near the hotel. We shall return

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrishmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am so pleased to hear that your stay with us was pleasant, and that you enjoyed our local walks in and amongst the Cotswold Way. I am glad to hear that every aspect of your stay from your room to dining with us were to your liking, and our service staff were friendly, we aim to give our guests unforgettable experiences that they treasure when leaving us.
Myself and the team at the rising sun look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
228 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
474 reviews
2.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
538 reviews
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 23 in Cheltenham
547 reviews
3.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel Cleeve Hill, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing