We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rising Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
US$273
US$160
Chic Retreats
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 38 The Park(Cheltenham)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
233
245
94
59
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
245
94
59
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalvern hillsbeer gardenold english innslamb shankpub grubbishops cleevebooked a tablegreene kingtwo night stayeggs benedictstaff were attentiveplenty of hot watersunday lunchcar parkwaiting staffshort breakfantastic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
409 - 414 of 679 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you wish to stay in or near Cheltenham try The Rising Sun.
The hotel has good parking, is in a fantastic location looking over the valley, the staff are
friendly and efficient from checking in, to the bar staff, to the waiting staff etc. Didn't meet the housekeeping staff but all in their charge was spotless. There is a good menu with a wide variety of well prepared fresh dishes.
Don't expect four star facilities or luxurious hot tubs and fitness centres - this is a well priced pub/hotel which deserves a visit and
is close to the Prescott Bugatti Owners Club speed hill climb motor sport venue.
If you like walking with a view - the hills are just behind the hotel waiting for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the front of the hotel - you won't regret it even if there is passing traffic from time to time.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad to hear that all of your stay with us was as good as you say, at the rising sun we don't aim to be something we are not so I am glad that came across to you. Thank you also for the comments on our location, we are very fortunate to be close to many local attractions which we can recommend to our guests.
Myself and the team at the Rising Sun look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here during our Cotswold Way walk just for one night. The views from the beer garden were stunning and our room very comfortable and clean. We found the choice of menu very good and the service was excellent. Would recommend it to anyone travelling to the Cheltenham area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad you enjoyed the costwold walk way, and pleased to hear that we were your chosen stop off point. We do pride ourselves on our excellent location with our superb views over the malvern hills.
Myself and the team at the Rising Sun hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We visit the restaurant a few times a year and some of the staff seem to have been there years,
Laszio always has a pleasant smile & looks after us well and Aishia seems to be of the same style.
This Sunday the place was buzzing very very busy therefore people had to wait a little longer for their food, some were very unhappy & kept complaining to the staff as if it were their fault that the place was busy.
We'll it was!
Without happy faces serving you the place would be empty & you would get food very quickly.
Keep up the good work staff of The Rising Sun.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and pleased to hear that our staff stood out with their amazing work ethic and rapport they build with customers. We aim to give all our customers the very best of service even at our busiest moments.
Myself and the team at the Rising Sun, look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My son was getting married in Cheltenham so we stayed for four nights over a long weekend to provide easy access to all the events. The location is great with stunning views looking over to the Malvern Hills and beyond. There is a good beer garden and bar snacks can be had until 10 pm. Rooms were a bit dated but adequate and kept clean and well maintained. Restaurant meals were good without being over exciting. All the staff were exceptionally helpful, friendly and courteous and couldn't do enough for you. The live music evening on Sunday night was also very enjoyable. All in all it was a comfortable stay and I would definitely stay there again. Good value.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 6 have excellent views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AleksHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Rising Sun, and took advantage of our adequately placed beer garden with stunning views overlooking Cheltenham, the Malvern Hills and Cheltenham Race Course.
Our staff aim to give every customer and guest the very best of service whether they are dining with us, having a catch up over coffee or just a pint whilst watching the football, we do our very best to help our guests relax while we do the work for them.
Myself and my team at the Rising Sun look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just a one night stay to attend a local event so only bar and room used. In a nutshell, great location with a stunning view. Very friendly and welcoming staff throughout. My room, #1, was well appointed, for the price range, very clean and had all of the usual contents. The bar staff were very efficient when serving which kept queues down and the prices were in line with expectations. Altogether very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidsDad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am glad to hear you were pleasantly surprised on our pub, and that your room was to your liking. Our view is most definitely one of the most favoured in cheltenham, as many customers and guests will agree. I am pleased to hear that our staff were very welcoming, as we try and give every guest an unforgettable memory and service, so that they leave with the impression of returning.
Myself and the Team at the Rising Sun, look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews