We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Ploughmans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Just been here for a late lunch with friends..... Haven't been here for years but was quite happy to give it a go.... Paid £9.95 for a Ploughmans which was one slice of a standard loaf of bread, two tiny slithers of cheese one of which was the rind of the Stilton which was inedible, two slices of ham which didn't look very appetising, half of what looked like a Tesco's pork pie, no butter, one pickled onion and two little offerings of some cheap rated chutney. We were all totally disappointed and that's five people who will not return. Also the sausages and mash came with onion gravy but the gravy was standard but had half a raw onion plonked in the middle of it. SHOCKING! DO NOT GO THERE TO EAT!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am extremely sorry to hear that your visit wasn't up to our usual standard, I can assure you I will notify the chefs on the matter of the English Ploughman's so that future guests do not experience the same issues.
Please do not let this visit discourage you from visiting us again soon. As you can rest assured you will not experience the same problems.
Thank you again, and Myself and The Team at the Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for The Rising Sun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for one night at a cost of £110 not including breakfast - definately not worth it. Good points are the amazing view and large bedroom. Minus points are that bedroom needed refurbishment, windowsill was very sticky, bathroom was grotty with broken towel rail lying on the floor. We saw the lunch and evening meals - looked to be of poor standard, and decided to eat in Winchcombe where we had an excellent meal. Much better places to stay locally.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank berks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am extremely sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to our usual standard. I have taken up your issues with our housekeeping team, and they will be resolved as soon as possible so we do not have future guests who stay with us experience the same problem.
Please do not be discouraged from staying with us for your next visit as I can assure you we will have these problems rectified.
Thank you again for your comments.
Myself and The Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very pleased with the parking as plenty of room any time of day as it was a large car park,
Enjoyed the food-had a meal at the hotel and really enjoyed the breakfasts, very filling .
Had entertainment one evening-a singer.
Could of easily stayed for longer as it was a lovely area to stay and if we had of done could of done lots more exploring of the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Establishment, I am pleased to hear your stay with us was as good as you say. The areas surrounding The Rising Sun Hotel live up to the Cotswold's name of being outstanding areas of natural beauty. The Team encourage the guests to explore the areas and point them in the directions of their favorite locations.
I am pleased to hear you appreciate the work we put into the Rising Sun to keep our guests entertained. We have entertainers performing every Sunday evening and Quiz Nights every Wednesday evening which are both extremely popular with locals and guests.
Thank you again and Myself and the Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Rising Sun is a wonderfully located hotel and restaurant with views forever. To the rear of the hotel parking lot is a walking trail - with a boatload of sheep hanging out - giving a cozy vibe to the whole scene. I believe this trail hooks up with the Cotswolds Trail which allows people to walk from village to village, staying at places like this as they go. The staff is warm and welcoming. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. This establishment is owned by the Greene King Brewery and the restaurant and bar are well managed. The ambiance is comfortable and interesting. We stayed on a Monday night and the terrace seating (with the astounding view) was full of locals as well as travelers. It is a convivial atmosphere and they run a Quiz night every Wednesday. Breakfast and dinner were good, with many options to choose from and including gluten free items which is important to me. Our room had an amazing view and they provided sleeping for three (as we travel with our 13 year-old son). My only caveat - which the hotel can do absolutely nothing about - is that the highway is quite close to the establishment and if you like to sleep with the windows open it is very loud with cars and trucks rolling by at the usual breakneck speed one finds in the UK:) Although I love the view - I might ask for a room in the back next time just for the quiet. We would absolutely stay here here again. I found this place through trip advisor and wanted to pay it forward.

Room Tip: The best views are from the top floor. There are amazing corner tables in the restaurant that provi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank daughterofasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, our location at The Rising Sun Hotel is second to none, overlooking the Malvern Hills and Severn Trent Valley.
I want to thank you for your kind words on our service and ambience, at The Rising Sun we pride ourselves on our excellence in customer service and commitment to ensuring our residents and customers have the most memorable stay with us, whether it is just for a coffee or a single nights stay.
Myself & The Team at the Rising Sun look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very helpful staff, excellent bar and restaurant, outside garden with sunset views to Malvern, blighted a little by the busy road. Access to excellent walks directly behind the free hotel parking.
Fantastic views into Wales from the top.Room - a little tired, no bedside light on one side, some noise from machinery below as window open - hot! Dog friendly room and hotel, very accommodating to our Belgian Shepherd. Lots of hot water. Floor creaked markedly.
No loo brush. Breakfast very nice and good value at £6.99. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with views would be great, but may be near road and bar noise, however not sure so check with...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank farbaldereagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Rising Sun, although the minor issues you had encountered with your room, we will take these on board and aim to improve them for our next guests.
I am glad to hear you would return to us.
Myself and The Team at the Rising Sun look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regard
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel was very relaxing and views were outstanding,you can see right over to the malverns.Interior was a little dated and odd bit of paintwork needs redoing but overall it is an old building after all.Staff were all very friendly and helpful.Meals were taken with views all around you.Up the hill behind the hotel is Cleeve Common,great walks,although quite steep.

Room Tip: Higher rooms means no walking past your window
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our stunning scenery over the Malvern hills. These are enjoyed by all our guests, visitors and walkers alike even if it is for a little pit stop break.
Our title "Old English Inn" does certainly live up to its name, but it's what makes us a quintessential British pub.
Myself and The Team at the Rising Sun look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The views are amazing and the hotel gives you ample places to take advantage of them. Laszio is everywhere and makes sure that your needs are met. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Ample parking available. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RutlandTreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our establishment. I am glad your enjoyed your recent visit with us, and appreciate your comments on our stunning location. We aim to only deliver the very best of service to every guest who dines with us, and I am glad to hear your comments on one of our team members.
I and the Team at the Rising Sun look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleeve Hill
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
262 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
493 reviews
2.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
543 reviews
3.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#14 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Cleeve Hill, Cleeve Hill, Cheltenham GL52 3PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Cleeve Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cleeve Hill
Price Range: £62 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel Cleeve Hill, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing