We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rising Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 38 The Park(Cheltenham)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
236
250
95
63
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
250
95
63
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalvern hillsbeer gardenold english innslamb shankpub grubbishops cleevebooked a tablegreene kingtwo night stayeggs benedictstaff were attentiveplenty of hot watersunday lunchcar parkwaiting staffshort breakfantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Positives: Lovely views, staff and food. Weather and company was good.
On the not so good rooms are very tired looking, decor and furnishing throughout need an overhaul! Bathrooms, I don't wish to think about, but please please in general teach your 'cleaners' how to clean, dusting would be start.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mmj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't up to our high levels of cleanliness, I shall take it up on with our housekeeping team to be more vigilant with their routines and to make regular checks on our rooms.
Thank you for your comments on our service, the Team at the Rising Sun hotel pride themselves on their excellence in customer service and commitment, and our views from our hotel are second to none as I'm sure most guests would agree.
Thank you again. Myself and the Team at the Rising Sun look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed on the 23rd of August while visiting friends in Carlton kings. We ate in the restaurant for lunch which we Both agreed was pretty good, nice bar area, clean food good, service polite and quick. We stayed in room 10, which had a nice view, the room however was a little tired but the real let down was the cleanliness of the room, we had hairs on the sink and in the bath, and around edge of the bathroom was dirty at floor level.

Room Tip: Good for meals and views....
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Well_travelled026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment. I am sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual standard, I have notified our housekeeping team to be more vigilant on their daily routines so this will not affect more guests who stay in the future.
I am however pleased to hear that the rest of your stay with us was up to standard and you enjoyed our hospitable service and the outstanding views from our hotel.
Thank you again, and Myself and The Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

had take our 2 grandchildren for a short walk on cleeve hill and dropped into the rising sun for a drink our 2 grandchildren said they were hungry and as it was late afternoon we bought them a beef burger each.

when the burgers arrived one of the grandchildren opened up his bun to put some ketchup on, within was a thin disc of over cooked meat and nothing else. no ring of onion, slice of tomato or piece of lettuce add to this a few chips and a spoonful of baked beans and we had been charged £3.89 for each and 2 small glasses of lemonade had cost £3.70.

rest assured we will not be taking our grandchildren to the rising sun again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank spyglass291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment. I am sorry to hear that your visit to us was not up to our usual standard, if you had mentioned to one of our obliging waiters we would have been able to resolve this issue and changed your meal for something of a higher standard.
I have however made our kitchen team aware of this issue to prevent it from reoccurring to future guests.
Myself and the Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here last weekend as we attended a wedding at Ellenborough Park. It is a great location for doing this as it is about half a mile down/up the hill and alot cheaper !! but only 5 mins away in the car or taxi.
The hotel was easy to find and the lady on reception was very welcoming. We were in room 21 with stunning views over the hills and a 4 poster bed. Both the bedroom and bathroom were big and spacious and very comfortable. Very creaky floorboards though but that was throughout the whole hotel not just our room. There was quite alot of traffic noise from the main road but the amount of time we were in our beds it didn't really matter. We had the full english in the morning which was average, nothing special but set us up for the journey home.
Overall a decent hotel, great views, nice rooms and in a great location for cheltenham and surrounding areas. Would visit again.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the front of the hotel for the views
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrummieMoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment. I am extremely pleased to hear that your stay with us was in your own words "comfortable". The Team at the Rising Sun Hotel aim to please all our guests and welcome them into our hotel as if they were coming home.
The Rising Sun Hotel is based in a great location for both shopping, walking, local attractions and more, so I am pleased to hear you chose us to stay with.
Myself and The Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Nice pub with a view to die for.

Food is ok, but you'll enjoy the view more to be honest. We ordered 6 meals between us, and at least half were very (very) marginal. The prices suggest to you that it's going to be a lot more desirable than the reality.

Good deserts though, if you like that sort of thing.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank chrisk495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parviz T, Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment, I am sorry to hear that not all of your stay with us was up to our usual high standard. I have taken the issue up with our kitchen team to prevent this from arising in the near future. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our picturesque views from our beer garden as many guests do!
Myself and the Team at The Rising Sun Hotel look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews