We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I try to stay here every time I come to this area about once per month. Delightful, relaxing, excellent food. Spacious rooms, impeccable grounds, good security. Robes and slippers, small lake, unbelievable spa. Try their tequila when you first arrive.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lamb3947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaElCarmen, Director General at Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Señor. Gracias por elegir la Hacienda para su estancia en la Ruta del Tequila y por enviarnos sus comentarios con la máxima puntuación. Me es grato saber que la habitación fue de su agrado. Esperamos tenerle pronto de nuevo en la Hacienda. Un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    19
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
62
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mari51
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you are of planning a group of event, especially a wedding, please beware that the management company (La Sauceda) handling La Hacienda del Carmen is not very ethical. We reached out to them to discuss the possibility of doing our wedding at the Hacienda. After several days of discussing dates, we settled on December 31st, 2013. So on August 7th we agreed on the date over the phone and via email where they advised me they would give us an 8 day hold on the Hacienda to decide if we wanted to book it. Since we are dealing with a short time frame for a wedding, we immediately started discussing prices, terms, meal plans, rehearsal dinner, setup, etc., all the things one would negotiate before the contract is finalized. We've talked on the phone every single day, emailed, and ceremony locations. And while they threw a few surprises in terms of costs for things they had not mentioned before, we decided to proceed with them not thinking anything of it. So today, August 10th, four days after the verbal and email agreement, we talked in the morning to finalized a few details and scheduled a date to visit in a few weeks to view the Hacienda and also how we are going to pay the deposit. Since we are only a few months away, calls have been made to our relatives and close friends to lock their calendar and began planning flights since its pretty expensive to travel that time of the year.

TWO HOURS later after, just as we are getting ready to put ink on the paper, I get a short email from the person we had been negotiating saying that the Dec. 31st date was no longer available and that we could do the wedding on Monday Dec. 30th, but we had to be out of the Hacienda the 31st for their guests. Further, the group can't get in the day before because only half of the rooms are available on December 29th. The Hacienda is about an 1 1/2 hour away from Guadalajara. We expect about 70 guests. Its not easy to be going back and forth from Guadalajara with so many guests for only one night.

I was frantic, talked to the person I had been dealing with and she confided that a preferred customer had called so the Hacienda was no longer available, per the manager, even though they had guaranteed me an 8 day hold. I asked to talk to the Manager, Monica Baeza Serrano, who called and in a very robotic and condensing tone apologized but said the that Dec 31st is never available anyway and they have graciously offered other options like Monday or Thursday, etc. so basically, we would have to wait until the day of the wedding to check in after the noon hour for the wedding and then be out out of there for New years and find a place in Guadalajara for one night. She also said they did nothing wrong because a contract was not signed, which we didn't because we were finalizing pricing and conditions as of that same very morning. She also said they don't have to call to alert their clients if someone wants the location on the same date, even if you are in the final stages of the contract. I told her that I was explicitely told by her staff that the date was available so it didn't make sense that all of a sudden their policy was that the 31st is never available and all of the 27 rooms are surprisingly now booked.

As you can imagine this is very upsetting and frustrating. Worst of all, the manager could have cared less. We are now again calling places and starting the whole process from scratch. It may not mean much, but when you are dealing with limited time, this is a really tough set back.

I attached pictures of the email exchanges where you will see the hold agreement for the Hacienda just a few days ago all the discussions within that time frame. You will also see in one of the exchanges how when i was asking the about another date they told me a client had a hold so they had to call and check if he still wanted it.

So please be very careful before you consider this location for such a special day like your wedding, especially if you are thinking of bringing guests from the US or overseas. The last thing you need is to be left hanging high and dry at the last minute.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank mari51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
390 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I was in Mexico on a combined business/holiday trip and we were taken to Hacienda el Carmen after the conference. All I can say is Wow! What an amazing place. We met Señora Monica, the proprietor, who has an amazing spirit. Everywhere you turn the details are beautiful. My son had a Merlot and Volcanic Ash Exfoliation Spa Treatment, which he said was relaxing and almost spiritual. If you ever get the chance to visit and stay at Hacienda el Carmen... do it! From the food, to the amazing grounds, with mango, lime and other trees and flowers, you'll absolutely love it.

Room Tip: Every one in our party had a beautiful room, so I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaElCarmen, Gerente at Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2015
Google Translation
Esperamos verle pronto por la Hacienda, reciba un cordial saludo.

Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently spent the day at Hacienda el Carmen and had a great time. Our group of 5 started with a relaxed and delicious lunch. After lunch we went out own ways for a couple of ours. One person went to the spa (She is very particular with her spas and absolutely loved it) two others from our party took a siesta in the hammocks and explored the grounds, while the two of us decided to hop on a horse for a few trips around the hacienda.

I'm looking forward to going back soon and enjoying the spa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoamoplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaElCarmen, Manager at Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear "yoamoplaya", thank you for taking your time to write this nice review about our Hacienda. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning our great customer service and Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My partner and I just spent a weekend at Hacienda el Carmen, visiting from New York on the way to Guadalajara. Without any qualification, this is one of the most beautiful places that I have ever seen.

The Hacienda is situated on a large property, with lush green gardens, a Spa, stables, a restaurant and bar, a small lake, a swimming pool and an endless variety of spots to sit and read, take photos, or just stare at the endless beauty in every direction. The rooms are scattered throughout the buildings, which date back the early 1700s. A former convent, it was converted to a hotel within the last decade or so.

Neither words nor photos can express how absolutely gorgeous it is - we were constantly taken aback by the flowers, the trees, the smells and the overall vibe of the place. It is extremely relaxed and "tranquilo", but with very high service standards; during our weekend, we were left alone to read, nap, and wander the grounds, yet wanted for nothing. Our room was large and sunny, with a huge and comfortable bed, and a beautiful bathroom with a bath and shower. We slept better than we had for weeks, waking only to the sound of a wandering peacock outside of our window. There are hammocks scattered around the courtyard, plenty of comfortable places to sit, and public spaces filled with an amazing antique collection.

We didn't have a car, but taxis were arranged from the airport, for a trip to Guachimontones (only ten minutes or so away - don't miss it), and back into Guadalajara. There were some restaurants a short drive away by the lake, but we didn't try any of them; our six meals at the Hacienda were plentiful and delicious, among the best that we had during our visit to the region. We found them to be very good value, and it was really hard to imagine pulling ourselves away from that beautiful setting to eat elsewhere. (The meal plans are great value, but we ate at the restaurant a la carte, primarily because we weren't able to eat three course meals each time, however much we wished we could).

All of this wouldn't matter at all, of course, if the staff weren't any good. Without exception, every single person with whom we interacted, from the restaurant staff, to the chef and the kitchen staff, the housekeeping staff, and Abril and her colleagues at the front desk were kind, polite, efficient and generous. Abril said that it was a privilege to work in that setting, and you can see why. As I sit here in my air conditioned office, overlooking an office tower, I'd be delighted to swap places right now.

Finally, I have to mention the owner, Monica, who was around all weekend keeping an eye on things. Charming, smart and funny, Monica grew up at the Hacienda, and it is clearly a labor of love (in fact, lots of love would have been required - check out the photos near reception that show the place when her family bought it in the 1950s). She is the perfect hostess, which is an amazing feat given the fact that she continues to run the property as a farm as well, growing bell peppers and sugar cane on the enormous grounds.

If all this sounds a little effusive, it's only because Hacienda el Carmen deserves it. Checking out on our third day, we wondered why we hadn't chosen to stay longer. Many families came for a day or evening to eat a leisurely, three hour meal, but we were so glad that we stayed over to take it all in. Not only are we planning a return trip, but we will bring our friends next time.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we peeked into are unique, beautiful and perfectly maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaElCarmen, Owner at Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Sam,

In a few words you say a lot and tell us that your stay at the Hacenda was excellent in every way.

We are happy and grateful for your generosity to inform other travelers.

Hope your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

I recently stayed at the Hacienda with a group of photographers for the Jose Villa Workshop. I absolutely LOVED every minute of my stay!
The rooms were so beautiful and romantic. the bathroom was big! i had a bathtub aswell as a shower with GREAT water pressure. the beautifully hand painted tiles were a wonderful sight to see first thing in the morning.
the room i had was nice and big with a king size bed which i thought was super comfortable.
the Hacienda itself is so pretty! You have beauty around every corner!
The food was sooo good! They had such a nice variety, not only Mexican. the coffee was great too! i had a cappuccino everyday!
The staff were amazing. I have nothing bad to say about any of them! The concierge staff were great, the kitchen staff were great and the amazing ladies who cleaned my room everyday were great! The atmosphere is so friendly.
I really have no complaints about Hacienda El Carmen. Go Visit and see for yourself!

Room Tip: Keep in mind the Hacienda is quite rural so you may get woken up by a few roosters. I got use to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmelfim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaElCarmen, Manager at Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Google Translation
Muito obrigado por seus comentários, na esperança de ter o prazer de recebê-lo novamente!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I went to the Hacienda for a night, as I needed some R&R... I noticed the facilities are in a rural area about an hour away from Guadalajara. Mountains are near and technology is almost non-existent. I live on the internet, so when I got in I was surprised that they had wireless access. I actually only used it for about an hour... I hit the spa, very relaxing... and then took a horse out for a spin... that sucker can run!! When I first got on, I was asked to put on a light helmet, which I thought was kind of dumb and silly... but after the horse started taking off... I was sure glad I had it on! The grounds are nice, and the Bar with pool table was pretty good. I think I spent most of my time outside, the spa, and the pool table...nice place, but lacks a nightlife or any entertainment nearby.

Room Tip: Get the Blue room with the jacuzzi at the base of the bed or the Gabriel room, with the jacuzzi in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaElCarmen, Manager at Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear DrLife,

We are really glad our team made all your stay excellent, and we are really happy with your high score included in your review.

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Carmen
16.5 mi away
Hotel Solar de Las Animas
16.3 mi away
Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila
16.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Rubio
Hotel Plaza Rubio
#6 of 6 in Tequila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hotel La Rienda Mision Tequillan
16.4 mi away
Casa Dulce Maria
Casa Dulce Maria
#5 of 6 in Tequila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hacienda Labor de Rivera Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa

Property: Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
Address: 58th km-highway Guadalajara-Tala-Etzatlan, El Carmen 45090, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > El Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda El Carmen is more than just a five star resort and spa, it is the beginning of your adventures in the land of tequila! Gourmet cuisine, cultural tours, horseback riding, adventure sports, archaeological excursions, we offer whatever your heart's desire! Our spa is the largest of any hacienda in Mexico with unique and extensive menu of servivces. We offer a la carte or all inclusive packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel And Spa
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel El Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing