We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great honeymoon destination for peaceful break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Caswell Bay Chalet

Caswell Bay Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay Caswell Bay from the Coastal Path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay
Caswell Bay from the Coastal Path
Caswell Bay Chalet
Caswell Bay Chalet
Open plan living/kitchen area
Open plan living/kitchen area
Caswell Bay Chalet Living Room
Kitchen area
Caswell Bay Chalet Double Bedroom
Caswell Bay Chalet Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay
Caves on Caswell Beach
Caswell Beach shop
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay Cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bishopston, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maggie L
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little tired but great location”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we had a lovely time here though I feel the chalet was a little let down! There was mould on the curtains and behind the beds as boys wanted them together was grim! it was quite dirty . I have managed a holiday home last four years and no way would we have accepted humidifiers full of water where you put your clothes. I did not unpack the whole time as the shelving was grim and no liners.
There was no space in kitchen to put anything like food you had bought and the cuboards never shut properly. At one point I tried to mop the floor and the mop fell apart and left debris every where. The shower was hit and miss and doors never shut properly. Toilet roll holder had given up!!
we did have a lovely time as weather was fab but having managed holiday homes for past four years feel yours needs a little TLC its a little tired and you could do so much to enhance the property.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review of our chalet. We’re glad you had a lovely time at Caswell but were a little surprised by your comments regarding cleanliness as we take great care with cleaning and, as you’ll see from other reviews, have been commended for this. We’re very keen that if there are any issues for guests that they get in touch immediately, using contact numbers given in confirmation emails, and we’ll be very happy to put things right where we can.

Thank you for letting us know that the toilet roll holder broke - it has now been repaired, as has the mop. We’ve had the shower tested and that seems to be working fine too. You’ll have seen that the chalets are all compact so storage is always an issue. We took the decision to have a washing machine installed at the expense of some storage space, which seems to have been the right choice amongst our family customers.

We are glad that we are able to reunite you with your tablet computer which you left behind at the chalet. I’m sure you’ll agree that at £13 per person per night, your stay at Caswell was exceptional value.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carobull
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“great honeymoon destination for peaceful break”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely venue in a tucked away small chalet park, within walking distance of the beautiful Caswell Bay beach. We loved the chalet as a compact but roomy and warm base for a few days break. Enough room and good facilities to lounge, cook and sleep comfortably.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a quiet area to unwind and enjoy the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thanks for your comments. We're glad to hear that you had a great stay at Caswell and enjoyed staying at the chalet and being so close to the beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neilina W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An ideal base”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ideal for beach days or exploring further afield, compact but functional with surprising storage in bedrooms. Would like to see kitchen cupboards re-organised so there is one empty for food stuffs. We would stay here again when in the area. Only downside for us was the lack of flow in the shower as three of us have long thick hair, water heated up quickly after each use.
Chalet is on a nice well kept site and has outdoor furniture which saved putting dining table up as weather was fantastic while we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable beds with decent pillows.
Liked least: wi-fi was only for two gadgets and we would all have liked to use it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thanks for your comments and we're delighted to hear that you had a great time by the beach and exploring the area in lovely sunshine. You're right that the chalet is a suntrap, which makes the patio an additional room in good weather - perfect for outdoor eating and sunbathing. Thanks for pointing out the shower problem which has been rectified by a plumber now. As you say, the chalets are compact so we're always trying to find ways to maximise the space which isn't always easy. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndyloo1...
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great base in a perfect setting”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely chalet close to some fantastic beaches and attractions.Really comfy beds, beautiful shower, plenty of piping hot water. Only downside was lack of storage space for food but good pubs with restaurants offering good deals on meals ( 2 for £7/ £7.50) in Mumbles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Storage space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the chalet. Your comment about food storage is valid and we're looking at ways to overcome this in the near future by rearranging the kitchen. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jboot0987...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely chalet, very close to the beach, great host.”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed here for a few days with family, it was a simple, but lovely chalet, about a 3minute walk to Caswell Bay- which is a beautiful beach. A short car journey (5mins) to the Mumbles and also lots of places to visit on foot around the chalet. The chalet was clean and organising the stay with the owner was very simple. She also returned my deposit quickly and without fuss. I would definitely recommend a stay here, lovely beaches and walks around the area and easy to get to the town and great service from the owner, who also gave lots of advice about the area and was trustworthy. All in all an excellent few days.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a great stay at the chalet and enjoyed the beaches and area. We're also pleased you found the booking and deposit return process easy too. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennygrif...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We couldn't have asked for a better location and the chalet had everything we needed.”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Good sized living room and kitchen. TV dvd player all worked now issues. The wifi worked with no connection issues and it is literally a 5 minute walk to the beach. A fantastic holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
We're delighted that you had a great stay at the chalet and enjoyed being so close to the beach. It's a real luxury to be able to walk to the beach so easily without having to worry about parking the car etc, especially with children.

Thanks again for your booking and also your review. We hope to see you again at Caswell Bay Chalet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flo k
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“great seaside break”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family had a great week at this chalet. It is on a small , quiet , family friendly chalet park, a short walk from a beautiful beach. The chalet is well equipped, one of the only ones on site with a washing machine. It has comfy beds and sofas, a great outside seating area, and space for the children to run around in, as well as a washing line and parking space. If you are looking for a property close to lovely beaches and woods, only a short drive from The Mumbles, and not too far from Swansea, this is ideal.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
We're glad you had a lovely stay at the chalet and enjoyed the beautiful beaches and local area. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing