We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Cupids Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our group of 4 adults and 5 children, ages 10 - 5, just returned home from Chiang Mai. After spending a lot of time researching where to stay with such a large group and not wanting a typical Asian room (small rooms, small beds, small bathroom), we decided to give Golden Cupids a try. That is the best decision we made!!!!!!!! From the moment we arrived, we were treated like we were long time friends with Pepe and her family. The whole family met us at the van to greet us and show us around. The grounds and house are beautiful with little treasures hiding in every corner. The rooms are bigger that any hotel room I have ever stayed in while traveling around Asia. We had a king bed and a queen bed, a sitting area with a table, a TV, a desk area, a huge closet and two doors leading to the outside. Is this a fancy, "four-seasons" type of place? NO but it is so much better than any fancy hotel we could have picked. The ONLY negative thing I can say it that the shower is a little dated. Our shower head was on a short cord so in order to take a shower, we would kneel in the bathtub. But this is not a deal breaker, as I would go back in a heartbeat and kneel to take a shower just to have the same experience we shared with Pepe and her family.
Golden Cupids is NOT in the main area of town in Chiang Mai. It took us about 30 mins or less, depending on traffic, to get to and from the airport. There are two main buildings, including the house that Pepe lives in, bungalows, a pool, a massage hut and outdoor area, a playset for the children, bikes for everyone, a restaurant, a pond with fish and much more. After spending everyday on excursions, we enjoyed retiring back to spend the evening with Pepe and her family. We ate every breakfast and dinner at the hotel and honestly, can't imagine eating anywhere in Chiang Mai that could be any better. Pepe and her daughters cook everything to order from fresh ingredients. Our children were very happy to eat and then run around the grounds exploring and playing with the family dogs while the adults were very happy to eat and relax with the Chang Beer that never seemed to run dry. We spent a lot of time with Pepe and learning about all of the wonderful philanthropy work she does with local orphanages and the red cross. She is an amazing woman!!!!
If you are looking for a place to stay in the middle of town, party, do the "bar scene" or be right in the middle of the chaos of the markets, then this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a relaxing, authentic and memorable "home" to enjoy while visiting Chiang Mai, then you will not be disappointed in choosing Golden Cupids Hotel with Pepe and her family. We have a friend and memories for a lifetime!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed room 4 and our friends had room 3. Both were on the ground level right across from the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dlsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here in February in a very large room with two double beds and space for cot, as well as a small balcony. Although it's a little out of the way, it's great for families with younger kids as there is lots of safe space for them to play including at the outside dining area. The extended family who run the place are very nice and friendly and the home cooking is great. It's obviously not 5* but it's got all the basics, including good A/C, very clean, quiet and respectable and great value for money. Possibly not ideally placed if you wish to visit the city center every night, but perfect if you are going for excursions (which are mainly to the north), and we hired a driver through the hotel for airport transfers (approx. 30 minutes) and for most days during our visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I visited Golden Cupid for a week this past March and really enjoyed it. Upon arrival our bungalow room was booked so they upgraded us for the night to the luxury suite. The luxury suite was definitely large and very clean (though a good dust of furniture and new cushions would go a long way). If I was traveling with a family it would be wonderful to have all that space. We didn't need it. The bungalows are new, clean, bright, and small. It was perfect for two people and the cost savings is substantial. The room looked over a somewhat dreadful pond....could be AMAZING with a little TLC.

The pool area was almost never in use and was very clean, but again very dated.The did have a tree that dumped little pollen bits in all day long so that was annoying. The common/food area is outdoors and very nice. Pepe's food was some of the best I had all trip and they have tea and snacks out at all times. This is not a place to stay up drinking at night....the hosts go to bed fairly early (9pm) and after that there is not way to contact them OR not a way we were told.

Overall the hotel needs a bit of TLC but it is very welcoming, like visiting relatives. And although it is outside of town they paid for us to get to town and it was an inexpensive ride back.

Room Tip: If you don't need the extra space, get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tandoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a lovely family stayed here in January whilst traveling Thailand, such lovely people, nice hotel, good food, and very reasonable price . trying to go back there this year and can't wait. Ryan and Zoe

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We 3 adults and 1 kid stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in June 2013 during chiangmai low season. This is one few hotels that can accommodate 4 in a room (2 double beds with couch area also).
Before you choose this hotel, please bear in mind this place is 20min from town, in the suburbs, and most taxis do not know where the hotel is. But the owners will happily arrange transport (taxi) or sometimes they sent us out to town for free.
The restaurant offers free home cooked delicious thai and Western breakfast, also delicious ala carte thai dishes for lunch and dinner, all cooked by the owners. We enjoyed ourselves using their complimentary bicycles to cycle around their huge compound and walking around their own vegetable farm. They even arranged for us to have massages in our room for TB300 each.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank kwtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed for 4 day in this Hotel. The hotel is not in the center of the city but everything else is perfect. The room were big and clean and all the complex of the hotel was very familiar. From the first minute we arrived Jan and the rest of the staff treat us almost as family. The breakfast was very good, very well cooked and with quality products. Jan advise us very well about the places to visit and arranged us transportation to visit everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tcordas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

What a lovely place. We stayed for 5 days, with 3 children, in a large, very clean, well furnished room with a bath as well as a shower! The wonderful Peppe and her daughter Jan provided an amazing, friendly and personal service. Nothing is to much trouble, and everything is so very efficient. The place has such a lovely welcoming and relaxed feel and we absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shearsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sai
1.5 mi away
Mae Jo Golf Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
6.1 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
90 reviews
13.7 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
8.1 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Cupids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Cupids Hotel

Address: 21/2 Moo 7 Tumbol Norngchom, San Sai 50210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > San Sai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Cupids Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Cupids Luxury Hotel promises a friendly welcome to Thailand and an opportunity to experience the magic of the east. Whether you wish to simply soak up the perfumed sun of exotic tropical gardens, swim in the beautiful outdoor swimming pool, relax with our professional Thai massage therapy, take various tours and activities in Chiang Mai, or retire to an English managed winter haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Cupids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Cupids Chiang Mai
Hotel Golden Cupids
Golden Cupids Hotel Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing