We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with a difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fern Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fern Paradise
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Hotel with a difference”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

If you are looking for a unique hotel then Fern Paradise is the one for you. You could even imagine that you are in the heart of the jungle. The rice barns are excellent although the bathroom could benefit from updating. However, breakfast by the river is excellent both for the food and the setting. The Fern Paradise family are all lovely people and each breakfast time we had the owner or his wife come for a chat with us. There aren't many places where you get such attention. The hotel arranged an airport pick up for us which was also a nice touch. The hotel is a little way out of the city with a taxi charging 200 Baht each way before 10pm and 250 Baht after 10pm.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDB44R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    53
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
48
214
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The fern paradise is simply a perfekt place ! Rooms and breakfast are realy good.

May be its good to have a car because its quite far from any restaurant or the city of chiang mai.
There are some good local restaurants about 4km away from the resort.
The owner is a fernplantexpert, if you have the chance, let him show the garden and nursery.
Don"t miss this place !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Well off to a wee bit of a rocky start with a missed pick up at the airport and a lost reservation, the Fern Paradise worked hard to redeem themselves. The staff were very friendly and helpful over the three days we spent there. We unfortunately had to change rooms every day, but this did allow us to see much of what Fern Paradise had to offer.

The first night we stayed in a Superior Room which was lovely. The room had a fantastic tree house like feel to it, with outside seating area beneath the room itself. The rustic wooden interior was very cool and we slept extremely well (long flights did help I am sure). The dinner, which you place an order for about 1 hour before you eat, was very tasty. The following morning we had an excellent (pre-ordered as well) breakfast outside.

The second day we we moved into the Superior Suite room and it was incredible. It was massive inside and beautifully decorated. It had a nice shower and a two person jacuzzi tub. After a long day of walk all over the Old City the tub was splendid. We took a taxi into Chiang Mai (about 200 baht arranged from the hotel) to the Sunday Walking Market. Do not miss this! It was great fun with amazing food and crazy shops. The tuk tuk back cost about 300 baht but you can call the hotel's taxi and pay around 250 baht.

The last night we stayed in the standard room, which was nice. We arranged a driver to and from the Doi Suthep temple. This was about 1000 baht, which is reasonable. A metered taxi or a city bus would be much cheaper.

Overall the hotel is beautiful with is massive amounts of well cared for ferns. The little walks on the grounds were lovely and the rooms were very nice. Despite the early issues and having to move rooms everyday we were very happy with the accommodating staff and pretty surroundings.

Room Tip: If you can, get the Superior Suite. It is amazing and the Jacuzzi Tub is awesome after lots of walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephandLianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

There are lots of great reviews and I don't feel the need to add to them. I'll just say that this unique jungle-resort lives up to expectations and is certainly worth a stay. Amazing staff and a true Thai feel; this will be a highlight of any trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choroni
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I visited Fern Paradise and it was truly magical!!! Just what we dreamed of for our 10 year anniversary 2nd honeymoon!!! The owner and his family were so nice, the breakfast delicious, the room amazing and so romantic and the fern plantation was just a pleasure for my eyes!!! If you ever visit Thailand please do NOT miss it!!!
Rodrigo Mori and Maria Alejandra Baez, from Venezuela

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaMori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I absolutely loved my stay at Fern Paradise. I was travelling on my own and the Fern Paradise family made me feel very welcome. The place is amazing, very serene, gorgeous rooms, lovely surroundings. They looked after me very well. I would highly recommend Fern Paraidse to anyone, whether travelling on your own, with family or for a romantic getaway!! Brilliant. Thank you Fern Paradise xxx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We loved it! The fern paradise is a small family owned property. If you are seeking a modern hotel chain with all the amenities then this is not the place for you. Those with an adventurous spirit will love it! We stayed at the Fern Paradise from October 9 - 11th. We were greeted at the airport by our taxi driver provided by the Fern Paradise. Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager and offered a cool refreshing drink of lemon grass tea. The room was just what we expected. They were very clean and comfortable. The surroundings were peaceful and quiet it was hard to believe we were just minutes from downtown. The breakfast was exceptional and staff very accommodating. They arranged transportation for us and our driver was named Mr. Puu. He was amazing! He dropped us off where we wanted to go and when we were ready to return we called his mobile phone and he was there within 15 minutes. I highly recommend the adventure package as well. This is an all day excursion starting with an elephant ride, a jungle trek to a beautiful waterfall and ending with some white water rafting. Don't miss the weekend market or the night bazaar as well. Over all we had a wonderful time and will definitely be returning to the Fern Paradise!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricnnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sai
6.7 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
51 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
6.4 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#3 of 6 in Doi Saket
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
4.9 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,285 reviews
10.9 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Paradise

Property: Fern Paradise
Address: 73/1 Moo 5 Sansai | Amphr Sansai, San Sai 50210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > San Sai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The touch of nature, to live in the old rice barn, to meet the diversity of ferns, to be away from crowded city and stay in a peaceful land which is surrounded by shady trees and variety of ferns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fern Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Paradise Hotel San Sai
Fern Paradise Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Fern Paradise Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing