We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Of A Lifetime”
Review of Fern Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fern Paradise
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Selected this amazing place on faith because of excellent Trip Advisor reviews and I was beyond thrilled. This special spot is a refuge of peace, tranquility, comfort, natural beauty and stellar customer service. Warm staff, excellent food, unique and beautiful accommodations. The owner's vast knowledge of and expertise in botany and generosity sharing it with guests in the form of lectures and tours of the grounds for those interested was a refreshing experience. It is a peaceful retreat, a quiet space to relax and refresh. The bungalows are simply magical, the dining area romantic and the swimming pool lovely. The natural beauty is replenishing. I can't wait to come back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank EHWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Having just returned from Chiang Mai I have realized that my enjoyment of the place had as much to do with staying at Fern Paradise as it did everything else. From the moment we were greeted by Puu (a taxi driver who works for the hotel) to the moment we left, we were in constant awe at the beauty of the hotel and the great service we received from Om (the hotel owner). The hotel is a welcome escape from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai center and you really feel as if you are living in a rainforest, completely secluded from everywhere else in the world. The converted rice cabins have all the mod cons and are decorated beautifully. My friends and I all collectively "ahhed" when we were shown our room! There is a Fern Museum that I would recommend and I would also recommend that you take advantage of the free bikes for hire so that you can cycle around Chiang Mai and take in the lush greenery that this wonderful place has to offer.

I have to make special mention of Om; he was such a lovely host and always on hand whenever we needed him: arranging specially discounted taxis into town for us, sorting out day trips for us to Tiger Kingdom/Elephant camps/Hilltribes and personally serving us breakfast every morning by the river. On the trips we went on arranged by him we had a friendly personal driver take us everywhere and give us great tips. We got to see tigers, visit hill tribes and lunch for only 1800 baht for the whole day! Incredible! I really couldn't fault the service, they went above and beyond the call of duty and were so friendly and gracious that I was genuinely sad to say goodbye to the staff. I was also sad that I wasn't here on honeymoon as the place feels so romantic and quaint, it would definitely be a great location to stay for a loved up couple! I especially felt this way the evening we decided to take advantage of the restaurant at the hotel and had dinner served to us under our cabin, it was dimly lit and such lovely food and afterwards we relaxed in the hammock! I could go on and on about how wonderful this place is but words and even my camera couldn't do the place justice. Just go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayneestellewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We'd been looking for a quiet and relaxing place to chill out immediately after Christmas and a long flight from Europe and boy was this place a let down.

The 'resort' is adjacent to a major road equivalent to a motorway in Britain. The traffic noise is constant and exhausting as the rice barns are paper thin so it feels like you're sleeping on top of the road. Definitely not relaxing.

In addition the room was run down and damp and the bathroom very basic. For the money (around $100 per night) this place is very low value. The facilities were basic and the pool felt dirty and from a time warp, no way I would get into that to relax. There are no restaurants nearby so we opted for a take away from the local restaurant which we were told would be served from the breakfast area. Arriving at the confirmed time, we were surprised to be seated at a table with a dirty table cloth and then we heard the distinct ping of the microwave just before they served our inedible meal.

We'd booked to stay here for 5 nights as but the one saving grace was that they talked to the travel agent and agreed to refund our prepaid room so we checked out after the first night.

I don't enjoy giving bad reviews but we felt duped by the excellent reviews for this place and in fact later spent hours laughing at some of the comments from previous users suggesting this was some sort of 'paradise'. It's honestly more like hell.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardHackney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Lets start to say that Fern Paradise offers high service. They transfer you anywhere in Chiang Mai. They even set up a private place for us to have diner and breakfast because of the rain. So service is excellent. The cabbins are authentic, clean and comfortable. The pool is refreshing and nice to. Reading the reviews you however expect a quiet location but it's situated next to the 1001 a busy thoroughfare out of Chiang Mai. Traffic is heard till late in the evening and starts early in the morning. For us staying over one night was ok if you're planning to stay longer you have to realize that it is 20 min drive to Chiang Mai. Summerize: we expected a little paradise based on reviews and got a nice place with a somewhat skewed value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elberja2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The rice barns are a refreshing approach to convert them to rooms.
It was really a back to nature experience.
Mr Om and team are superb for their hospitability!
Highly recommend fern paradise - a nice family-run resort!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJLim80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Can't recommend this place enough.
It's just gorgeous. Excellent value for your money. Short cab ride to downtown Chiang Mai. Excellent, super-friendly staff that strike a great balance between attentiveness and privacy.

We stayed 3 nights in a "Superior" room. #2, I think it was.
Beautiful room. Floor to ceiling windows on two sides looking out onto endless, lush greenery. The rooms are authentically rustic. The gentleman that runs the resort was nice enough to join us for breakfast on our first morning there and offered to give us a tour of the stunning property, which includes; a pool, a plant nursery, a creek, hundreds and hundreds of trees and plants and everywhere you look, ferns of all variety.

The property is really amazing when you get there. You can completely forget that there is a city beyond the all of that beautiful greenery. All of the rooms are old Thai rice barns from across norther Thailand that have been moved and reassembled at Fern Paradise. Every detail has been attended to. Everywhere you look there is something beautiful and interesting to see. Literally everywhere. Yet the rooms are clean and comfortable.

This is really what people imagine an exotic Thailand hotel would look like.

It's just a very beautiful place to spend your holiday.
Can't say enough good things about it.
You won't want to leave.

Room Tip: There are literally no bad rooms at this hotel. We stayed in room 2. A "Superior". Beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeforeTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We would highly recommend Fern Paradise to our dearest friends. The property is beautiful, the rooms are a delight (converted rice barns with all the mod cons), it's quiet and green, and the pool is great. The food on offer is also excellent and, despite being a little bit out of town, the location and transport options are more than workable. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful that we have experienced anywhere. For the price it simply can't be beaten. We will be returning!

Room Tip: The rooms next to the pool offer the quietest locations but all of the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TobycHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sai
7.5 mi away
Vivo Bene Village
Vivo Bene Village
#3 of 7 in Doi Saket
31 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
5.2 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
3.4 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
4.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Paradise

Address: 73/1 Moo 5 Sansai | Amphr Sansai, San Sai 50210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > San Sai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Price Range: £47 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The touch of nature, to live in the old rice barn, to meet the diversity of ferns, to be away from crowded city and stay in a peaceful land which is surrounded by shady trees and variety of ferns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fern Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Paradise Hotel San Sai
Fern Paradise Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Fern Paradise Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing