We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Green Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fern Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fern Paradise
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A Green Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Nothing but excellent, the Fern Paradise, besides the green ferns, palms and litchi and mango trees themselves that turn the whole area into a luxurious botanic garden, besides the crickets, cicadas and birds sounds and tweets all around that cuddle you during day and night (really I cant believe that somebody complained about the STREET noise..that's ridiculous, the sounds cover everything!), besides the riverside restaurant that serve delicious, and i underline Delicious and cheap dishes, next to a slow waterwheel, besides the architectural restoration of original wooden rice barns where inside and outside you can smell the tek essence, besides the romantic four-posted beds wrapped into a mosquito net and the dazzling swimming pool surrounded by tangled greenery, besides all of that, you will receive the wonderful hospitality of Om and his family, always ready to arrange a car for you (cheap and efficient..the hotel is a bit far from the old city so you will always need a car, or take a bus on the street just opposite the hotel main gate), to prepare tasty food and help you to do anything, phone calls, bookings, whatever he's able to do to make your stay super comfortable. We have found this place really magical. I can't say anything but thank you. If you can, go there. We will do it again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    53
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
48
214
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

On our transfer from railway station to the hotel we could not expect how beautiful this hidden place will be (you cannot see anything from the road). We entered a peaceful area with lots of farns and beautiful huts. We have to accept that you can hear some noise from the road.

The huts are luxurious and very clean. Due to the big windows you are surrounded by the nature even when laying in bed. The staff helped us out when booking trips or getting a taxi to Chiang Mai. I really have nothing negative to say, I felt like dreaming all the time being there :)

Thanks a lot for this nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glienicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Fern Paradise is a beautiful, romantic, peaceful, perfect holiday getaway location. The food was delicious and the complimentary breakfast was the best to wake up to. The rooms are very clean and tidy, and the bed is quite comfortable. Om & Rin were amazing hosts; not only did they provide us with everything we needed (bus spray, bath amenities, tourist sites etc.) but they went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable! I was especially touched when I forgot my sweater at their hotel and they delivered it to me with a small note :) thanks so much!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneLeanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you're looking for the best showers in Chiang Mai or no neighbours, look elsewhere.
If, however, you appreciate being surrounded by trees, ferns, plants and wildlife whilst staying somewhere that is nothing like a typical hotel, then you'll love it.

The 9 villas are well laid out and both the standard and deluxe types have their advantages.
I chose a standard one as I loved the idea of a raised platform with seating making you closer to the trees, chipmunks and butterflies. It was just as I expected.
The 4 standard villas each have a small access way off the central area making them feel very private. There is a built in seat for each one and a communal table planted up in the centre. There was rarely more than just us there as everyone comes and goes at different times.

We stayed in Cyathea barn, which other than the deluxe one, is the only one to overlook the pool which may be useful if you have children old enough to be in the pool by themselves, but you'd like to keep an eye on them whilst you rest,
I sleep on a futon on a solid base at home and whilst this wasn't as firm it was wonderful not to have a soggy spring mattress, we slept well.
Air conditioning was very efficient but only needed once, there is TV which I didn't turn on but presume it worked, a kettle that got plenty of use (thank you for keeping me in teabags when mine ran out!) and a better hair dryer than I own, it was really good.

If you're lucky you may get a fern tour, it was so interesting and has inspired me to grow more in the shady bit of my own garden.

The tours are good value and we had a great time, you can add or remove different places from a basic list.

Don't get a cab into town, the bus is great and took 20mins and you get to meet local people, just flag a green one down outside and we got a tuktuk or cab back.

There is a walk/ bike trail map taking you around the local area, we walked it as you see so much more, and the local people are very friendly.

There is a 7-11 near by if needed, out the entrance, turn right and around 3 mins later it's over the road, and a proper chemist too, same side as Fern Paradise about another 4 mins along.

On the subject of the road a few here have mentioned noise. If you look on google maps you can take a walk with the little man and decide for yourself if you think it's too busy, and it's a lot quieter than staying in Chiang Mai. It doesn't claim to be in the middle of the forests, but it does have it's own little one and it's a lot quieter than living here in London.

Breakfast are excellent, fruit juice, toast, croissants, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, omelettes, boiled eggs etc or a fry up but I'm a veggie. Plenty of tea and coffee too.
Didn't need lunch but did have dinner there and very nice that was too whilst listening to the bull frogs and cycadias.

If I could change anything it would be the showers as they are boring compared to the rest of the room, but I didn't visit Chiang Mai to have a great shower experience and wouldn't let that stop me from going back and I intend to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misawa, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Fern Paradise is about 5 miles outside of Chiang Mai. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the staff, especially Om & Rin, were friendly and helpful with knowledge of things to see and do. Would highly recommend to anyone seeking a nature retreat.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be noisy at night from the road traffic, so if you are a light sleeper, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I really wish I could write a glowing review about this place because there are so many great things about it. Unfortunately the rapid growth of Chiang Mai is slowly but surely ruining the ambience of what probably was once a peaceful hideaway.

As others have reported this is a family-owned resort. The property has been in the family for more than twenty years and the resort was opened about seven years ago. The cabins are constructed from old elevated rice barns. They are quaintly decorated. The surroundings are green and gorgeous. They have planted hundreds of varieties of ferns, all shapes and sizes, most of which I had never seen before. The service was generally very good. We had reserved one standard villa and one deluxe villa but were pleasantly surprised to have been given a complimentary upgrade to two deluxe villas. The food at the restaurant was quite good but not exceptional. Good Thai food is easy to find in Thailand.

A few quibbles: the photos on the website might lead you to believe the cabins are spaced out with lots of trees in between for privacy but in reality they are clustered together in close proximity. Not such a big deal. The shower and toilet could have used a bit of renovation—moldy caulking in the shower and cheap plastic fixtures. The shower head was broken and stuck on massage mode until I forced it with a tool back into spray mode and even then it didn’t work so well. Also not a big deal given the rustic environment but these would be inexpensive and easy things to fix. Some of the amenities were not usable due to disrepair. The weight machines were rusty and immobile, at least one of the bicycles had a flat tire. Not a critical problem for me as I wasn't planning to use them. The mattresses were well-worn and in need of replacement. I could feel the wires of the box springs digging in to my ribcage as I laid down. There was no exposed metal but the padding on the mattress was worn to an extent that the wire frame could be felt. This was a bigger deal as I would expect a resort that costs over $100/night to have good mattresses.

Finally, the deal breaker. Fern Paradise is not the secluded hideaway that you might expect it to be. It may have been at one time but Chiang Mai has caught up with it. You can’t *see* it from inside the resort but you can certainly *hear* it. The resort is bordered by a busy highway with lots of fast moving traffic and there is no escaping the noise. The wall of the cabin are, by design, thin. The traffic lessens at night but I actually found it more disturbing because just when you started to enjoy a few moments of tranquility a truck or motorcycle would roar by. It disturbed us enough that we decided at midnight of our first night that we would cut our four-night stay short and look for another hotel.

It’s really a pity. The small problems could easily be fixed but the encroaching city and resulting traffic noise will only get worse. It’s a big problem for a resort that bills itself as a “peaceful oasis” and unfortunately it’s not one that anybody can fix.

Room Tip: Stay as far from the highway as possible, but even then you won't escape the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corman922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Not only is this a place to rest your head, it is a sweet experience. The loving care that is given to every inch of the property and the kind and helpful owners make it feel like a home. The downside is that it is about a 20 minute ride to the center of the old town of Chiang Mai. The cost of a taxi is about 250 baht and the rewards of getting out of the hot hustle and bustle suited us. There is also some traffic noise but otherwise a slice of heaven. No spa but an excellent in room Thai massage was easily arranged. Thumbs up.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Sai
6.7 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#3 of 6 in Doi Saket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
4.9 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
10.9 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Paradise

Property: Fern Paradise
Address: 73/1 Moo 5 Sansai | Amphr Sansai, San Sai 50210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > San Sai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Sai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The touch of nature, to live in the old rice barn, to meet the diversity of ferns, to be away from crowded city and stay in a peaceful land which is surrounded by shady trees and variety of ferns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fern Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Paradise Hotel San Sai
Fern Paradise Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Fern Paradise Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing