We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach Party Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poonyamantra Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Mae Chan B&B and Inns
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Coach Party Hell”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

On first sight, this looks like a great resort. Superior rooms are in bungalows - these appear quite small - and the more expensive deluxe rooms in a hotel style block. The grounds are not extensive, but appear well maintained.

Upon arrival, we were pleased to be offered a free upgrade to a deluxe room and were escorted to the room. The room was very clean and well appointed. From there on however, things went badly down hill.

It became rapidly apparent that the bulk of the resort had been booked by a huge coach party staying for one night as part of a visit to the nearby Mae Fah Luang royal palace. We soon discovered that the walls between rooms were extremely thin - even a TV in the adjoining room sounded deafening - and one could clearly hear conversations in the adjoining rooms.

Those who know Thais will know that they love karaoke, and like all Thai music, this must be played at maximum volume. The coach party were accommodated in the function suite next to the restaurant, the noise being so loud that we found it impossible to eat in the restaurant, and thus asked for our food to be delivered to our room. The food that was delivered was amongst the worst Thai food I have ever eaten and we could neither of us other than pick at it; I've had much better food from a B20 food stall on the street, and regret that there were no food stalls in the area.

Breakfast next morning was poor - at best tepid and little selection. Worse was the arrival of mini buses bearing a large group of Thai pensioners who were deposited at the restaurant for breakfast, thus placing further strain on the staff, who seemed unable to cope. The previous night's coach party left to be replaced by another coach party, giving a feeling of "deja vu".

After the previous evening's culinary disaster, we decided to eat farang; this was equally unappetising and appeared to have come out of a tin, and then adulterated with MSG. We were once again treated to that night's coach party's karaoke.

The following morning, as we left the resort, another coach party arrived, thus leading me to suspect that the proprietors have sold their souls to the one night coach party market.

If you are happy in the company of boisterous Thai coach parties and to eat near inedible food - served by charmless staff - this is the place for you. If not, avoid.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pigman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have visited there December last year with my friends. We are totally agreed that this resort is nice and comfort. It is worth for our money a lot. Room is spacious and so cleaned. The housekeeping was getting in the room for turn-down service without asking from us. It was surprising after we were back from Doi Tung. The breakfast has a varieties of food. Even if we come back nearly 10am, the resort was still waiting us for nice breakfast and willing to service till we finished. Staffs are very nice, friendly and very helpful. Especially thanks yo Khun Aor. She is so nice and wasn't bored when we ask a lot of questions about attraction to visit. We will stay here again for next visit, surely !

Room Tip: Room is spacious and very comfort. Resort is located on the way to Doi-Tung, just 15 minutes driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwan_sri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This resort has only superior rooms and deluxe rooms. All rooms in cottage type are superior. Our deluxe room in a building has problems with hot water and wifi did not work. Varieties of foods at breakfast are also very limited.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agkarajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We had a great time at this hotel. The staff where really friendly and helpful. The manager spoke good English, and he was very friendly. Came over and took photos of our kids, and spoke with us for a while. Even came to the car when we left to say goodbye to the kids.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. They put in an extra mattress for us for the kids.
Breakfast was a bit scarce. Eggs, bread, sausages, tea & coffee, one type of juice and a rice dish. But considering what we paid, I can't complain. We just added up our own cereal for the kids and fruit.
The kids love the pool, even had some pool toys.
The location is wonderful. Set in between the hills. There was a little pond next to our room. At night one could hear the frogs and other night life. So refreshing after Bangkok.
The only complaint i do have is that all directions as well as the map on the website was in Thai. Nice if you have to show a taxi driver, but very difficult if you are traveling by yourself.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanlieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Chan
5.0 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
14.4 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
24.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
DoiTung Lodge
DoiTung Lodge
#24 of 109 in Chiang Rai
35 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
968 reviews
24.2 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poonyamantra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poonyamantra Resort

Property: Poonyamantra Resort
Address: 316 Moo 7, Doi Tung Royal Villa (km 2) | Mae Rai, Mae Chan 57240, Thailand (Formerly Pangsarapee Green Resort)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Chan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Chan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poonyamantra Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Poonyamantra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poonyamantra Resort Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Mae Chan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing